Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 10th November 2010, 03:08 AM
belltown Offline

windows_7firefox
Black screen after fresh Fedora 14 install

This is my first attempt at using Fedora. I downloaded and burned the DVD ISO (Fedora 14 x86_64), checked the checksums and attempted an install.

I managed to get the OS installed and updated, wireless connected and updates applied. However, when I try to boot the system I get a black screen. The keyboard lights seem to function (backlighting keys, wireless on/off light, etc.), but nothing appears on the screen after the Grub menu.

I have an HP ENVY 14 with an Intel Core i5-M450 CPU, 4GB of memory, 160GB SSD, Radeon HD 5650 graphics card and Intel integrated graphics, dual-booted with Windows 7.

Does anyone have any idea how I can fix this problem that doesn't involve me spending 4 hours Googling for an answer, before I go back to Windows.

Any help would be appreciated.
Old 10th November 2010, 06:51 AM
CSchwangler Offline

linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Black screen after fresh Fedora 14 install

Have you already tried the workarounds suggested in the common bugs section?

http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Common...hical_problems

What graphics driver are you using?
Old 10th November 2010, 07:46 AM
belltown Offline

windows_7firefox

Quote:
Originally Posted by CSchwangler View Post
Have you already tried the workarounds suggested in the common bugs section?

http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Common...hical_problems

What graphics driver are you using?
How do I find out what graphics driver I'm using?
Old 10th November 2010, 07:57 AM
Salamandra Offline

linuxfedorafirefox

Quote:
Originally Posted by belltown View Post
This is my first attempt at using Fedora. I downloaded and burned the DVD ISO (Fedora 14 x86_64), checked the checksums and attempted an install.