Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora 19/20 > Servers & Networking
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Servers & Networking Discuss any Fedora server problems and Networking issues such as dhcp, IP numbers, wlan, modems, etc.

Old 3rd August 2010, 05:37 PM
AvicusUK Offline

linuxchrome
How to get Wireless Internet on my Compaq Mini 311c 1020SA from my Windows Network

Hi, there.

I'm new to Fedora, I used to have Ubuntu 10 and found that some software I required would not work properly so I decided to Fedora under recommendation from a friend.

I really like it but when I installed Fedora 13 on my Netbook I found it difficult to set up my wireless connection . Any suggestions. I'm not a very technical person towards Linux, unfortunately so I would really appreciate the help.

Thanks in advance

Miguel
Old 3rd August 2010, 09:31 PM
stoat Offline

linuxfedorafirefox
Re: How to get Wireless Internet on my Compaq Mini 311c 1020SA from my Windows Networ

Ubuntu may have proprietary wireless drivers that Fedora doesn't have. So, like many of us, you may need to install something to make your wireless device work in Fedora. If you think you're up to something like that, then I'm sure someone will help you. You should start by attempting to identify the chipset of the wireless adapter. That usually answers the question of what to do next. If your adapter is using the PCI bus, then this terminal command usually identifies the chipset...
Code:
lspci
You can post that result here if you like. Or, if it revealed nothing about the wireless hardware, then this may reveal the PCI-ID number if it's using the Universal Serial Bus...
Code:
lsusb
Old 3rd August 2010, 10:10 PM
AvicusUK Offline

linuxchrome
Re: How to get Wireless Internet on my Compaq Mini 311c 1020SA from my Windows Networ

Hi,

after using the lspci code I got this about my wireless hardware