Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 22nd March 2010, 07:13 AM
keyvay Offline

linuxfedorafirefox
New-Wireless Problem Broadcom

Im new to linux an ive installed fedora 12 i can connect wired but not wireless ive tried going to a few web sites that give a step by step of type "this" then "this" an its not working i have a broadcom 802.11b/g WLAN an ive read that its not an easy thing to do i got the fwcutter (i think i did that right) and the broadcom driver for windows file sitting on my desktop but i dont know how to bring it all together or am i going about this all wrong any help would be great and yes ive started reading and reading and reading on who/what/why/when/where/how of linux

thanks for any help
Old 22nd March 2010, 08:32 AM
trustnoone Offline

linuxfedorafirefox
Re: New-Wireless Problem Broadcom

When I installed wireless it mostly worked basically strait away, an found the wireless pretty quick.
I had a fair bit of problems at the start where connection would drop out though so i used this http://etherplex.org/archives/141 guide which fixed it??
Old 22nd March 2010, 01:14 PM
stoat Offline

windows_xp_2003ie

Quote:
Originally Posted by trustnoone

I had a fair bit of problems at the start where connection would drop out though so i used this http://etherplex.org/archives/141 guide which fixed it??
Hello trustnoone,

Those instructions are for Atheros, not Broadcom.

Quote:
Originally Posted by keyvay

i have a broadcom 802.11b/g WLAN
Hello keyvay,