Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 15th March 2011, 07:12 PM
GeorgeStorm Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 24
windows_xp_2003opera
Mumble/Murmur issues :(

Hey,
I'm new here, and am just starting to use fedora as I'm on compsoc committee at my uni, and need to be able to use the server which runs it.
Am trying to get a mumble server running (just on my laptop with a fedora 14 install)
And am really struggling, can't get the stuff manually and do it, as it says it depends on some other packages which I can't find in the package manager, and if I just use the murmur package in the manager, then it doesn't seem to install, and even if it does, if I try to run it, it says the database is not writeable
Any ideas??
have been using these links to help me:
http://mumble.sourceforge.net/Installing_Mumble
http://mumble.sourceforge.net/Murmurguide#Set_Up_Server
http://mumble.sourceforge.net/Running_Murmur
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=213678
Thanks

Last edited by GeorgeStorm; 15th March 2011 at 07:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15th March 2011, 08:51 PM
Dan Online
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 23,279
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Mumble/Murmur issues :(

Only one thread per customer at a time, George. I've locked the latest and will delete it. Please read the posting rules before attempting to post again.

Thanks

Dan
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16th March 2011, 01:50 AM
GeorgeStorm Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 24
windows_xp_2003opera
Re: Mumble/Murmur issues :(

Sorry,
I explained why I did, didn't think it was unreasonable, I would have deleted the other thread if I could.
Anywhos, won't be doing it again.

---------- Post added 16th March 2011 at 12:50 AM ---------- Previous post was 15th March 2011 at 10:19 PM ----------

Sorry for the bump, but I think I have made some progress
Blanked the database bit in the ini file, so I think it made it's own kinda thing.
So it doesn't error anymore, however still can't access it on another computer :/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16th March 2011, 12:24 PM
flyingfsck Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Al Ain, UAE
Posts: 1,868
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Mumble/Murmur issues :(

Howdy,

I installed it on my FC14 laptop a few weeks ago and it worked without issues.

I have seen in the past that if murmur reports a database problem, then it simply won't work at all.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16th March 2011, 02:12 PM
GeorgeStorm Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 24
windows_xp_2003opera
Re: Mumble/Murmur issues :(

Hey,
Could you run me through how you did it (either here or PM)
Just can't seem to get it to work
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16th March 2011, 04:49 PM
flyingfsck Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Al Ain, UAE
Posts: 1,868
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Mumble/Murmur issues :(

I just installed the package using the SW installer and it worked, but I do development on this machine so I have a zoo of libraries and devel packages installed.

If you have a database issue, the thing uses a built-in SQL database - maybe it is missing a library or devel package,
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16th March 2011, 04:57 PM
GeorgeStorm Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 24
windows_xp_2003opera
Re: Mumble/Murmur issues :(

SW installer, from the package manager? (called mumble voice chat server, murmur-1.2.2-8.fc14 (i686))
I think that may be part of the problem, it not having all of the packages it depends on, but i thought these would be automatically downloaded when the package manager says resolving dependencies?
I told it to create a new database, and when I ran it, it said it had created tables, and then that a new su password had been set or something, then another terminal line came up as normal, so I thought it was working, but I couldn't connect to it from another comp, and I couldn't work out how to tell if it was running on the linux laptop? :/

Edit:
Here is the commands I'm typing in:
[GeorgeStorm@harry-french-222-57 ~]$ su
Password:
[root@harry-french-222-57 GeorgeStorm]# sudo murmurd -ini /home/GeorgeStorm/Documents/murmur.ini -fg -v -supw *********
Initializing settings from /home/GeorgeStorm/Documents/murmur.ini (basepath /home/GeorgeStorm/Documents)
SSL: Added CA certificates from '/etc/pki/tls/certs/ca-bundle.crt'
Successfully switched to uid 500
ServerDB: Openend SQLite database /home/GeorgeStorm/Documents/murmur.sqlite
Superuser password set on server 1
[root@harry-french-222-57 GeorgeStorm]#

Last edited by GeorgeStorm; 16th March 2011 at 05:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16th March 2011, 06:27 PM
flyingfsck Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Al Ain, UAE
Posts: 1,868
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Mumble/Murmur issues :(

Howdy,

It should create the database all by itself since it has a little embedded SQL thingy built in. My guess is that the RPM was not created right, so it is missing something. Have a look with dmesg and also look at /var/log/messages - maybe there is a clue when you restart it.

Just a thought: Look for SQLite using the software installer and install the devel packages for it.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 16th March 2011, 11:12 PM
GeorgeStorm Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 24
windows_xp_2003opera
Re: Mumble/Murmur issues :(

Started over, installed the dev package, now has no problems with the databases or whatever,
However, when I try to run it, it doesn't seem to create a log file like it should?
And mumble says my connection is refused even on the same computer :/
(using 127.0.0.1 as the ip)

Last edited by GeorgeStorm; 16th March 2011 at 11:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 17th March 2011, 12:33 PM
GeorgeStorm Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 24
windows_vistaopera
Re: Mumble/Murmur issues :(

Right, fedora died
Had to reinstall, so am starting again, seem to have the same issues, the server seems to be running, but I cannot seem to connect to it at all??
How do you run the server flyingfsck?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 17th March 2011, 04:22 PM
flyingfsck Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Al Ain, UAE
Posts: 1,868
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Mumble/Murmur issues :(

Howdy,

I just tried it again, and now have the same problem - won't work...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 17th March 2011, 06:17 PM
GeorgeStorm Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 24
windows_xp_2003opera
Re: Mumble/Murmur issues :(

I can connect on the same laptop now (hadn't started the service apparently)
However am still getting connection refused when trying to connect from this computer
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 17th March 2011, 06:21 PM
flyingfsck Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Al Ain, UAE
Posts: 1,868
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Mumble/Murmur issues :(

A firewall problem maybe? Mumble uses port 64738 UDP and TCP.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 17th March 2011, 06:26 PM
GeorgeStorm Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 24
windows_xp_2003opera
Re: Mumble/Murmur issues :(

Yeah, how did you make sure those ports weren't being blocked?
Had a look at the firewall, and you the only mention of it if is you make a custom thingy, user defined port, and then do 64738 tcp, and make another which is 64738 udp
And you can't seem to connect them to a program or anything :/

Edit:
how do you manually open/close ports etc?
Had a quick google, and seem to be getting various methods :/

Last edited by GeorgeStorm; 17th March 2011 at 06:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 18th March 2011, 06:47 AM
flyingfsck Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Al Ain, UAE
Posts: 1,868
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Mumble/Murmur issues :(

Howdy,

To begin with, you got to prove that the firewall is out of the way. Flush the iptables rules on both machines:
# iptables -F

then you can rule out routing trouble by using telnet:
$ telnet 1.2.3.4 64738

and you should either get some response or telnet should hang and wait for something, but it should not say 'no route to host'.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
issues, mumble or murmur

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mumble overlay problems Bloggins Using Fedora 0 22nd October 2010 02:50 AM
problems with mumble kto Using Fedora 5 14th May 2009 09:19 PM
How to install Mumble server (MurMur) to Fedora 10? Poro Using Fedora 14 17th February 2009 08:17 PM
Mumble in Fedora, possible? Thetargos Using Fedora 2 18th May 2008 02:04 PM


Current GMT-time: 11:56 (Saturday, 20-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat