Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 23rd April 2011, 06:58 AM
Varik Offline

linuxfirefox
Broadcom 4322 firmware missing on F15

I'm relatively new to Fedora, and I'm trying to figure out how to install the wireless driver for this installation.

What information do you need to help me solve this issue? I've tried a few guides, but they're all for >F14.

Thanks!

[Nevermind - SOLVED]

Last edited by Varik; 23rd April 2011 at 07:53 AM. Reason: Solved
Old 24th May 2011, 10:18 PM
NBZ Offline

linuxfirefox
Re: Broadcom 4322 firmware missing on F15

Can I ask how you solved this?

I am getting a firmware missing error on Broadcom4312 firmware and cant seem to find a simple solution, so any pointers are welcome.
Old 24th May 2011, 11:56 PM
stoat Offline

linuxfedorafirefox

That message about missing firmware means the kernel is loading the b43 driver for your device. Some versions of the BCM4312 can use the b43 driver, but it requires firmware that you must acquire from elsewhere and install. To save you some time, here are the exact steps to try if you have a wire connection to the Internet for Fedora. Open a terminal and enter these commands one after the other. You can copy them directly from this page into your terminal...
Code:
wget http://downloads.openwrt.org/sources/broadcom-wl-4.150.10.5.tar.bz2
tar xjf broadcom-wl-4.150.10.5.tar.bz2
cd broadcom-wl-4.150.10.5/driver	
su
b43-fwcutter -w /lib/firmware wl_apsta_mimo.o
After that, reboot and check NetworkManager for networks.

If you do not have an Internet connection in Fedora, then download that tarball on some other computer, somehow transfer it to the Fedora filesystem, and pick up the steps with the tar command.

If the commands above completed successfully and the wireless still is not working, then return for some suggestions to try.