Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 28th March 2011, 03:40 PM
Conz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 14
windows_xp_2003firefox
Question FC15 Alpha ... and then what ?

Normally I don't bother with alpha/beta releases but this new kernel in FC15 peeked my interest.
I need a home LAMP server but I am wondering how it will go if I install the alpha FC15 when the Beta / Final get released.
Can you just 'yum update' from alpha to beta to final or will this be more tricky ?
I'm guessing the impact will be smaller then going from FC14 to 15.

Worst case I can just put 2.6.38 on FC14 but I'd rather stick to the newest release possible.
  #2  
Old 28th March 2011, 03:46 PM
RahulSundaram Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,715
linuxfirefox
Re: FC15 Alpha ... and then what ?

Hi

Yes. Just yum update would work

http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Upgrad...lease_to_final
__________________
Rahul
http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/RahulSundaram
  #3  
Old 28th March 2011, 03:52 PM
DBelton Online
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,318
linuxfirefox
Re: FC15 Alpha ... and then what ?

yes, the alpha/beta will be updated to the final when it's released by doing yum updates. It's passed the rawhide stage (rawhide is what will become F16 now), so it's using the same standard repo's that the final will use.

I would recommend using F15, but be warned and aware that quite a lot has changed in it, like using systemd instead of upstart for system startup/service management and the gnome 3 shell. Some like the changes, and some don't. Myself, I find it harder to use than F14, and simple tasks in F14 take longer to accomplish in F15. I am sure this will change as time goes by and more people write tools and utilities for the new stuff in F15.

You may want to scan over the forum threads in F15 Development and see what issues/problems people have been having with it, and then make up your mind to go ahead with F15, or stay with F14.
  #4  
Old 28th March 2011, 04:56 PM
troyatlarge Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ely, NV. - 395 miles round trip to Wal-Mart
Posts: 333
linuxfirefox
Re: FC15 Alpha ... and then what ?

With respect to yum updates, at this time there are some packages that do not update and the --skip-broken feature seems to not work around some of them for some people (hey, its in Alpha state, right!). As such I tried the suggestion of a user to install Yumex so one can relatively fast select packages in a way to remove the offending packages so the system will then update - not sure if that's of any help to you, but something to keep in mind for the moment.
__________________
The longer I run numerous Linux box's, the more I like it.

UUID: 5a0128f0-55b8-11e0-b31d-eb482d4d1d3a
  #5  
Old 28th March 2011, 05:06 PM
DBelton Online
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,318
linuxfirefox
Re: FC15 Alpha ... and then what ?

I am one of the ones that --skip-broken doesn't seem to be working with right now.

If there are broken packages, and I use --skip-broken, yum goes into an infinite loop checking dependencies over and over.. and over..... and over..... until I go in and kill it. (I let it run for nearly 15 minutes the other day, looping over and over)
  #6  
Old 28th March 2011, 05:08 PM
Fenrin Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 890
linuxfirefox
Re: FC15 Alpha ... and then what ?

there are also newer images of F15 available than the alpha images. If you want the gnome live cd version, you can download this image here from testday march 24th.
  #7  
Old 28th March 2011, 05:10 PM
RahulSundaram Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,715
linuxfirefox
Re: FC15 Alpha ... and then what ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DBelton View Post
I am one of the ones that --skip-broken doesn't seem to be working with right now.

If there are broken packages, and I use --skip-broken, yum goes into an infinite loop checking dependencies over and over.. and over..... and over..... until I go in and kill it. (I let it run for nearly 15 minutes the other day, looping over and over)

I don't see a bug report filed on this yet. I can't reproduce your problem so you will have to file it yourself and post the output of yum -d9 update --skip-broken on the report
__________________
Rahul
http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/RahulSundaram
  #8  
Old 28th March 2011, 05:58 PM
DBelton Online
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,318
linuxfirefox
Re: FC15 Alpha ... and then what ?

now this is interesting.

I tried running yum -d9 update --skip-broken to gather more information to file a bug report, but when I do so, it doesn't loop, but ends with this after all the package errors without updating anything:

Skip-broken could not solve problems
....
loads of package errors related to libreoffice
....
You could try running: rpm -Va --nofiles --nodigest

Oh well, my system is a magnet for quirky stuff anyway, so I'll do some more looking around and see what I can find out.
  #9  
Old 29th March 2011, 06:02 AM
kurtdriver Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 1,338
linuxfirefox
Re: FC15 Alpha ... and then what ?

I have been able to update the last couple of days even though --skip-broken doesn't work for me either. I just excluded the broken ones on the command line.
Code:
yum update  --skip-broken -x libreoffice-* -x NetworkManager-* -x mencoder -x control-center -x anaconda -x empathy -x libsocialweb -x  geoclue
  #10  
Old 29th March 2011, 12:39 PM
Conz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 14
windows_xp_2003firefox
Re: FC15 Alpha ... and then what ?

usually a 'yum clean all' fixes weird yum problems for me.

In either case, thanks for the answer on the updating alpha -> release.
  #11  
Old 29th March 2011, 03:37 PM
kurtdriver Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 1,338
linuxfirefox
Re: FC15 Alpha ... and then what ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Conz View Post
usually a 'yum clean all' fixes weird yum problems for me.
That won't resolve dependency problems, though.
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FC15 Alpha install requires internet connection downer F15 Development 10 21st March 2011 11:25 PM
Issues with 2.6.38-0.rc6.git4.1.fc15.x86_64 twohot F16 Development 6 5th March 2011 05:41 PM
New kernel FC15 peoklin F16 Development 2 13th February 2011 11:23 AM
[SOLVED] Can't start kde with gdm-2.91.6-2.fc15 chepioq F16 Development 5 9th February 2011 07:27 AM
[SOLVED] NetworkManager-0.8.1-4.git20100817.fc15 bug andrewthomas F16 Development 2 19th August 2010 04:05 PM


Current GMT-time: 04:38 (Saturday, 19-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat