Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 11th February 2010, 04:55 PM
dhimes Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Marblehead MA USA
Posts: 296
linuxfedorafirefox
Tell kernel (or X?) which video card to use

Hello,
I have a pretty cool problem. The laptop computer is an Asus UL50VT which has two video cards: an onboard intel Mobile 4 Series Chipset with Integrated Graphics Controller, and an NVidia GeForce G210M. The concept behind having two video cards is that the onboard chip can be used when graphics aren't required (email, programming, etc.), but the NVidia can be used when you need the graphics horsepower. This allows you to maximize battery life. The system came with Windows 7.

I can (now) get X to start by monkeying with the xorg.config file, but it doesn't run well and is getting bogged down. My (uneducated) guess is that if I could clearly make certain that I'm using intel drivers and the intel "card," or better the nvidia drivers and the nvidia card, it would run better. I'd love to be able to set them up in such a way that I can switch them (two different xorg.conf files with a scipt that allows me to select what I want, for instance), but I need to get to first base first and get something working well.

So, how can I tell what the system is actually using for drivers AND devices? And, how can I dictate which it is to use? Thank you.

Here is some info:


Code:
cat dmesg | grep VGA

00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 07)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation Device 0a74 (rev a2)

cat dmesg |grep 0000:00:02.0  

pci 0000:00:02.0: reg 10 64bit mmio: [0xfcc00000-0xfcffffff]
pci 0000:00:02.0: reg 18 64bit mmio: [0xd0000000-0xdfffffff]
pci 0000:00:02.0: reg 20 io port: [0xcc00-0xcc07]
vgaarb: device added: PCI:0000:00:02.0,decodes=io+mem,owns=io+mem,locks=none
pci 0000:00:02.0: Boot video device
i915 0000:00:02.0: PCI INT A -> GSI 16 (level, low) -> IRQ 16
i915 0000:00:02.0: setting latency timer to 64
i915 0000:00:02.0: irq 29 for MSI/MSI-X
[drm] Initialized i915 1.6.0 20080730 for 0000:00:02.0 on minor 0

cat dmesg | grep 0000:01:00.0

pci 0000:01:00.0: reg 10 32bit mmio: [0xfd000000-0xfdffffff]
pci 0000:01:00.0: reg 14 64bit mmio: [0xe0000000-0xefffffff]
pci 0000:01:00.0: reg 1c 64bit mmio: [0xfa000000-0xfbffffff]
pci 0000:01:00.0: reg 24 io port: [0xdc00-0xdc7f]
pci 0000:01:00.0: reg 30 32bit mmio: [0xfe980000-0xfe9fffff]
vgaarb: device added: PCI:0000:01:00.0,decodes=io+mem,owns=none,locks=none
nouveau 0000:01:00.0: enabling device (0000 -> 0003)
nouveau 0000:01:00.0: PCI INT A -> GSI 16 (level, low) -> IRQ 16
nouveau 0000:01:00.0: setting latency timer to 64
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: failed to evaluate _DSM: 12291
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Detected an NV50 generation card (0x0a8a00a2)
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Attempting to load BIOS image from PRAMIN
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: ... BIOS signature not found
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Attempting to load BIOS image from PROM
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: ... BIOS signature not found
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Attempting to load BIOS image from PCIROM
nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Invalid ROM contents
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: ... BIOS signature not found
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: No valid BIOS image found
nouveau 0000:01:00.0: PCI INT A disabled
nvidia 0000:01:00.0: PCI INT A -> GSI 16 (level, low) -> IRQ 16
nvidia 0000:01:00.0: setting latency timer to 64
vgaarb: device changed decodes: PCI:0000:01:00.0,olddecodes=io+mem,decodes=none:owns=none
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11th February 2010, 05:33 PM
Dies Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,754
linuxubuntufirefox
You can use BusID to define which is which.

For example:

Code:
Section "Device"
	Identifier	"Default Device"
	BusID	"PCI:1:0:0"
	Driver	"nvidia"
	Option	"NoLogo"	"True"
EndSection
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th February 2010, 06:11 PM
dhimes Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Marblehead MA USA
Posts: 296
linuxfedorafirefox
Thanks, Dies. I put that in, but it wasn't sufficient. I was told by the nvidia display config applet that nvidia wasn't running, and to run nvidia-xorg (or something like that) to make a new xorg.conf file. I made the file and then modified it per your suggestion. However, X won't start with the new file. (It's not the fault of your suggestion-- X started with my old conf-- it just wasn't using the nvidia drivers, and was bogging down).

