Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 7th July 2010, 10:50 PM
Evil-I Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 100
windows_7firefox
NIC Bonding in Fedora 13

Hi all,

Have set up bonding on my Fedora 13 server as per the tutorial :http://www.cyberciti.biz/tips/linux-...interface.html

Now the interfaces are up and the bond seems to be working on its static IP address of 192.168.0.100, I just no longer seem to have internet access on the server and can't work out why? I think I may have an issue at this stage:

Step # 3: Load bond driver/module

Make sure bonding module is loaded when the channel-bonding interface (bond0) is brought up. You need to modify kernel modules configuration file:# vi /etc/modprobe.confAppend following two lines:alias bond0 bonding
options bond0 mode=balance-alb miimon=100Save file and exit to shell prompt. You can learn more about all bounding options in kernel source documentation file (click here to read file online).

The file contains no information at all, so i did add these 2 lines of code as requested,

alias bond0 bonding
options bond0 mode=balance-alb miimon=100

but it did seem odd that it was blank before I added that code in, I'm wondering if Fedora 13 works differently to what this is suggesting?

I've got: GATEWAY=192.168.0.1 as part of the bond config, which is my default gateway and I've even tried manually adding the nameservers in the bond config file as either NAMESERVER=XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX and NAMESERVERS=XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX and that didn't appear to help. It almost seems like a DNS issue though to be honest?

I've no idea whats wrong, as far as I can tell in every other way the bond is working fine, it's just the internet access side thats no right.

Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance,

E-I
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 9th July 2010, 04:08 PM
David Becker Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 780
windows_xp_2003firefox
Re: NIC Bonding in Fedora 13

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil-I View Post
Any suggestions?
I don't know if it works for bond-devices, but you probably have to set the GATEWAYDEV in /etc/sysconfig/network.

David
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th July 2010, 08:59 PM
assen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 492
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: NIC Bonding in Fedora 13

Hi,

AFAIK (haven't used boding since CentOS 5.0), you will no longer have eth0 and eth1, but will get a device bond0 as a virtual Ethernet interface. However, all ARP traffic should go to bond0, hence the IP address should be assigned to bond0; any L2 routes, incl. default gw, should also point to bond0, not eth0.

WWell,
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bonding, fedora, nic

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
bonding multiple nics to ltsbr0 fedora 10 wolverine Servers & Networking 0 17th July 2009 04:23 PM
bonding Roberto_kellog Servers & Networking 2 20th March 2009 03:29 PM
How do I set up bonding with F9? james.reid Servers & Networking 1 20th September 2008 10:31 AM
Channel Bonding bvgsy Servers & Networking 2 24th July 2005 07:54 PM


Current GMT-time: 04:29 (Thursday, 23-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Houston Travel Photos on Instagram - Matehuala Instagram Photos - Ciudad Choluteca