Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 17th December 2009, 11:13 PM
Piscium Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin,Ireland
Posts: 108
linuxfedorafirefox
rawhide packages but rawhide repo not enabled

Hiya,

I have been playing with Fedora for about a week and half. I installed Fedora 12 from a live CD that I created with the ISO I downloaded.

Since installing it I have enabled RPM Fusion for codecs, also installed a couple of rpms from ATRPMS by temporarily enabling it.

What puzzles me is that I have a large number of packages that yum tells me came from rawhide, yet I never enabled rawhide.

Any ideas?

You will see below my list of repos. I am attaching the full list of packages installed. Hope someone can explain this!

Thanks.

--------------


[root@dell-d3000 ~]# yum repolist
Loaded plugins: presto, refresh-packagekit
repo id repo name status
fedora Fedora 12 - i386 enabled: 15,366
rpmfusion-free RPM Fusion for Fedora 12 - Free enabled: 383
rpmfusion-free-updates RPM Fusion for Fedora 12 - Free - Updates enabled: 178
rpmfusion-nonfree RPM Fusion for Fedora 12 - Nonfree enabled: 124
rpmfusion-nonfree-updates RPM Fusion for Fedora 12 - Nonfree - Updates enabled: 97
updates Fedora 12 - i386 - Updates enabled: 2,223
Attached Files
File Type: txt repos.txt (105.4 KB, 162 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 17th December 2009, 11:41 PM
Demz
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
windows_7firefox
well do this rpm -qa|grep fc13 an then do a

rpm -qa|grep fc12 does it find any fc13 rpm's?

another possibility is that it didnt install the final fc12 release rpm
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th December 2009, 12:02 AM
Piscium Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin,Ireland
Posts: 108
linuxfedorafirefox
Thanks, Demz, that is interesting.

So the packages that yum tells me come from rawhide all have ".fc12" at the end of the name. So it could be that they are really from F12.

The question is then, why is yum confused?

Perhaps you are on the right track. When installing Fedora I said I did not want to install Grub. The reason is that I wanted to boot from the Ubuntu partition where I have Grub2 that I built myself.

You said "another possibility is that it didnt install the final fc12 release rpm". That is perhaps an explanation. Maybe something did not get installed because I did not install Grub.

Do you know what is the name of this rpm that you refer to as "final fc12 release rpm"? Do you think if I install it that will fix the yum issue?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18th December 2009, 12:37 AM
Demz
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
windows_7firefox
it should be somehting like this fedora-release-12-2.noarch.rpm or this one fedora-release-12-1.noarch.rpm the fact your using Ubuntu's Grub shouldnt effect the problem you have. you might wanna grep those rpm's. also do a check to see if you have this rpm fedora-release-notes-12.0.0-4.fc12.noarch.rpm

also have you done a yum update ?

---------- Post added at 11:37 AM CST ---------- Previous post was at 11:29 AM CST ----------

if you have those well then im confused is to why yum is confused

Last edited by Demz; 18th December 2009 at 12:34 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18th December 2009, 12:55 AM
PabloTwo Online
"Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Seville, FL
Posts: 6,190
linuxfedorafirefox
I think what yum is doing is tagging any package that came out of an *-updates-testing repo as @rawhide.
I saw this on all the kmod-nvidia packages after I installed from the rpmfusion-nonfree-updates-testing repo. That was just before they pushed all those kmods into the regular *-updates repo. Now ,after a couple of kernel and kmod-nivida updates, they are all tagged normally, as coming from rpmfusion-nonfree-updates repo.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18th December 2009, 01:02 AM
Piscium Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin,Ireland
Posts: 108
linuxfedorafirefox
Hi Demz,

What I meant is that perhaps Anaconda got confused because I chose not to install Grub and as a consequence some needed package did not get installed. Just speculation.

Yes, I have done yum update many times, also updated via PackageKit and Yum Extender.

I checked and have the packages you mention installed as you can see in the list below.

