Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 28th October 2004, 08:37 PM
Bloemkoolvreter Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4
Installing Core 3 test3 on an AMD 64 with SATA & RAID

Hello,

I have downloaded the x86_64 iso of Fedora Core 3 test 3, and I'm trying to install that on a MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum mobo. Specs in short:
  • nForce3 chipset
  • nVidia RAID chip (have no idea what exactly)
  • SATA Drive (Maxtor 200GB SATA)

Now when I boot from CD, i get the error that he doesn't find any hd's. So my question is, how do I get the installer to see my drive ? I know this can't be hard, it'll probably be just one kernel parameter I'll have to pass along when i boot from CD, but I just don't have a clue which one ...

Thanks in advance,

Bloemkool
  #2  
Old 28th October 2004, 09:28 PM
Dog-One Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NORTHCOM
Posts: 813
I'm pulling FC3 RC1 and I'll try it on my MSI K8N Neo shortly. I do KNOW that sata_nv and the scsi modules need to be loaded into the kernel in order to access the nForce3 chipset disk controllers. I'm not real positive HOW to do this during the install, but I THINK if you use text mode, Alt-F2 gives you a shell prompt. IF the required modules are in the installer image, you SHOULD be able to load them. This is completely a guess, but I'll let you know for sure soon.
__________________
Please give credit where credit is due--say thanks in the active thread.
Refresh yourself with the Posting Guidelines........Frequently Asked Questions........Registered Linux User #369513

Last edited by Dog-One; 28th October 2004 at 09:30 PM.
  #3  
Old 29th October 2004, 11:48 AM
Bloemkoolvreter Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dog-One
I'm pulling FC3 RC1 and I'll try it on my MSI K8N Neo shortly. I do KNOW that sata_nv and the scsi modules need to be loaded into the kernel in order to access the nForce3 chipset disk controllers. I'm not real positive HOW to do this during the install, but I THINK if you use text mode, Alt-F2 gives you a shell prompt. IF the required modules are in the installer image, you SHOULD be able to load them. This is completely a guess, but I'll let you know for sure soon.
So how would i go about it then ? Boot until the installer asks if I want the media checked, press alt-f2 for another console, and then modprobe sata_nv and modprobe scsi ?

I'll try it now anyway, hope it'll work ...
  #4  
Old 29th October 2004, 12:39 PM
deuch Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: France
Age: 35
Posts: 340
Maybe see this for explication ...

http://www.areca.com.tw/support/ARCM...-64/readme.txt

Its for a Serial ATA RAID Card, but i suppose that the issue will be the same.

deuch
  #5  
Old 31st October 2004, 03:38 AM
Dog-One Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NORTHCOM
Posts: 813
Arrow Installing FC3 RC1 x86_64 on nVidia nForce3 Chipset Motherboards

Okay, I have some good news and some bad news:

The good new is that FC3 RC1 has nVidia nForce3 SATA support in the installer--it sees all of my connected drives, even the USB externals.

The bad news is that if you are doing a network install, the installer does not have built-in support for the nForce3 GigE device, which will require you to build a driver disk (which is still useless if all you have is a USB pen drive as I do).

The only workaround in my case was to create a partition on one of the drives (I used my USB external drive) that contains the FC3 RC1 ISOs. With that you can do the install.

So if you need to load FC3 onto a bunch of AMD64 nForce3 machines, a slick and easy network install is out of the question without doing a fair amount of prep work to build a custom diskboot.img file. I'll start on that project and post the new image file ASAP.
__________________
Please give credit where credit is due--say thanks in the active thread.
Refresh yourself with the Posting Guidelines........Frequently Asked Questions........Registered Linux User #369513
  #6  
Old 31st October 2004, 04:04 AM
Dog-One Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NORTHCOM
Posts: 813
This is interesting: The forcedeth.ko module is IN the diskboot.img, but anaconda doesn't give you the option to choose it during the install. Let me look so more...
__________________
Please give credit where credit is due--say thanks in the active thread.
Refresh yourself with the Posting Guidelines........Frequently Asked Questions........Registered Linux User #369513
  #7  
Old 8th November 2004, 08:12 PM
Bloemkoolvreter Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dog-One
Okay, I have some good news and some bad news:

The good new is that FC3 RC1 has nVidia nForce3 SATA support in the installer--it sees all of my connected drives, even the USB externals

....
Then how come that when I try to start the install that I get the error message that he doesn't find any hard drives ?
 

Tags
amd, core, installing, raid, sata, test3

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SATA RAID Problems installing Feudora 5 angel3d Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 18th July 2006 03:49 PM
Installing on a HP ML150 G2 SATA-RAID Zipster Hardware & Laptops 0 12th April 2006 04:40 PM
Installing grub with raid/non raid sata disks.. Dionysos21 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 22nd March 2006 11:10 PM
Problem installing fedora core 3 with sata sil-3114 raid controller tonyroma100 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 27th November 2005 10:35 AM


Current GMT-time: 11:55 (Saturday, 25-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Vinica Photos - Wanxian Photos on Instagram - Wellingborough Photos