Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 24th December 2010, 07:08 PM
benjie1 Offline

windows_7firefox
FC 14 installs blank

New 320 Gig HD. Installed FC14 from DVD and it worked, except there are no icons at all to get started as there were in FC 13. Cant find "Places", "Applications" that were at the top of the screen. Now it's blank except for the splash design. Tried to re-install, but it won't do that. Just goes to the HD and the same blank splash screen. Thanks for the help. Please be easy with explanations as I'm new at this. Thanks and Merry Christmas.
Old 26th December 2010, 01:29 AM
ryptyde Offline

linuxfedorafirefox
Re: FC 14 installs blank

You installed from the DVD and get to the login screen and select user then enter password and that's is where it has the splash/desktop background and nothing else?

phil
Old 26th December 2010, 04:50 PM
benjie1 Offline

windows_7firefox

Yes Phil.That's exactly what happens. The pc is a Dell Inspiron 560 Intel Dual Core 300GHz, 6 Gig Ram, 64 bit, 500 Gig HDD with only Ffedora on it. Installed twice and got same result. Thanks, and Happy New Year. Bob
Old 26th December 2010, 08:39 PM
ryptyde Offline

linuxfedorafirefox

Can you login from run level 3 and then run "startx" to see if you get a desktop. What desktop did you install,
I believe Gnome is default from a DVD but you can choose otherwise.

phil
Old 26th December 2010, 09:06 PM
benjie1 Offline

windows_7firefox

I installed Gnome. As a Novice, I don't know how to login in from runlevel 3. Can you instruct me on this> Thanks.
Old 26th December 2010, 09:45 PM
ryptyde Offline

linuxfedorafirefox

Quote:
Originally Posted by benjie1 View Post
I installed Gnome. As a Novice, I don't know how to login in from runlevel 3. Can you instruct me on this> Thanks.
When the computer starts and you see the grub menu press a key, usually the spacebar and that
will halt the boot process and you will see a menu with the kernel listed. Press the "A" key to append