Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 30th December 2009, 03:07 PM
Jamwa Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Nairobi Kenya
Posts: 558
linuxfedorafirefox
Amarok not playing after yum update

I have a problem with Amarok. I did a yum update today (which completed ok) but now I cannot play music from Amarok. Rather, it appears as if it is playing but no sound is coming out of the speakers. Other players (xmms, mplayer, xine) are all working fine.

A quick note is that on starting up, there is a message that "Phonon: KDE's multimedia library The audio playback device PulseAudio sound server does not work. falling back to."

A google search shows that I may need to configure amarok to output sound using something like Alsa. Which is fine, I have alsa installed:

Code:
[arthur@platypus ~]$ rpm -qa | grep alsa
alsa-plugins-pulseaudio-1.0.21-2.fc12.i686
alsa-lib-1.0.21-3.fc12.i686
bluez-alsa-4.58-1.fc12.i686
alsa-utils-1.0.21-2.fc12.i686
[arthur@platypus ~]$
but Amarok only displays pulse audio as the only output device! Whats going on please? Am on Fedora 12, Amarok 2.2.1 with xine backend.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30th December 2009, 03:32 PM
~frank Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 63
linuxfedorafirefox
Almost the same issue

I had to run an "alsactl restore" (or you could probably run alsamixer), then my Amarok sound came back. But for me, nothing else is playing, and if I go to System Settings -> Multimedia, I now only see PulseAudio - all the other entries (like the one for my soundcard, "Default", and some others) has disappeared.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30th December 2009, 06:26 PM
Jamwa Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Nairobi Kenya
Posts: 558
linuxfedorafirefox
"alsactl restore" does not do anything for me. Yes, in system settings, all the others have vanished for me too. Only PulseAudio remains

---------- Post added at 10:26 AM CST ---------- Previous post was at 07:48 AM CST ----------

"yum remove pulseaudio" has solved this issue. Reboot afterwards.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amarok, playing, update, yum

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
amarok mp3 playing problem Yentor Using Fedora 7 5th August 2009 08:18 PM
Amarok on Fedora 10 not playing any song manuleka Using Fedora 6 26th May 2009 02:27 PM
problem with amarok playing mp3 mohan.10 Using Fedora 4 8th October 2008 09:48 PM
kaffeine, amarok not playing in FC8 shreedhan Using Fedora 5 30th November 2007 04:25 PM
Finally made some headway... Now how about playing AVI in AmaroK?? Anyone? shawnrgr Using Fedora 1 11th April 2006 07:10 PM


Current GMT-time: 01:55 (Saturday, 20-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat