Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 27th January 2010, 10:30 PM
James Board Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 280
linuxredhatfirefox
Can't Log in

I just installed Fedora 12 on a laptop. I changed the default shell on the root account to /bin/tcsh and changed the runlevel to 3 and then rebooted. Now I can't login into the root account: it returns me immediately to the login prompt and I can't see any error message (the screen is cleared).

Why is this happening?

Can I boot into some sort of safe mode so I can undo my changes to the /etc/inittab and /etc/passwd file?

I tried booting with a Live CD with the intention of mounting the filesystem and making the changes, but the new filesystem is a LVM and it won't let me mount it (or I don't know how to mount a Logical Volume).

What's going on?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 27th January 2010, 10:33 PM
Mordocai Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 25
windows_xp_2003firefox
Well, i'm not sure what's going on, but I do know how to enter a rescue mode.

When the grub boot menu comes up and starts counting down, hit a key and it will stop. Then, select the kernel you are trying to boot from(default one at the top is probably it) and hit 'e'. After this, look for a line that starts with kernel and hit tab(not sure about this one, might still be 'e', it'll say at the bottom of the screen) and add 'single' (without the quotes) to the end of the line. Then press 'b' to boot(or whatever the instructions say).

EDIT: Though, i think it will still follow the rules about the shell, so if that is the problem i think it still won't work.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th January 2010, 10:45 PM
James Board Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 280
linuxredhatfirefox
Thanks. That worked. The problem was that there's no /bin/tcsh. What's the story with that? How can ther ebe no C-shell?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th January 2010, 11:25 PM
Mordocai Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 25
windows_xp_2003firefox
Truthfully, i've always just used the default /bin/bash. You might try running yum install tcsh and make sure it is installed though...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
log

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Current GMT-time: 13:27 (Friday, 28-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Lindener Marktplatz Travel Photos - Sakura Kaiten Photos - Blue Leaf Silk Pavilion, Mckinley Hill Village, Fort Bonifacio Instagram Photos - Medina, Saudi Arabia