----------------------

[root@dell-d3000 ~]# yum list fedora*
Loaded plugins: presto, refresh-packagekit
Installed Packages
fedora-bookmarks.noarch 11-2 @rawhide
fedora-gnome-theme.noarch 12.3-2.fc12 @rawhide
fedora-icon-theme.noarch 1.0.0-6.fc12 @rawhide
fedora-logos.noarch 12.0.3-2.fc12 @rawhide
fedora-release.noarch 12-2 @updates
fedora-release-notes.noarch 12.0.2-1.fc12 @updates
fedora-screensaver-theme.noarch 1.0.0-5.fc12 @rawhide
fedora-setup-keyboard.i686 0.4-3.fc12 @rawhide
fedorainfinity-screensaver-theme.noarch 1.0.0-3.fc12 @rawhide
Available Packages
fedora-accessibility-guide-en-US.noarch 12.0-1.fc12 updates
fedora-business-cards.noarch 0.2.4.2-3.fc12 fedora
fedora-devshell.noarch 0.1.1-3.fc12 fedora
fedora-gnat-project-common.noarch 1.2-1.fc12 fedora
fedora-idm-console.i686 1.1.3-2.fc12 fedora
fedora-kickstarts.noarch 0.12.1-1.fc12 updates
fedora-ksplice.i686 0.5-7.fc12 fedora
fedora-package-config-apt.noarch 12-6 updates
fedora-package-config-smart.i686 12-20 updates
fedora-packager.noarch 0.3.8-1.fc12 fedora
fedora-security-guide-en-US.noarch 1.0-19.fc12 updates
fedora-usermgmt.noarch 0.10-1200.fc12 updates
fedora-usermgmt-core.noarch 0.10-1200.fc12 updates
fedora-usermgmt-default-fedora-setup.noarch 0.10-1200.fc12 updates
fedora-usermgmt-devel.noarch 0.10-1200.fc12 updates
fedora-usermgmt-shadow-utils.noarch 0.10-1200.fc12 updates
fedorabubbles-gdm-theme.noarch 1.0.0-3.fc12 fedora
fedoradna-gdm-theme.noarch 1.0.0-3.fc12 fedora
fedoraflyinghigh-gdm-theme.noarch 1.0.0-3.fc12 fedora
fedorainfinity-backgrounds.noarch 0.0.5-3.fc12 fedora
fedorainfinity-gdm-theme.noarch 8.0.1-3.fc12 fedora
fedorawaves-kdm-theme.noarch 1.1-4.fc12 fedora
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18th December 2009, 01:05 AM
Demz
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
windows_7firefox
have you tried a yum clean all? why its still says rawhide i do not know?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18th December 2009, 01:24 AM
Piscium Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin,Ireland
Posts: 108
linuxfedorafirefox
Just did "yum clean all", followed by "yum list installed". No effect, unfortunately.

---------- Post added at 01:24 AM CST ---------- Previous post was at 01:21 AM CST ----------

Hi Pablo,

I never had the rpmfusion-nonfree-updates-testing enabled.
Only have:
rpmfusion-free, rpmfusion-free-updates
rpmfusion-nonfree, rpmfusion-nonfree-updates.

Did you run some command in order for the tags to return to normal, or did it happen by itself?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18th December 2009, 01:41 AM
dd_wizard Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,439
linuxfedorafirefox
I started with F12 alpha, so I'm not surprised at this:
Code:
[gene@Mobile-PC ~]$ yum list installed | grep rawhide | wc -l
294
Most of the 294 packages came from Fedora, but some are from RPM Fusion as well. Non-rawhide package count:
Code:
[gene@Mobile-PC ~]$ yum list installed | grep -v rawhide | wc -l
1876
As long as none of the packages from rawhide are F13, you should be ok. Since you installed after F12 went gold, I'm surprised you have F12 updates from rawhide.

dd_wizard
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 18th December 2009, 01:50 AM
Piscium Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin,Ireland
Posts: 108
linuxfedorafirefox
Well, I have 788 rawhide packages.

OK, maybe I will stop worrying about it. And now is time to go to bed. Thanks everybody.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
enabled, packages, rawhide, repo

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rawhide today's repo rpms unsigned, nokey SlowJet Alpha, Beta & Snapshots Discussions (Fedora 11 Only) 5 7th May 2009 07:59 AM
Delta RPMs (Presto) is enabled for Rawhide RahulSundaram Alpha, Beta & Snapshots Discussions (Fedora 11 Only) 18 25th April 2009 07:28 AM
Presto enabled by rawhide - x86 only now. other archs will follow RahulSundaram Alpha, Beta & Snapshots Discussions (Fedora 11 Only) 4 24th April 2009 08:08 AM
rawhide repo broken today? stefan1975 Alpha, Beta & Snapshots Discussions (Fedora 11 Only) 8 19th April 2009 02:17 AM
Is the kernel 2.6.27.3 in rawhide repo GEM enabled TheIcebreaker Alpha, Beta & Snapshots Discussions (Fedora 10 Only) 2 26th October 2008 01:07 PM


Current GMT-time: 17:30 (Thursday, 30-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Shcherbinka Photos on Instagram - Bingerville Travel Photos - Jacmel