So, here's Xorg.0.log. I'm not exactly sure what I'm looking at here, but among other things, it can't find a screen.

Code:
X.Org X Server 1.7.4
Release Date: 2010-01-08
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0
Build Operating System: x86-01 2.6.18-164.6.1.el5 
Current Operating System: Linux dirac 2.6.31.12-174.2.3.fc12.x86_64 #1 SMP Mon Jan 18 19:52:07 UTC 2010 x86_64
Kernel command line: ro root=/dev/mapper/vg_dirac-lv_root  LANG=en_US.UTF-8 SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 KEYBOARDTYPE=pc KEYTABLE=us rhgb quiet runlevel 3
Build Date: 08 January 2010  04:30:14AM
Build ID: xorg-x11-server 1.7.4-1.fc12 
Current version of pixman: 0.16.6
	Before reporting problems, check http://bodhi.fedoraproject.org/
	to make sure that you have the latest version.
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
	(++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
	(WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.0.log", Time: Thu Feb 11 13:00:40 2010
(==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf"
(==) ServerLayout "Layout0"
(**) |-->Screen "Screen0" (0)
(**) |   |-->Monitor "Monitor0"
(**) |   |-->Device "Device0"
(**) |-->Input Device "Keyboard0"
(**) |-->Input Device "Mouse0"
(==) Automatically adding devices
(==) Automatically enabling devices
(**) FontPath set to:
	/usr/share/fonts/default/Type1,
	catalogue:/etc/X11/fontpath.d,
	built-ins
(==) ModulePath set to "/usr/lib64/xorg/modules"
(WW) AllowEmptyInput is on, devices using drivers 'kbd', 'mouse' or 'vmmouse' will be disabled.
(WW) Disabling Keyboard0
(WW) Disabling Mouse0
(II) Loader magic: 0x7c85c0
(II) Module ABI versions:
	X.Org ANSI C Emulation: 0.4
	X.Org Video Driver: 6.0
	X.Org XInput driver : 7.0
	X.Org Server Extension : 2.0
(--) using VT number 8

(--) PCI:*(0:0:2:0) 8086:2a42:1043:1af2 Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller rev 7, Mem @ 0xfcc00000/4194304, 0xd0000000/268435456, I/O @ 0x0000cc00/8, BIOS @ 0x????????/131072
(--) PCI: (0:1:0:0) 10de:0a74:1043:1af2 nVidia Corporation rev 162, Mem @ 0xfd000000/16777216, 0xe0000000/268435456, 0xfa000000/33554432, I/O @ 0x0000dc00/128, BIOS @ 0x????????/524288
(II) LoadModule: "extmod"
(II) Loading /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/extensions/libextmod.so
(II) Module extmod: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
	compiled for 1.7.4, module version = 1.0.0
	Module class: X.Org Server Extension
	ABI class: X.Org Server Extension, version 2.0
(II) Loading extension SELinux
(II) Loading extension MIT-SCREEN-SAVER
(II) Loading extension XFree86-VidModeExtension
(II) Loading extension XFree86-DGA
(II) Loading extension DPMS
(II) Loading extension XVideo
(II) Loading extension XVideo-MotionCompensation
(II) Loading extension X-Resource
(II) LoadModule: "dbe"
(II) Loading /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/extensions/libdbe.so
(II) Module dbe: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
	compiled for 1.7.4, module version = 1.0.0
	Module class: X.Org Server Extension
	ABI class: X.Org Server Extension, version 2.0
(II) Loading extension DOUBLE-BUFFER
(II) LoadModule: "glx"
(II) Loading /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/extensions/nvidia/libglx.so
(II) Module glx: vendor="NVIDIA Corporation"
	compiled for 4.0.2, module version = 1.0.0
	Module class: X.Org Server Extension
(II) NVIDIA GLX Module  190.53  Wed Dec  9 16:27:33 PST 2009
(II) Loading extension GLX
(II) LoadModule: "record"
(II) Loading /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/extensions/librecord.so
(II) Module record: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
	compiled for 1.7.4, module version = 1.13.0
	Module class: X.Org Server Extension
	ABI class: X.Org Server Extension, version 2.0
(II) Loading extension RECORD
(II) LoadModule: "dri"
(II) Loading /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/extensions/libdri.so
(II) Module dri: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
	compiled for 1.7.4, module version = 1.0.0
	ABI class: X.Org Server Extension, version 2.0
(II) Loading extension XFree86-DRI
(II) LoadModule: "dri2"
(II) Loading /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/extensions/libdri2.so
(II) Module dri2: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
	compiled for 1.7.4, module version = 1.1.0
	ABI class: X.Org Server Extension, version 2.0
(II) Loading extension DRI2
(II) LoadModule: "nvidia"
(II) Loading /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/drivers/nvidia_drv.so
(II) Module nvidia: vendor="NVIDIA Corporation"
	compiled for 4.0.2, module version = 1.0.0
	Module class: X.Org Video Driver
(II) NVIDIA dlloader X Driver  190.53  Wed Dec  9 15:39:50 PST 2009
(II) NVIDIA Unified Driver for all Supported NVIDIA GPUs
(II) Primary Device is: PCI 00@00:02:0
(II) Loading sub module "fb"
(II) LoadModule: "fb"
(II) Loading /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/libfb.so
(II) Module fb: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
	compiled for 1.7.4, module version = 1.0.0
	ABI class: X.Org ANSI C Emulation, version 0.4
(II) Loading sub module "wfb"
(II) LoadModule: "wfb"
(II) Loading /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/libwfb.so
(II) Module wfb: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
	compiled for 1.7.4, module version = 1.0.0
	ABI class: X.Org ANSI C Emulation, version 0.4
(II) Loading sub module "ramdac"
(II) LoadModule: "ramdac"
(II) Module "ramdac" already built-in
(**) NVIDIA(0): Depth 24, (--) framebuffer bpp 32
(==) NVIDIA(0): RGB weight 888
(==) NVIDIA(0): Default visual is TrueColor
(==) NVIDIA(0): Using gamma correction (1.0, 1.0, 1.0)
(**) Feb 11 13:00:40 NVIDIA(0): Enabling RENDER acceleration
(II) Feb 11 13:00:40 NVIDIA(0): Support for GLX with the Damage and Composite X extensions is
(II) Feb 11 13:00:40 NVIDIA(0):     enabled.
(EE) Feb 11 13:00:40 NVIDIA(0): Failed to initialize the NVIDIA graphics device PCI:1:0:0. 
(EE) Feb 11 13:00:40 NVIDIA(0):     Please check your system's kernel log for additional error
(EE) Feb 11 13:00:40 NVIDIA(0):     messages and refer to Chapter 8: Common Problems in the
(EE) Feb 11 13:00:40 NVIDIA(0):     README for additional information.
(EE) Feb 11 13:00:40 NVIDIA(0): Failed to initialize the NVIDIA graphics device!
(II) UnloadModule: "nvidia"
(II) UnloadModule: "wfb"
(II) UnloadModule: "fb"
(EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.

Fatal server error:
no screens found
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th February 2010, 06:32 PM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,292
linuxopera
Please post your xorg.conf file, and the method of installing the NVidia driver (binary blob or RPMs, and if RPMs: which are installed ?). Looks like 'nouveau' may be interfering with NVidia - did you "kill" it as per the usual guide ? And re-build [all] initramfs ?

I'm not sure that what you ultimately want ("switchable" graphics control) is feasible.

V
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11th February 2010, 08:08 PM
dhimes Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Marblehead MA USA
Posts: 296
linuxfedorafirefox
I apologize for the delay.

Quote:
Looks like 'nouveau' may be interfering with NVidia - did you "kill" it as per the usual guide?
I did in the beginning. That is, I've been working this spiral trying to figure out what was going on. I'm not even sure I knew that I had two video cards at that time (yeah, I know ). So I tried via the "guide" and it didn't work (I recall that "cannot find screen" error is a common one).

Quote:
And re-build [all] initramfs ?
I don't know what those are (and I'm not sure why it is unfamiliar to me at this point) but I'll look into it.

Thank you for helping me here.

Here is the xorg.conf:

Code:
# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
# nvidia-xconfig:  version 1.0  (mockbuild@)  Sun Nov 22 21:04:19 EST 2009

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0"
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Files"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/default/Type1"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "auto"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from data in "/etc/sysconfig/keyboard"
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
    Option         "XkbLayout" "us"
    Option         "XkbModel" "pc105"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "Unknown"
    HorizSync       28.0 - 33.0
    VertRefresh     43.0 - 72.0
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BusID 	   "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection


---------- Post added at 03:08 PM CST ---------- Previous post was at 02:57 PM CST ----------

I forgot to add: I installed akmod-nvidia through yum.

I hesitated "killing" (removing) nouveau a second time because it didn't clearly fix anything and I didn't know how to get it back. I reinstalled f12.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11th February 2010, 08:19 PM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,292
linuxopera
(1) Missing PATHs:
Code:
Section "Files"
        ModulePath   "/usr/lib/xorg/modules/extensions/nvidia"
        ModulePath   "/usr/lib/xorg/modules/extensions/"
        ModulePath   "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/default/Type1"
EndSection
(2) 'nouveau' will interfere with the NVidia driver - you must at least follow the guide with respect to black-listing it and re-build initramfs('s).

V
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11th February 2010, 08:36 PM
dhimes Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Marblehead MA USA
Posts: 296
linuxfedorafirefox
I did, however, blacklist nouveau:

Code:
# grub.conf generated by anaconda
#
# Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
# NOTICE:  You have a /boot partition.  This means that
#          all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /boot/, eg.
#          root (hd0,2)
#          kernel /vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/mapper/vg_dirac-lv_root
#          initrd /initrd-[generic-]version.img
#boot=/dev/sda
default=0
timeout=5
splashimage=(hd0,2)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
hiddenmenu
title Fedora 12 (2.6.31.12-174.2.3.fc12.x86_64)
	root (hd0,2)
 	kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.31.12-174.2.3.fc12.x86_64 ro root=/dev/mapper/vg_dirac-lv_root  LANG=en_US.UTF-8 SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 KEYBOARDTYPE=pc KEYTABLE=us rhgb quiet rdblacklist=nouveau
#	kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.31.12-174.2.3.fc12.x86_64 ro root=/dev/mapper/vg_dirac-lv_root  LANG=en_US.UTF-8 SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 KEYBOARDTYPE=pc KEYTABLE=us rhgb quiet 
	initrd /initramfs-2.6.31.12-174.2.3.fc12.x86_64.img
title Windows 7
	rootnoverify (hd0,1)
	chainloader +1


---------- Post added at 03:36 PM CST ---------- Previous post was at 03:34 PM CST ----------

Thank you, Hlingler. By guides, I've been assuming that you are referring to leigh123linux's...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11th February 2010, 08:41 PM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,292
linuxopera
Quote:
By guides, I've been assuming that you are referring to leigh123linux's...
Yes.

Looks like you black-listed 'nouveau', but unclear as to whether you (correctly) re-build the initramfs image. Or fixed the xorg.conf file.

V

P.S. Only one installed kernel ? Like living on the edge, do we ?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11th February 2010, 09:31 PM
dhimes Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Marblehead MA USA
Posts: 296
linuxfedorafirefox
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hlingler View Post
Yes.

Looks like you black-listed 'nouveau', but unclear as to whether you (correctly) re-build the initramfs image. Or fixed the xorg.conf file.
I added the file paths; haven't rebuilt the initramfs image to my knowledge. I'll look into that after this post

Quote:
P.S. Only one installed kernel ? Like living on the edge, do we ?
yes and no: this is a new box, and that was my install dvd. OTOH, I'm typing this from a fully-working f11 box. This box is losing its display, so I'm on an external monitor for safety, and when the new one is up, off-to-the-shop with this one.

So: on the edge? yes. But not without a heckuva strong safety tether!

---------- Post added at 04:31 PM CST ---------- Previous post was at 04:02 PM CST ----------

Quick question please: I've renamed the nouveau driver, and did the dracut (I'm unclear about what this step actually does). I did NOT erase nouveau though. If I erase it, can I get it back without a re-install of f12? (BTW, X failed to start having done everything EXCEPT erase it. It gets to the initialization of NVIDIA graphics device PCI:1:0:0, and fails. That fail seems to ultimately result in not being able to find a usable screen.) Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11th February 2010, 09:40 PM
Dies Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,754
linuxubuntufirefox
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhimes View Post
Quick question please: I've renamed the nouveau driver, and did the dracut (I'm unclear about what this step actually does). I did NOT erase nouveau though. If I erase it, can I get it back without a re-install of f12? (BTW, X failed to start having done everything EXCEPT erase it. It gets to the initialization of NVIDIA graphics device PCI:1:0:0, and fails. That fail seems to ultimately result in not being able to find a usable screen.) Thank you.
You can uninstall/install/reinstall nouveau just like anything else, no need to reinstall the system.

Have you tried specifying video card memory on the kernel command line?

For example on Fedora I always have to add "vmalloc=256MB" to the kernel line in grub or I get the same error, you can try this first by editing the line from grub and seeing if it helps, then if it works add it to your grub.conf.


As far as what dracut does, a simplified version is that it just packs everything the kernel needs to boot the system into an archive so that the kernel can access it. I'm sure someone else can and will tell you how wrong I am and then proceed to give you every gory little detail about the Linux boot process...
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11th February 2010, 09:49 PM
dhimes Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Marblehead MA USA
Posts: 296
linuxfedorafirefox
Thanks, Dies. I was under the impression that vmalloc was only needed for 32 bit machines, but I would certainly consider it.

Last time when I erased nouveau, I was unable to find it to reinstall. I must have simply given up. It's in the fedora repo?

---------- Post added at 04:49 PM CST ---------- Previous post was at 04:44 PM CST ----------

FWIW, excerpts from dmesg after X's last failed start (renaming nouveau drivers, dracut -> .img, but NOT removing nouveau). 0:02 is Intel; 1:00 is NVidia:

Code:
---
vgaarb: device added: PCI:0000:00:02.0,decodes=io+mem,owns=io+mem,locks=none
vgaarb: device added: PCI:0000:01:00.0,decodes=io+mem,owns=none,locks=none
---
Disabling lock debugging due to kernel taint
nvidia 0000:01:00.0: enabling device (0000 -> 0003)
nvidia 0000:01:00.0: PCI INT A -> GSI 16 (level, low) -> IRQ 16
nvidia 0000:01:00.0: setting latency timer to 64
NVRM: loading NVIDIA UNIX x86_64 Kernel Module  190.53  Wed Dec  9 15:29:46 PST 2009
vgaarb: device changed decodes: PCI:0000:01:00.0,olddecodes=io+mem,decodes=none:owns=none
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11th February 2010, 09:50 PM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,292
linuxopera
Quote:
I was under the impression that vmalloc was only needed for 32 bit machines ...
No: only for 32-bit PAE kernel. Did you fix SELinux too, as per the guide ?
Quote:
Last time when I erased nouveau, I was unable to find it to reinstall. I must have simply given up. It's in the fedora repo?
??? Yes:
su
yum install[update|remove] xorg-x11-drv-nouveau


EDIT: re-install of nouveau would imply reversing the black-listing & initramfs "fixes".

V
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12th February 2010, 01:14 AM
dhimes Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Marblehead MA USA
Posts: 296
linuxfedorafirefox
Thanks- sorry for my delay. I don't have the PAE kernel, so I apparently don't need vmalloc. Yes I took care of selinux (as well as disabling it...)

---------- Post added at 07:21 PM CST ---------- Previous post was at 07:03 PM CST ----------

OK-- same Fail with guidelines followed and nouveau completely removed. The runlevel 3 screen is a lot dimmer now, too.

---------- Post added at 08:14 PM CST ---------- Previous post was at 07:21 PM CST ----------

According to the Xorg.0.log, the intel device is the primary device (00@00:02:0), and the NVidia device fails to initialize.

When I followed leigh's how-to, I substituted x86_64 for i686 in
Code:
xorg-x11-drv-nvidia-libs.i686
when doing
Code:
yum install akmod-nvidia xorg-x11-drv-nvidia-libs.i686
(I probably used yumex, if it was available.)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12th February 2010, 01:18 AM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,292
linuxopera
What NV chipset is that - I can't tell from your posts:
Code:
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation Device 0a74 (rev a2)
Code:
(--) PCI: (0:1:0:0) 10de:0a74:1043:1af2 nVidia Corporation rev 162, Mem @ 0xfd000000/16777216, 0xe0000000/268435456, 0xfa000000/33554432, I/O @ 0x0000dc00/128, BIOS @ 0x????????/524288
V

P.S. I have two NV chipsets on this PC (on-board and PCIe) and I had to set primary in BIOS.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12th February 2010, 01:25 AM
dhimes Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Marblehead MA USA
Posts: 296
linuxfedorafirefox
The NV chipset is GeForce G210M (512 MB). Presumably it's supported (http://us.download.nvidia.com/XFree8...ppendix-a.html device id 0x0a74).
I tried to set it in bios, but, for Pete's sake, I don't think my bios gives me the option. Surprised the heck out of me, frankly.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
card, kernel, video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
kernel-source RPM & video card Wangberg Hardware & Laptops 21 11th February 2007 03:20 PM
latest kernel breaks X for Radeon video card pjnewman Hardware & Laptops 6 5th July 2006 04:40 PM
a ? on SMP kernel vs UP kernel and ? on video card swap douce Using Fedora 2 18th June 2005 08:36 PM
Multiple Video Card issue - original video card not detected easethan Hardware & Laptops 6 11th June 2005 03:47 AM


Current GMT-time: 17:34 (Tuesday, 02-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat