Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 28th April 2011, 09:47 PM
ikillyanow Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
linuxchrome
Broadcom STA driver in FC15

The hardware in my lenovo netbook is not covered in the b43 driver, so I am forced to install the STA driver. All other distros of fedora (14 and below) have a nice RPM package to install via RPM fusion repos. Unfortunately FC15 is too new to have such a nice little package.

So, my only option is to build the driver from the source provided on the broadcom site

http://www.broadcom.com/support/802.11/linux_sta.php

from here- following the readme i untar the tarball and attempt to run "make clean" and then "make" to build the driver.

this is the error i get


KBUILD_NOPEDANTIC=1 make -C /lib/modules/`uname -r`/build M=`pwd`
make: *** /lib/modules/2.6.38.3-18.fc15.i686.PAE/build: No such file or directory. Stop.

ive scoured the internet for hours looking for what packages i need to install to build in fedora. no luck so far.

any suggestions?
  #2  
Old 28th April 2011, 11:33 PM
stoat Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7,550
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Broadcom STA driver in FC15

You probably need stuff for compiling. Connect by wired NIC to install them and try again. I would try...
Code:
su
yum install kernel-PAE-devel kernel-headers
yum groupinstall "Development Tools"
P.S.: Somebody else may know how to deal with the RPM Fusion stuff for Fedora 15. I haven't got there yet.
  #3  
Old 29th April 2011, 12:30 AM
christian_l Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 114
linuxopera
Re: Broadcom STA driver in FC15

I thought the broadcom-wl package is basically the same as the STA driver(?). Works with the broadcom chip in my old Dell Inspirion 6400, in FC15beta as it did in earlier versions. I had to remove it before the update from FC14, but then reinstalled it with "yum install akmod-wl".

Edit: I just checked, yum actually installed the old versions (akmod-wl-5.60.48.36-2.fc14.x86_64, broadcom-wl-5.60.48.36-1.fc13.noarch), but they seem to be working fine with Fedora 15.

Last edited by christian_l; 29th April 2011 at 06:27 AM.
  #4  
Old 1st May 2011, 06:00 AM
Abstract Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: America
Posts: 8
linuxfirefox
Re: Broadcom STA driver in FC15

Quote:
Originally Posted by christian_l View Post
I thought the broadcom-wl package is basically the same as the STA driver(?). Works with the broadcom chip in my old Dell Inspirion 6400, in FC15beta as it did in earlier versions. I had to remove it before the update from FC14, but then reinstalled it with "yum install akmod-wl".

Edit: I just checked, yum actually installed the old versions (akmod-wl-5.60.48.36-2.fc14.x86_64, broadcom-wl-5.60.48.36-1.fc13.noarch), but they seem to be working fine with Fedora 15.
I'm having trouble adding the RPM Fusion Repo in Fedora 15 Beta. Is it working for you?
  #5  
Old 1st May 2011, 06:28 AM
christian_l Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 114
linuxopera
Re: Broadcom STA driver in FC15

Quote:
Originally Posted by Abstract View Post
I'm having trouble adding the RPM Fusion Repo in Fedora 15 Beta. Is it working for you?
Works for me, although I added RPM Fusion a long time before upgrading to FC15 (with this method: http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/YumUpgradeFaq - did not run too cleanly, but somehow I managed). During the upgrade I was asked whether I want to import the new keys, and that was basically it...
  #6  
Old 2nd May 2011, 01:35 PM
mareizio Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4
linuxubuntuchrome
Re: Broadcom STA driver in FC15

Hey!!!

I had the same problem; I succeeded in installing broadcom STA drivers adding RPM Fusion Repo and then "sudo yum install akmod-wl".

I hope someone helps
  #7  
Old 9th May 2011, 02:10 AM
keljaden Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 11
linuxfirefox
Re: Broadcom STA driver in FC15

I am confused on how you were able to solve this. Currently when try to install broadcom-wl I am getting

Code:
kmod-wl-2.6.35.4-28.fc14.x86_64-5.60.48.36-2.fc14.x86_64 requires kernel-uname-r = 2.6.35.4-28.fc14.x86_64
"sudo yum install akmod-wl". (so doing this installed broadcom-wl now, but the wifi indicator still says that my firmware is missing).

I am using rawhide as well. Can you please explain the fix?

