Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 8th January 2010, 07:16 PM
raji1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 18
linuxfedorafirefox
dual boot suse 11.2 f12 problem

hi. I got stuck 'loading stage 2' after installing suse 11.2
these are my partitions

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 1 192 1536000 27 Unknown
Partition 1 does not end on cylinder boundary.
/dev/sda2 192 23689 188743680 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda3 * 23689 23702 104422 83 Linux
/dev/sda4 23716 38913 122077935 5 Extended
/dev/sda5 23716 30090 51200000 8e Linux LVM
/dev/sda6 30091 30866 6233188+ 83 Linux
/dev/sda7 30867 33691 22691781 83 Linux

sda1 is recovery, sda2 preinstalled windows,
sda3 is fedora boot w/grub; i mount suse's boot there too but didn't install grub (again)
sda5 is fedora home(shared) swap(shared) and /
sda6 is suse installation
sda7 is suse 11.2 /

i installed suse from hd (sd6), i didn't install grub nor configured it any further. After reboot, all i get is "Loading stage2" infinite
i've tried super grub disk to recover the former grub, unsuccesfully, manually i've tried:

root (hd0,2)
#i also tried(hd0,6)
kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/hda7
and i get error 24

could you help me

this is my menu.lst as i left it

Quote:
# grub.conf generated by anaconda
#
# Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
# NOTICE: You have a /boot partition. This means that
# all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /boot/, eg.
# root (hd0,2)
# kernel /vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/mapper/vg_toshi-LogVol01
# initrd /initrd-[generic-]version.img
#boot=/dev/sda
default=0
timeout=7
splashimage=(hd0,2)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
hiddenmenu
title Fedora (2.6.31.9-174.fc12.x86_64)
root (hd0,2)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.31.9-174.fc12.x86_64 ro root=/dev/mapper/vg_toshi-LogVol01 noiswmd LANG=en_US.UTF-8 SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 KEYBOARDTYPE=pc KEYTABLE=la-latin1 rhgb quiet
initrd /initramfs-2.6.31.9-174.fc12.x86_64.img
title Fedora (2.6.31.5-127.fc12.x86_64)
root (hd0,2)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.31.5-127.fc12.x86_64 ro root=/dev/mapper/vg_toshi-LogVol01 noiswmd LANG=en_US.UTF-8 SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 KEYBOARDTYPE=pc KEYTABLE=la-latin1 rhgb quiet
initrd /initramfs-2.6.31.5-127.fc12.x86_64.img
title Vista
rootnoverify (hd0,1)
chainloader +1
title install suse
root (hd0,5)
kernel /suse/boot/x86_64/loader/linux root=/dev/hda6
initrd /suse/boot/x86_64/loader/initrd
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 9th January 2010, 12:42 AM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,867
linuxfedorafirefox
Can you boot Fedora? If so look in /suse/boot and sub-folders and see if there are any files there. Maybe the folders are empty since you didn't install Suse's boot loader.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Just a couple of old single core units
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / Kingston HyperX 3K SSD 240GB SATA 3.0 / 1TB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th January 2010, 01:27 AM
raji1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 18
linuxfedorafirefox
i can't boot fedora but i've have the fedora live cd, indeed suse/boot is empty
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 9th January 2010, 01:33 AM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,867
linuxfedorafirefox
I suggest finding out how to go about installing the Suse boot loader and use it to boot both Suse and Fedora or re-install Fedora's boot loader after you install the Suse boot loader. Either way, those folders should be populated with the proper files.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Just a couple of old single core units
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / Kingston HyperX 3K SSD 240GB SATA 3.0 / 1TB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 9th January 2010, 02:57 AM
davidgurvich Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 46
linuxfedorafirefox
Perhaps the suse CD shipped with a flaw. I recently tried a debian install CD that shipped with no kernel. The only way to install was to use an older version and update.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 9th January 2010, 04:13 AM
raji1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 18
linuxsusefirefox
thanks for the help
i solved reinstalling grub. just added the lines for suse and all was fine.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
112, boot, dual, f12, problem, suse

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual Boot With Open Suse 10 ronbrun Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 4 21st August 2007 08:48 PM
FC 4 and Suse 9.2 dual boot tunin Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 5 28th August 2005 11:11 PM
Dual boot fedora 3 and Suse 9.2? Doug.Gentry Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 25th January 2005 06:37 PM
suse and fedora = dual boot vanyans Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 6 26th November 2004 01:49 AM


Current GMT-time: 08:31 (Monday, 22-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
...Dunkin' Donuts Photos - Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoolam International Airport Photos