Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 24th May 2004, 11:40 PM
spin Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2
Problem with Screen in FC2 and VMware

I installed FC2 with VMware everything is working fine the only problem is that i can switch to a bigger resolution than the 600x480 and 8 bit... I was reading in the VMware website that i have to install inside my guest OS (FC2 in this case) the VMware tools... I tried to install them but they don't work for FC2... does anyone has any idea how to fix this problem?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25th May 2004, 08:16 AM
Varkk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: New Zealand
Age: 35
Posts: 287
I think you can compile hem under the guest OS so that they work. I did this for FC1, I got the video to work but not the mouse so I had to use the special key combination to release the mouse from th guest. The instructions for doing this should be somewhere on the VMware site.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th May 2004, 06:13 PM
spin Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2
do you know were in the site? becuase i can't find it...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25th May 2004, 09:58 PM
zerokarmaleft Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Age: 35
Posts: 1
I'm having a bit of the same problem. However, I've managed to change my xorg.conf to use the generic vesa driver so i can start an X session at a decent resolution and color bitdepth. To try out FC2, I blew away my FC1 installation which had the native VMWare video driver working and VMWare Tools installed so everything was golden. I probably just have some bad values in xorg.conf for my monitor.

Update: Managed to get the native VMWare X driver working properly, and all resolutions and color depths are available . When I tried to configure VMWare Tools, the build process failed for the shared folder module. No big deal, since I transfer files b/w my host and guest OS via FTP. But installing VMWare Tools broke my xorg.conf, so I guess I'll have to live with 3 and 4-finger salutes to switch b/w my OSes :\

Last edited by zerokarmaleft; 25th May 2004 at 11:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 1st June 2004, 10:18 PM
steinmic Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1
> zerokarmaleft:

Hi
Could you post the xorg.conf for the "native VMWare X driver" configuration?

Thanx.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fc2, problem, screen, vmware

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XP Pro VMWare 1.0.6 running FC9 - Screen Resolution ddanc1984 Using Fedora 0 2nd November 2008 05:52 AM
Installing F9 in VMware guest: screen resize problem 4z0smq20kk Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 7 13th August 2008 12:54 AM
VMWare workstation 6: vmware-config.pl problem... kernel 2.6.25.3-18.fc9.i686 sinatosk Using Fedora 5 18th May 2008 11:42 PM
Weird Screen Resolution Problem of FC2 on VMware ylzhou EOL (End Of Life) Versions 1 31st August 2004 02:58 PM


Current GMT-time: 13:43 (Thursday, 30-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Vadlapudi - Hawsh `Isa Travel Photos on Instagram - Chengyang Photos on Instagram