Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 20th October 2004, 08:12 AM
davidmaxwaterma Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 26
startx results in blank screen

Hi,

I am sure I've seen a solution to this before, but I can't find it, so sorry to duplicate.

I am running FC2 (yummed upto date), on a Compaq ProLiant server. It has an ATI Rage :

Code:
00:03.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc 3D Rage IIC 215IIC [Mach64 GT IIC] (rev 7a) (prog-if 00 [VGA])
        Subsystem: ATI Technologies Inc Rage IIC
        Flags: bus master, stepping, medium devsel, latency 64
        Memory at c5000000 (32-bit, prefetchable)
        I/O ports at 2c00 [size=256]
        Memory at c6cff000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=4K]
        Capabilities: [5c] Power Management version 1
but when I startx as root (remotely), it looks like it is working, but I don't get anything on the monitor.

Some interesting messages during startx:

Code:
/var/log/messages
Oct 20 13:30:07 truth modprobe: FATAL: Error running install command for sound_slot_0
Code:
/var/log/Xorg.0.log
(WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(WW) Open APM failed (/dev/apm_bios) (No such device)
(II) Loading extension MIT-SCREEN-SAVER
(WW) ATI(0): Failed to set up write-combining range (0xc5000000,0x400000)
(WW) ATI(0): Cannot shadow an accelerated frame buffer.
(WW) ATI(0): config file hsync range 30-85kHz not within DDC hsync ranges.
(WW) ATI(0): config file vrefresh range 50-160Hz not within DDC vrefresh ranges.
(WW) ATI(0): Failed to set up write-combining range (0xc5000000,0x400000)
I also cannot get to the F1, F2, etc terminals, while X is running.

Any advice?

Thanks.

Max.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20th October 2004, 02:32 PM
tashirosgt Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,964
That's good info except for the part about starting X "remotely". Do you mean that you run the machine as a server without X and you are starting X from a terminal window on the machine? Or are you on another machine, remotely logged-in to this server?

Post /etc/X11/xorg.conf. The errors look like they have to do with the monitor versus the requested screen resolution.
__________________
"Never let the task you are trying to accomplish distract you from the study of computers."
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20th October 2004, 03:05 PM
davidmaxwaterma Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 26
By remotely, I mean I log in using ssh from another computer and 'setenv DISPLAY :0.0', then run 'startx'.

I will post xorg.conf tomorrow, since I am not at the office. However, I have made no changes since I installed FC2 - unless the yum upgrades have changed it.

I can beleive that it could be a resolution/video timing issue. Perhaps I should install a more modern monitor and see what happens. It would be an quick and easy test.

I am confused about the alt-f1 etc terminals not working. Do they use the same video timings as X when it starts? They work fine w/o X running.

Max.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20th October 2004, 04:16 PM
CrystalCowboy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 539
Quote:
(WW) ATI(0): config file hsync range 30-85kHz not within DDC hsync ranges.
(WW) ATI(0): config file vrefresh range 50-160Hz not within DDC vrefresh ranges.
Sounds like it's not finding a resolution suitable for both the graphics chip and the monitor. You said the graphics controller is ATI Rage. We also need to know the make & model of the monitor, and a printout of your /etc/X11/xorg.conf file, specifically the "Monitor", "Device" and "Screen" sections.
__________________
Explore the Core!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20th October 2004, 05:30 PM
tashirosgt Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,964
Another detail is whether the X Windows display on the machine is working for users who log in from its keyboard. Is this only a problem when a remote user logs in? (It's confusing because a remote user would generally want the display to be on the machine he logged-in with, not on the server machine's display. )
__________________
"Never let the task you are trying to accomplish distract you from the study of computers."
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21st October 2004, 03:34 AM
crackers Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Age: 57
Posts: 3,423
setenv DISPLAY :0.0 means you're setting the DISPLAY variable to the local server, not the remote server. If you're using ssh, you don't need to set the DISPLAY variable as ssh handles that for you and forwards X requests to your X server. To be sure, you can use the -X option.
__________________
Linux User #28251 (April '93)
Professional Java Geek :cool:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21st October 2004, 02:54 PM
davidmaxwaterma Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 26
Solved - used different monitor during install.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrystalCowboy
Sounds like it's not finding a resolution suitable for both the graphics chip and the monitor. You said the graphics controller is ATI Rage. We also need to know the make & model of the monitor, and a printout of your /etc/X11/xorg.conf file, specifically the "Monitor", "Device" and "Screen" sections.
I tried another monitor (Compaq S710) and it worked fine. The monitor I want to use which isn't working is a Compaq V510c.

Come to think of it, I bet I installed FC2 with an S710 connected....yup, xorg.conf seems to confirm that.

Using system-config-display to select monitor....hrm, no V510c listed...trying V50....yeah, it works!

Simple as that....thanks guys!

Max.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
blank, results, screen, startx

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Screen not going blank when closing screen on Dell Insprion 1150 e24ohm Hardware & Laptops 0 7th February 2009 04:16 PM
startx problem, no login, blank screen, fc6 bruce1 EOL (End Of Life) Versions 15 18th July 2007 09:43 AM
Black screen on anaconda and startx Blinkiz Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 4 7th April 2006 07:04 AM
FC4 black screen at startx... marmotte EOL (End Of Life) Versions 1 28th November 2005 05:29 PM
nVidia help - blank screen after startX Rain Using Fedora 3 9th November 2004 12:41 AM


Current GMT-time: 05:12 (Sunday, 26-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Sebastian Photos on Instagram - Berat Photos on Instagram - Gondar Travel Photos