Last edited by keljaden; 9th May 2011 at 02:21 AM.
  #8  
Old 9th May 2011, 02:47 PM
mareizio Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4
linuxfirefox
Re: Broadcom STA driver in FC15

Quote:
Originally Posted by keljaden View Post
Can you please explain the fix?
I just added RPMFusion repo and then
Code:
sudo yum install akmod-wl
, nothing else (maybe then I installed broadcom-wl, I don't remember)
  #9  
Old 9th May 2011, 06:30 PM
christian_l Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 114
linuxopera
Re: Broadcom STA driver in FC15

And to follow up on what mareizio said: Yes, the akmod-wl you need is still numbered fc14, and broadcom-wl (which yum will pull in automatically) even fc13. Upon reboot, akmod-wl will look whether the matching kmod-wl for your kernel is installed, and generate and install it for you if it's missing. That way I have kmod-wl-2.6.38.5-22.fc15.x86_64-5.60.48.36-2.fc15.x86_64 installed now.
  #10  
Old 12th May 2011, 04:46 AM
keljaden Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 11
linuxfirefox
Re: Broadcom STA driver in FC15

Thanks so much. After some stuff from another friend I finally got it working. Thanks for the replies though.
  #11  
Old 22nd May 2011, 02:24 AM
ChrisTomalty Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3
linuxchrome
Re: Broadcom STA driver in FC15

I'm a recent convert from Ubuntu, and was just having some issues with the methods described above. I'd describe myself as quite linux savvy, but am only used to Ubuntu so go easy on me

I am running the most recent build of rawhide with all the updates and Fusion enabled.

I have tried enabling the Fusion repo and installing akmod-wl and broadcom-wl, but it says that I need different versions of the kernel and/or glib. Obviously I don't want to go mucking around in these without knowing what I'm doing. Is there a clear way to do this?
  #12  
Old 22nd May 2011, 04:06 AM
GoinEasy9 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Manorville, New York, USA
Posts: 1,665
linuxfirefox
Re: Broadcom STA driver in FC15

Do you have :kernel-devel" or if your using a PAE kernel "kernel-PAE-devel" installed? I believe it's needed for the akmods. Then, a simple "yum install akmod-wl" and a reboot will get you there.
__________________
Registered Linux User #348347
Have you been seduced by siduction? http://siduction.org/index.php
Running Fedora 17/18/19, siduction and openSUSE Tumbleweed with KDE
  #13  
Old 22nd May 2011, 04:11 AM
ChrisTomalty Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3
linuxchrome
Re: Broadcom STA driver in FC15

To be honest, I don't know. I'm not familiar with Fedora (having switched just today from Ubuntu). A) How do I find out and B) how do I get that to the place where I can run yum install akmod-wl?

EDIT:
I tried those commands again to see if any of the error messages would prove enlightening, but now I'm getting this when I run either command:

bash-4.2$ sudo yum install broadcom-wl
[sudo] password for chris:
Loaded plugins: langpacks, presto, refresh-packagekit
[LINK TO DROPBOX FEDORA REPO]: [Errno 14] HTTP Error 404 - Not Found : [LINK TO DROPBOX FEDORA REPO]
Trying other mirror.
[LINK TO DROPBOX FEDORA REPO]: [Errno 14] HTTP Error 404 - Not Found : [LINK TO DROPBOX FEDORA REPO]
Trying other mirror.
Error: Cannot retrieve repository metadata (repomd.xml) for repository: Dropbox. Please verify its path and try again
bash-4.2$

[LINK TO DROPBOX FEDORA REPO] is there because this board won't let me post that many links... I just installed Dropbox, but I've installed other things since then. I checked the list of sources and it wasn't checked off. I rebooted, but the problem persists. I have the feeling I made a very basic mistake...

Last edited by ChrisTomalty; 22nd May 2011 at 04:27 AM. Reason: Additional Issue
  #14  
Old 22nd May 2011, 04:26 PM
EsteBandido2010 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 9
linuxfirefox
Re: Broadcom STA driver in FC15

Hi ¡¡ I have problem with wireless not detected. BCM4313 and my installing is clean, some hours ago. I came from ubutu and i want to stay in F15. So i've installed the repofusion/configuration and then akmod-wl (@chris) driver, but my wireless can't be detected yet, and some drivers like pad, so isn't installed the correct drivers. When Recently installed the system this information was observed:
Paquete Arquitectura
Versión Repositorio Tamaño
================================================== ==============================
Instalando:
akmod-wl i686 5.60.48.36-2.fc14 rpmfusion-nonfree-rawhide 1.7 M
Instalando para las dependencias:
akmods noarch 0.3.6-3.fc12 rpmfusion-free-rawhide 16 k
binutils i686 2.21.51.0.6-2.fc15 fedora 3.3 M
broadcom-wl noarch 5.60.48.36-1.fc13 rpmfusion-nonfree-rawhide 13 k
cloog-ppl i686 0.15.9-3.fc15 fedora 93 k
cpp i686 4.6.0-7.fc15 updates 3.9 M
emacs-filesystem i686 1:23.2-17.fc15 fedora 49 k
fakeroot i686 1.12.4-3.fc15 fedora 74 k
fakeroot-libs i686 1.12.4-3.fc15 fedora 23 k
gcc i686 4.6.0-7.fc15 updates 11 M
glibc-devel i686 2.13.90-9 fedora 970 k
glibc-headers i686 2.13.90-9 fedora 597 k
kernel-devel i686 2.6.38.6-27.fc15 updates 6.7 M
kernel-headers i686 2.6.38.6-27.fc15 updates 738 k
kmodtool noarch 1-18.fc11 rpmfusion-free-rawhide 14 k
libmpc i686 0.8.3-0.3.svn855.fc15 fedora 49 k
patch i686 2.6.1-9.fc15 fedora 97 k
ppl i686 0.11.2-1.fc15 fedora 1.5 M
ppl-pwl i686 0.11.2-1.fc15 fedora 35 k
rpm-build i686 4.9.0-6.fc15 fedora 125 k
rpmdevtools noarch 8.1-1.fc15 fedora 113 k
xemacs-filesystem noarch 21.5.31-1.fc15 fedora 12 k

Resumen de la transacción
================================================== ==============================
Instalar 22 Paquete(s)

Tamaño total de la descarga: 31 M
Tamaño instalado: 86 M
Está de acuerdo [s/N]:s


YA GARGADO:
Instalado:
akmod-wl.i686 0:5.60.48.36-2.fc14

Dependencia(s) instalada(s):
akmods.noarch 0:0.3.6-3.fc12 binutils.i686 0:2.21.51.0.6-2.fc15
broadcom-wl.noarch 0:5.60.48.36-1.fc13 cloog-ppl.i686 0:0.15.9-3.fc15
cpp.i686 0:4.6.0-7.fc15 emacs-filesystem.i686 1:23.2-17.fc15
fakeroot.i686 0:1.12.4-3.fc15 fakeroot-libs.i686 0:1.12.4-3.fc15
gcc.i686 0:4.6.0-7.fc15 glibc-devel.i686 0:2.13.90-9
glibc-headers.i686 0:2.13.90-9 kernel-devel.i686 0:2.6.38.6-27.fc15
kernel-headers.i686 0:2.6.38.6-27.fc15 kmodtool.noarch 0:1-18.fc11
libmpc.i686 0:0.8.3-0.3.svn855.fc15 patch.i686 0:2.6.1-9.fc15
ppl.i686 0:0.11.2-1.fc15 ppl-pwl.i686 0:0.11.2-1.fc15
rpm-build.i686 0:4.9.0-6.fc15 rpmdevtools.noarch 0:8.1-1.fc15
xemacs-filesystem.noarch 0:21.5.31-1.fc15

¡Listo!
================================================== =
[root@Steve-PC steve]# akmods --force
Checking kmods exist for 2.6.38.6-27.fc15.i686.PAE [ OK ]
Files needed for building modules against kernel
2.6.38.6-27.fc15.i686.PAE could not be found as the following
directories are missing:
/usr/src/kernels/2.6.38.6-27.fc15.i686.PAE/
/lib/modules/2.6.38.6-27.fc15.i686.PAE/build/ [FALLÓ]

I suspect of the line above where say broadcom-wl.noarch 0:5.60.48.36-1.fc13 here is f13 and its possible not the right driver. And might be for a line that i observed when start by first time the OS and it says like this: pci, none, NETWORK BCM4313 802.11b/g LP-PHY. Another possible solution is compilling the kernel, i think. What is your oppinion?l

Please i ned help of anybody.

Asus 1015PED netbook in F15 Gnome 3.

Best regards
  #15  
Old 22nd May 2011, 10:57 PM
GoinEasy9 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Manorville, New York, USA
Posts: 1,665
linuxfirefox
Re: Broadcom STA driver in FC15

Just a guess, you have a PAE kernel installed but don't have kernel-PAE-devel, instead you have kernel-devel, so,
as root in a terminal
yum install kernel-PAE-devel
then try again.
__________________
Registered Linux User #348347
Have you been seduced by siduction? http://siduction.org/index.php
Running Fedora 17/18/19, siduction and openSUSE Tumbleweed with KDE
 

Tags
broadcom, driver, fc15, sta

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Broadcom driver pmorg Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 7th December 2009 09:02 AM
broadcom 440x 10/100 driver for FC6 freshmeat EOL (End Of Life) Versions 0 16th November 2006 07:38 AM
Installing a Broadcom Driver... tsgc Hardware & Laptops 0 12th February 2005 12:42 AM


Current GMT-time: 05:36 (Friday, 18-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat