Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 13th November 2010, 03:28 PM
actaea Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 23
linuxchrome
DSL modem PC name is not my hostname

When I use Ubuntu, my DSL modem correctly gets the hostname I call my computer "mertensia", but I'm having issues with Fedora.

Here's the contents of /etc/sysconfig/network file in Fedora 14:


[xxx@mertensia ~]$ cat /etc/sysconfig/network
NETWORKING=yes
HOSTNAME=mertensia.alleyway
NTPSERVERARGS=iburst


Yet, when I look at the name assigned by the modem (using http://192.168.0.1/ in a web browser), it tells me

PC Name: unknown

I need the PC Name to be mertensia, because otherwise it will complicate how I ssh immensely.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13th November 2010, 03:35 PM
forkbomb Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: U.S.
Posts: 4,851
linuxfirefox
Re: DSL modem PC name is not my hostname

You can't just change your hostname in /etc/sysconfig/network and just expect the hostname you've picked to propagate through the whole DNS database! Your ISP couldn't care less about what your OS calls itself, nor do upstream DNS servers. Not only that but .alleyway isn't even a valid TLD.

Most ISPs divvy out IP addresses via dhcp. And for many of the big ISPs, the WAN hostnames of clients actually incorporates the IP as part of the WAN hostname (this is especially true of ISPs that serve large numbers of customers). Whatever naming and addressing scheme your ISP use, you likely won't have any control over it unless you sign and pay for a business service plan.

Either contact your ISP to get a static IP and associate it with a domain you've registered, or try a service like DynDNS.org (I think DynDNS still has a free, if crippled, account option).
__________________
- Tom
"What is freedom? To have the will to be responsible for one's self." - Stirner

Last edited by forkbomb; 13th November 2010 at 03:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13th November 2010, 03:49 PM
actaea Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 23
linuxchrome
Re: DSL modem PC name is not my hostname

Forkbomb, I mustn't have made myself clear. I have no desire to propagate a name through the whole DNS database. I just want my DSL modem to recognize the name of my computer--just as it does when I use Ubuntu or Windows. I need it do this, so I can use the same rule for the modem in order to SSH into my computer--whether I use Windows, Fedora, and any other Linux distro I happen to decide to check out. I'm sure if it works out of the box in Ubuntu, there is a way to do this in Fedora.

Last edited by actaea; 13th November 2010 at 03:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13th November 2010, 04:32 PM
jpollard Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Waldorf, Maryland
Posts: 6,878
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: DSL modem PC name is not my hostname

Isn't going to happen.

The closest you will be able to come is to put your "desired" name in
the /etc/hosts file with the IP number you have been given by your router.

After that. all bets are off, as the name you give your system has
nothing to do with any system outside of your local system. Not your
router, and certainly not any other system.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13th November 2010, 05:09 PM
mwesten Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 172
linuxfirefox
Re: DSL modem PC name is not my hostname

I believe I see what he means. My router runs a DHCP and DNS server for the local network. When I boot Windows or an Ubuntu distro (Mint), the box gets an IP from DHCP server and it's hostname is registered with the local DNS server correctly. Fedora 14 gets an IP alright, but the hostname that it registers is garbage. This should work.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dsl, hostname, modem

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
56k modem and network not dropping when modem switched off Motor Servers & Networking 1 14th September 2005 06:06 PM
hosts puzzle ->host hostname -> host hostname not found alphonsebrown Servers & Networking 2 30th March 2005 10:26 AM
FC 64 bit modem driver for smart link modem bhoosuran Using Fedora 3 5th March 2005 02:24 PM
Fedora Core 3 Hostname Error (Windows cannot ping 'hostname') 3K Tech Servers & Networking 1 3rd January 2005 04:24 AM


Current GMT-time: 21:29 (Wednesday, 26-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Gniezno Travel Photos on Instagram - San Lorenzo - Kerkyra Instagram Photos