Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #16  
Old 9th January 2011, 01:53 AM
tox
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
windows_7firefox
Re: Whassup all? Using F15 Rawhide?

Quote:
Originally Posted by simpleblue View Post
Gnome 3 is there, but I am not able to find out where to get the latest daily build.
wait for it to be built dude which is being built on koji now http://koji.fedoraproject.org/koji/index , give the guy some time to build all the unstable/stable Gnome3 packages and im sure they'll hit rawhide eventually.

going by this schedule http://live.gnome.org/TwoPointNinetyone 2.91.5 should be released late this week

Last edited by tox; 9th January 2011 at 01:56 AM.
  #17  
Old 9th January 2011, 01:57 AM
simpleblue Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 110
linuxfirefox
Re: Whassup all? Using F15 Rawhide?

Quote:
Originally Posted by detox View Post
wait for it to be built dude which is being built on koji now http://koji.fedoraproject.org/koji/index , give the guy some time to build all the unstable/stable Gnome3 packages and im sure they'll hit rawhide eventually.
I might be mistaken but I thought there was a new build each day. This is why I ask.
  #18  
Old 9th January 2011, 02:01 AM
tox
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
windows_7firefox
Re: Whassup all? Using F15 Rawhide?

Quote:
Originally Posted by simpleblue View Post
I might be mistaken but I thought there was a new build each day. This is why I ask.
yes there is, to get those you really need to build it from jhbuild http://live.gnome.org/GnomeShell which means a lot of stuffing around. if you wanna do it the simple way, wait for official rpms to be made and uploaded to rawhide
  #19  
Old 9th January 2011, 02:04 AM
simpleblue Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 110
linuxfirefox
Re: Whassup all? Using F15 Rawhide?

Quote:
Originally Posted by detox View Post
yes there is, to get those you really need to build it from jhbuild http://live.gnome.org/GnomeShell which means a lot of stuffing around. if you wanna do it the simple way, wait for official rpms to be made and uploaded to rawhide
Thanks for your patience and your quick replies. It makes sense to me now.
  #20  
Old 9th January 2011, 04:25 AM
tox
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
windows_7firefox
Re: Whassup all? Using F15 Rawhide?

even if you did it that way an built successful builds, you may have issues with something else like firefox where you may need to compile Minefield nightlies which means extra work, ( im sure they do that over on the ubuntu forums )

---------- Post added at 03:25 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:07 PM ----------

http://koji.fedoraproject.org/koji/b...buildID=213350 expect maybe a New Live ISO this week perhaps
  #21  
Old 10th January 2011, 05:34 PM
rockdoctor Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Owatonna, Minnesota
Posts: 108
linuxfirefox
Re: Whassup all? Using F15 Rawhide?

I use Rawhide (LXDE+Compiz) as my primary system. Haven't posted because I haven't run into any problems
__________________
RockDoctor
Registered Linux user #360200
  #22  
Old 10th January 2011, 11:46 PM
tox
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
windows_7firefox
Re: Whassup all? Using F15 Rawhide?

we may get 2.91.5 soon as some are being built or are already built at gnome ftp site ftp://ftp.gnome.org/pub/GNOME/sources/

---------- Post added at 10:46 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:37 AM ----------

Jan 12 GNOME 2.91.5 unstable release http://live.gnome.org/TwoPointNinetyone
  #23  
Old 13th January 2011, 12:52 AM
diamond_ramsey Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 785
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Whassup all? Using F15 Rawhide?

Quote:
Originally Posted by simpleblue View Post
Perhaps I am incorrect on this but the latest daily build does not seem to have been updated since December 31 as per the link below:

http://alt.fedoraproject.org/pub/alt...poses/desktop/

I went to look at the 'logs' link and it said all builds after Dec 31 "failed":

http://alt.fedoraproject.org/pub/alt.../desktop/logs/
simpleblue, there are new iso's available for the i386 and x86_64 for 12-Jan-2011 available now.

Hope this helps.
__________________
2 dual cores, 11 GB RAM, F18 Spherical Cow - 3.11.10-100.fc18.x86_64 / i686
2 dual cores, 11 GB RAM, F19 Schrödinger's Cat - 3.14.4-100.fc19.x86_64 / i686
2 dual cores, 11 GB RAM, F20 Heisenbug - 3.14.4-200.fc20.x86_64 / i686
16 x86_64 computing cores, 80 GB RAM & 8 SATA Seagate 7200.12 500 GB harddisks
  #24  
Old 13th January 2011, 02:56 AM
tox
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
windows_7firefox
Re: Whassup all? Using F15 Rawhide?

that over 100MB smaller which is good

---------- Post added at 01:56 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:32 PM ----------

also, if you download the new iso image an cannot start Gnome-shell you'll have to download this from Koji http://koji.fedoraproject.org/koji/b...buildID=213881 it fix's that busted gnome problem i saw on the Devel list
  #25  
Old 13th January 2011, 06:42 AM
Renegade1318 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 36
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Whassup all? Using F15 Rawhide?

I'm gonna try it out as soon as the alpha is released. no point in installing such an unstable OS. excited to see what it'll be like though!
  #26  
Old 13th January 2011, 06:50 AM
tox
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
windows_7firefox
Re: Whassup all? Using F15 Rawhide?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Renegade1318 View Post
I'm gonna try it out as soon as the alpha is released. no point in installing such an unstable OS. excited to see what it'll be like though!
depends what DE you use, you could download a LiveDvD now and try it to see what it looks like ( the Gnome one ) . XFCE4.8 should be good but i dont know if thats made into a liveCD yet
  #27  
Old 15th January 2011, 03:04 AM
tox
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
linuxfirefox
Re: Whassup all? Using F15 Rawhide?

ok, looks like the New Gnome-Shell is now put on By default, however i found without the experimental driver install nothing will work right in the Gnome-shell , so be aware that that driver will need to be installed , the question is, are they planning on making that experimental driver default install?

ok i just filed this Bug https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=669854

Last edited by tox; 15th January 2011 at 03:17 AM.
  #28  
Old 17th January 2011, 01:32 PM
phoenixpb Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: France & Québec
Posts: 173
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Whassup all? Using F15 Rawhide?

20110115 seems broken
flickering screen at boot
no way to login

---------- Post added at 08:32 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:31 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by detox View Post
ok, looks like the New Gnome-Shell is now put on By default, however i found without the experimental driver install nothing will work right in the Gnome-shell , so be aware that that driver will need to be installed , the question is, are they planning on making that experimental driver default install?

ok i just filed this Bug https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=669854
do you have to remove mesa-dri driver ? not experimental ?
__________________
Phoenix. Linux User number 495894

Fedora 21 alpha gnome 3.13
yum update junky
  #29  
Old 17th January 2011, 09:45 PM
tox
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
windows_7firefox
Re: Whassup all? Using F15 Rawhide?

Quote:
Originally Posted by phoenixpb View Post
20110115 seems broken
flickering screen at boot
no way to login

---------- Post added at 08:32 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:31 AM ----------



do you have to remove mesa-dri driver ? not experimental ?
not sure since i havent tried that but 20110114 loaded for me but Gnome-shell was not usable clicking on anything did nothing so i couldnt try any thing
  #30  
Old 18th January 2011, 06:50 PM
AdamW Offline
Fedora QA Community Monkey
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 4,176
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Whassup all? Using F15 Rawhide?

if you have an NVIDIA adapter you will need to install mesa-dri-drivers-experimental before you'll have a shot at Shell. Perhaps we should add it to the nightlies for now. Once it's installed you've got maybe a 50/50 shot.
__________________
Adam Williamson | awilliam AT redhat DOT com
Fedora QA Community Monkey
IRC: adamw | Twitter: AdamW_Fedora | identi.ca: adamwfedora
http://www.happyassassin.net
 

Tags
f15, rawhide, whassup

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
rawhide packages but rawhide repo not enabled Piscium Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 9 18th December 2009 01:50 AM
rawhide jteb Fedora 12 Alpha, Beta & Release Candidates 8 12th June 2009 08:31 AM
8,92 rawhide: where it is ? gggg Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 4th April 2008 07:28 PM
what is rawhide? jbird80 Using Fedora 2 10th January 2006 08:13 PM


Current GMT-time: 01:35 (Friday, 25-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat