<---- template headericclude ----->
Broadcom STA driver in FC15
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Broadcom STA driver in FC15

    The hardware in my lenovo netbook is not covered in the b43 driver, so I am forced to install the STA driver. All other distros of fedora (14 and below) have a nice RPM package to install via RPM fusion repos. Unfortunately FC15 is too new to have such a nice little package.

    So, my only option is to build the driver from the source provided on the broadcom site

    http://www.broadcom.com/support/802.11/linux_sta.php

    from here- following the readme i untar the tarball and attempt to run "make clean" and then "make" to build the driver.

    this is the error i get


    KBUILD_NOPEDANTIC=1 make -C /lib/modules/`uname -r`/build M=`pwd`
    make: *** /lib/modules/2.6.38.3-18.fc15.i686.PAE/build: No such file or directory. Stop.

    ive scoured the internet for hours looking for what packages i need to install to build in fedora. no luck so far.

    any suggestions?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    7,544
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Broadcom STA driver in FC15

    You probably need stuff for compiling. Connect by wired NIC to install them and try again. I would try...
    Code:
    su
    yum install kernel-PAE-devel kernel-headers
    yum groupinstall "Development Tools"
    P.S.: Somebody else may know how to deal with the RPM Fusion stuff for Fedora 15. I haven't got there yet.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    114
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Broadcom STA driver in FC15

    I thought the broadcom-wl package is basically the same as the STA driver(?). Works with the broadcom chip in my old Dell Inspirion 6400, in FC15beta as it did in earlier versions. I had to remove it before the update from FC14, but then reinstalled it with "yum install akmod-wl".

    Edit: I just checked, yum actually installed the old versions (akmod-wl-5.60.48.36-2.fc14.x86_64, broadcom-wl-5.60.48.36-1.fc13.noarch), but they seem to be working fine with Fedora 15.
    Last edited by christian_l; 29th April 2011 at 06:27 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    America
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Broadcom STA driver in FC15

    Quote Originally Posted by christian_l
    I thought the broadcom-wl package is basically the same as the STA driver(?). Works with the broadcom chip in my old Dell Inspirion 6400, in FC15beta as it did in earlier versions. I had to remove it before the update from FC14, but then reinstalled it with "yum install akmod-wl".

    Edit: I just checked, yum actually installed the old versions (akmod-wl-5.60.48.36-2.fc14.x86_64, broadcom-wl-5.60.48.36-1.fc13.noarch), but they seem to be working fine with Fedora 15.
    I'm having trouble adding the RPM Fusion Repo in Fedora 15 Beta. Is it working for you?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    114
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Broadcom STA driver in FC15

    Quote Originally Posted by Abstract
    I'm having trouble adding the RPM Fusion Repo in Fedora 15 Beta. Is it working for you?
    Works for me, although I added RPM Fusion a long time before upgrading to FC15 (with this method: http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/YumUpgradeFaq - did not run too cleanly, but somehow I managed). During the upgrade I was asked whether I want to import the new keys, and that was basically it...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Broadcom STA driver in FC15

    Hey!!!

    I had the same problem; I succeeded in installing broadcom STA drivers adding RPM Fusion Repo and then "sudo yum install akmod-wl".

    I hope someone helps

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Broadcom STA driver in FC15

    I am confused on how you were able to solve this. Currently when try to install broadcom-wl I am getting

    Code:
    kmod-wl-2.6.35.4-28.fc14.x86_64-5.60.48.36-2.fc14.x86_64 requires kernel-uname-r = 2.6.35.4-28.fc14.x86_64
    "sudo yum install akmod-wl". (so doing this installed broadcom-wl now, but the wifi indicator still says that my firmware is missing).

