Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 25th May 2004, 09:43 PM
MrWh1t3 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Omaha, NE
Age: 31
Posts: 33
Western Digital HDDs

I was wondering if anyone had any issues on installing Fedora core 2 on western digital 100gig hdds. I tried to install on 2 of them and same result on each one..My computer would start up run through all the checks find my PCI cards then boom it would stop and i would get a GRUB at the bottom left hand of my screen. and i couldnt go any further. I installed on 2 maxtor drives a 200 gig and a 10 gig both worked fine havent tried any western dives less than 100gig so i guess i was wondering what was up?



GRUB
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25th May 2004, 11:23 PM
Prometheus Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 374
I dont know. I had FC1 installed on a Western Digital at one point (before my filesystems got corrupted and had to reformat). It seemed to install just fine. I cant see anything about the WD hdds that would make them unwriteable to Fedora. My WD was an older 12 gig, but it still ran just fine under Fedora. You probably want to check the jumper settings as WD hdds have different jumper settings than every other hdd manufacturer. Other than that, Fedora should load just fine on a WD Hdd.
__________________
Registered Linux User #371104

Become a Registered Linux User Here
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th May 2004, 11:25 PM
brymaster Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 6
Hi,

I have FC2 installed and dual booted with WinXP on a WD 120gig HD with no problems.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26th May 2004, 12:24 AM
jrstueve Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 7
I have a 160GB WD hard drive and had the same luck as the first post.

A blinking GRUB at the bottom. My other drive is a 40GB WD drive. I haven't tried installing to that one yet...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26th May 2004, 01:51 AM
brymaster Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 6
That's not good. I suggest you two submit bug reports to Fedora if you haven't done so yet.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
digital, hdds, western

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Western Digital MyBook - unable to mount during boot. InfRecursion Using Fedora 4 19th January 2008 11:38 PM
installing on a brand new western digital hard drive bharat211 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 2nd January 2008 08:28 PM
Western Digital MyBook soft resets on eSata kmaxwell Hardware & Laptops 3 23rd October 2007 10:47 PM
Western Digital Notebook/External HD zraffz Hardware & Laptops 5 24th January 2007 10:33 PM
FC3 on Western Digital Caviar SE SATA BlackFrancis75 EOL (End Of Life) Versions 6 8th June 2005 10:43 PM


Current GMT-time: 16:24 (Friday, 31-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Iran Travel Photos - Sakon Nakhon Photos on Instagram - Domalanoan