Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora Resources > Guides & Solutions (No Questions)
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Guides & Solutions (No Questions) Post your guides here (No links to Blogs accepted). You can also append your comments/questions to a guide, but don't start a new thread to ask a question. Use another forum for that.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 23rd February 2011, 02:54 PM
giulix Offline
"Fixed" by (vague) request
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: GMT+ 1
Posts: 2,950
linuxfedorafirefox
Enable/disable compiz from command line in F14

Enable:
Code:
gconftool-2 --type string --set /desktop/gnome/session/required_components/windowmanager "compiz-gtk"
Disable:
Code:
gconftool-2 --type string --set /desktop/gnome/session/required_components/windowmanager "metacity"
Log out and log back in
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23rd February 2011, 03:05 PM
leigh123linux Online
Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 22,374
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Enable/disable compiz from command line in F14

You could execute these commands to switch without logging out

Code:
compiz-gtk --replace
Code:
metacity --replace
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23rd February 2011, 03:12 PM
giulix Offline
"Fixed" by (vague) request
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: GMT+ 1
Posts: 2,950
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Enable/disable compiz from command line in F14

Yes, I tried that, but second one ****s up my desktop (windows lose borders, ability to get focused and I have to log out just the same)

P.S. I claim no paternity on this one: It's all over the Internet. Only the freedesktop.org path keeps changing. This is the version working with Fedora 14 (Laughlin)

Last edited by giulix; 23rd February 2011 at 04:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
command, compiz, enable or disable, f14, line

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fedora enable ctrl alt backspace command line COKEDUDE Guides & Solutions (No Questions) 3 28th January 2011 11:29 AM
[SOLVED] How do you enable the internet connection in the command line? BugRocks1 Using Fedora 10 21st March 2010 02:38 PM
enable disable printer command line Mlap Using Fedora 6 11th March 2008 05:44 PM
Disable firewall for SAMBA from command line BlueSky-Software Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 24th July 2006 07:39 PM


Current GMT-time: 14:23 (Monday, 28-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat