Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 10th December 2010, 11:18 PM
Zerc Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3
windows_xp_2003firefox
F13 - boot problems with RAID1/LVM/dracut

I am trying to boot my F13 server that has 3 partitions (sda2,sdb2,sdc2) configured as RAID1 (md0), vg00 is on md0 and / is on vg00/lvol00 and boot is on /dev/sda1, sda3,sdb3 and sdc3 contain other non-OS data and I get the following errors
dracut scanning devices sda3,sdb3,sdc3 for LVM logical volumes vg00/lvol00 vg00/lvol01
.
dracut: Volume group "vg00" not found
dracut: Skipping volume group vg00
dracut: Autoassembling MD Raid

No root device round

and then everything stops

If I go in with rdshell and type in -
mdadm --assemble /dev/md0 /dev/sda2 /dev/sdb2 /dev/sdc2
lvm vgscan (Volume group vg00 is found)
lvm vgchange -a y
exit

then the server will boot correctly

my menu.lst file has the following in it -

title Fedora (2.6.33.3-85.fc13.x86_64)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.33.3-85.fc13.x86_64 ro root=/dev/mapper/vg00-lvol00 rd_MD_UUID=39c23c71:01fbef35:c6968f48:26495aa5 rd_LVM_LV=vg00/lvol00 rd_LVM_LV=vg00/lvol01 rd_NO_LUKS rd_NO_DM LANG=en_US.UTF-8 SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 KEYTABLE=us rdshell
initrd /initramfs-2.6.33.3-85.fc13.x86_64.img


Can anybody assist me with getting the server to boot properly again?
Thanks

---------- Post added 2010-12-11 at 12:18 AM ---------- Previous post was 2010-12-10 at 11:58 PM ----------

Ok I managed to solve it. When I originally installed F13 I had 2 partitions in md0 and later on I added /dev/sdc2 to make it a 3 partition Raid 1 array. My thinking was seeing that I had the extra space it wouldn't hurt to use it as another mirror. One month later after I booted the server I have found out it did hurt. I removed the 3rd partition and now it's fine again. I wonder though if it would be possible though to use that 3rd partition.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 1st May 2011, 12:10 AM
PaulDestefano Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 15
linuxfirefox
Re: F13 - boot problems with RAID1/LVM/dracut

Hey Zerc,

Just had the exact same problem. I assume you figured out the solution, too. But in case you haven't you might be interested in my thread: 262349.

I'm not even sure that 'num-devices=' is a good parameter to include in your mdadm.conf, but it just needs to be adjusted whenever you change the number of devices. Makes sense, except when you don't have reason to expect this parameter is being used. Seems like more trouble that it's worth, to me.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
boot, f13, problems, raid1 or lvm or dracut

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FC12 boot failure: dracut FATAL don't know how to handle 'root=/root' gkasica Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 6th December 2009 03:16 AM
FC6: Tried to add RAID1 for root-partition ("/"), boot problems (kernel panic) jmeyerdo EOL (End Of Life) Versions 19 21st May 2007 12:19 AM
cannot boot raid1 BenCollver Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 28th September 2006 02:13 PM


Current GMT-time: 09:35 (Monday, 29-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
...Alor Gajah Travel Photos - La Chaya Maya - The Kiri Villas - Estrada Do Mar