    I am using rawhide as well. Can you please explain the fix?
    Last edited by keljaden; 9th May 2011 at 02:21 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Broadcom STA driver in FC15

    Quote Originally Posted by keljaden
    Can you please explain the fix?
    I just added RPMFusion repo and then
    Code:
    sudo yum install akmod-wl
    , nothing else (maybe then I installed broadcom-wl, I don't remember)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    114
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Broadcom STA driver in FC15

    And to follow up on what mareizio said: Yes, the akmod-wl you need is still numbered fc14, and broadcom-wl (which yum will pull in automatically) even fc13. Upon reboot, akmod-wl will look whether the matching kmod-wl for your kernel is installed, and generate and install it for you if it's missing. That way I have kmod-wl-2.6.38.5-22.fc15.x86_64-5.60.48.36-2.fc15.x86_64 installed now.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Broadcom STA driver in FC15

    Thanks so much. After some stuff from another friend I finally got it working. Thanks for the replies though.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Broadcom STA driver in FC15

    I'm a recent convert from Ubuntu, and was just having some issues with the methods described above. I'd describe myself as quite linux savvy, but am only used to Ubuntu so go easy on me

    I am running the most recent build of rawhide with all the updates and Fusion enabled.

    I have tried enabling the Fusion repo and installing akmod-wl and broadcom-wl, but it says that I need different versions of the kernel and/or glib. Obviously I don't want to go mucking around in these without knowing what I'm doing. Is there a clear way to do this?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Manorville, New York, USA
    Posts
    1,677
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Broadcom STA driver in FC15

    Do you have :kernel-devel" or if your using a PAE kernel "kernel-PAE-devel" installed? I believe it's needed for the akmods. Then, a simple "yum install akmod-wl" and a reboot will get you there.
    Registered Linux User #348347
    Have you been seduced by siduction? http://siduction.org/index.php
    Running Fedora 19/20, siduction and openSUSE 13.1 with KDE

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Broadcom STA driver in FC15

    To be honest, I don't know. I'm not familiar with Fedora (having switched just today from Ubuntu). A) How do I find out and B) how do I get that to the place where I can run yum install akmod-wl?

    EDIT:
    I tried those commands again to see if any of the error messages would prove enlightening, but now I'm getting this when I run either command:

    bash-4.2$ sudo yum install broadcom-wl
    [sudo] password for chris:
    Loaded plugins: langpacks, presto, refresh-packagekit
    [LINK TO DROPBOX FEDORA REPO]: [Errno 14] HTTP Error 404 - Not Found : [LINK TO DROPBOX FEDORA REPO]
    Trying other mirror.
    [LINK TO DROPBOX FEDORA REPO]: [Errno 14] HTTP Error 404 - Not Found : [LINK TO DROPBOX FEDORA REPO]
    Trying other mirror.
    Error: Cannot retrieve repository metadata (repomd.xml) for repository: Dropbox. Please verify its path and try again
    bash-4.2$

    [LINK TO DROPBOX FEDORA REPO] is there because this board won't let me post that many links... I just installed Dropbox, but I've installed other things since then. I checked the list of sources and it wasn't checked off. I rebooted, but the problem persists. I have the feeling I made a very basic mistake...
    Last edited by ChrisTomalty; 22nd May 2011 at 04:27 AM. Reason: Additional Issue

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Broadcom STA driver in FC15

    Hi ¡¡ I have problem with wireless not detected. BCM4313 and my installing is clean, some hours ago. I came from ubutu and i want to stay in F15. So i've installed the repofusion/configuration and then akmod-wl (@chris) driver, but my wireless can't be detected yet, and some drivers like pad, so isn't installed the correct drivers. When Recently installed the system this information was observed:
    Paquete Arquitectura
    Versión Repositorio Tamaño
    ================================================== ==============================
    Instalando:
    akmod-wl i686 5.60.48.36-2.fc14 rpmfusion-nonfree-rawhide 1.7 M
    Instalando para las dependencias:
    akmods noarch 0.3.6-3.fc12 rpmfusion-free-rawhide 16 k
    binutils i686 2.21.51.0.6-2.fc15 fedora 3.3 M
    broadcom-wl noarch 5.60.48.36-1.fc13 rpmfusion-nonfree-rawhide 13 k
    cloog-ppl i686 0.15.9-3.fc15 fedora 93 k
    cpp i686 4.6.0-7.fc15 updates 3.9 M
    emacs-filesystem i686 1:23.2-17.fc15 fedora 49 k
    fakeroot i686 1.12.4-3.fc15 fedora 74 k
    fakeroot-libs i686 1.12.4-3.fc15 fedora 23 k
    gcc i686 4.6.0-7.fc15 updates 11 M
    glibc-devel i686 2.13.90-9 fedora 970 k
    glibc-headers i686 2.13.90-9 fedora 597 k
    kernel-devel i686 2.6.38.6-27.fc15 updates 6.7 M
    kernel-headers i686 2.6.38.6-27.fc15 updates 738 k
    kmodtool noarch 1-18.fc11 rpmfusion-free-rawhide 14 k
    libmpc i686 0.8.3-0.3.svn855.fc15 fedora 49 k
    patch i686 2.6.1-9.fc15 fedora 97 k
    ppl i686 0.11.2-1.fc15 fedora 1.5 M
    ppl-pwl i686 0.11.2-1.fc15 fedora 35 k
    rpm-build i686 4.9.0-6.fc15 fedora 125 k
    rpmdevtools noarch 8.1-1.fc15 fedora 113 k
    xemacs-filesystem noarch 21.5.31-1.fc15 fedora 12 k

    Resumen de la transacción
    ================================================== ==============================
    Instalar 22 Paquete(s)

    Tamaño total de la descarga: 31 M
    Tamaño instalado: 86 M
    Está de acuerdo [s/N]:s


    YA GARGADO:
    Instalado:
    akmod-wl.i686 0:5.60.48.36-2.fc14

    Dependencia(s) instalada(s):
    akmods.noarch 0:0.3.6-3.fc12 binutils.i686 0:2.21.51.0.6-2.fc15
    broadcom-wl.noarch 0:5.60.48.36-1.fc13 cloog-ppl.i686 0:0.15.9-3.fc15
    cpp.i686 0:4.6.0-7.fc15 emacs-filesystem.i686 1:23.2-17.fc15
    fakeroot.i686 0:1.12.4-3.fc15 fakeroot-libs.i686 0:1.12.4-3.fc15
    gcc.i686 0:4.6.0-7.fc15 glibc-devel.i686 0:2.13.90-9
    glibc-headers.i686 0:2.13.90-9 kernel-devel.i686 0:2.6.38.6-27.fc15
    kernel-headers.i686 0:2.6.38.6-27.fc15 kmodtool.noarch 0:1-18.fc11
    libmpc.i686 0:0.8.3-0.3.svn855.fc15 patch.i686 0:2.6.1-9.fc15
    ppl.i686 0:0.11.2-1.fc15 ppl-pwl.i686 0:0.11.2-1.fc15
    rpm-build.i686 0:4.9.0-6.fc15 rpmdevtools.noarch 0:8.1-1.fc15
    xemacs-filesystem.noarch 0:21.5.31-1.fc15

    ¡Listo!
    ================================================== =
    [root@Steve-PC steve]# akmods --force
    Checking kmods exist for 2.6.38.6-27.fc15.i686.PAE [ OK ]
    Files needed for building modules against kernel
    2.6.38.6-27.fc15.i686.PAE could not be found as the following
    directories are missing:
    /usr/src/kernels/2.6.38.6-27.fc15.i686.PAE/
    /lib/modules/2.6.38.6-27.fc15.i686.PAE/build/ [FALLÓ]

    I suspect of the line above where say broadcom-wl.noarch 0:5.60.48.36-1.fc13 here is f13 and its possible not the right driver. And might be for a line that i observed when start by first time the OS and it says like this: pci, none, NETWORK BCM4313 802.11b/g LP-PHY. Another possible solution is compilling the kernel, i think. What is your oppinion?l

    Please i ned help of anybody.

    Asus 1015PED netbook in F15 Gnome 3.

    Best regards

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Manorville, New York, USA
    Posts
    1,677
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Broadcom STA driver in FC15

    Just a guess, you have a PAE kernel installed but don't have kernel-PAE-devel, instead you have kernel-devel, so,
    as root in a terminal
    yum install kernel-PAE-devel
    then try again.
    Registered Linux User #348347
    Have you been seduced by siduction? http://siduction.org/index.php
    Running Fedora 19/20, siduction and openSUSE 13.1 with KDE

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Broadcom driver
    By pmorg in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 7th December 2009, 10:02 AM
  2. broadcom 440x 10/100 driver for FC6
    By freshmeat in forum EOL (End Of Life) Versions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 16th November 2006, 08:38 AM
  3. Installing a Broadcom Driver...
    By tsgc in forum Hardware
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12th February 2005, 01:42 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
[[template footer(Guest)]]