Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora 19/20 > Using Fedora
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Using Fedora General support for current versions. Ask questions about Fedora and it's software that do not belong in any other forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 16th December 2009, 07:51 PM
Vector Offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Transgression
Age: 34
Posts: 1,183
linuxfedorafirefox
Question MPlayer was compiled without libfaac. See README or DOCS

Code:
[root@hate ~]# yum provides "*libfaac*"
Loaded plugins: presto, refresh-packagekit
adobe-linux-i386/filelists                               | 140 kB     00:01     
updates/filelists_db                                     | 3.6 MB     00:21     

faac-1.28-2.fc12.x86_64 : Encoder and encoding library for MPEG2/4 AAC
Repo        : installed
Matched from:
Other       : libfaac.so.0()(64bit)
Filename    : /usr/lib64/libfaac.so.0
Filename    : /usr/share/doc/faac-1.28/libfaac.pdf
Filename    : /usr/share/doc/faac-1.28/libfaac.html
Filename    : /usr/lib64/libfaac.so.0.0.0



faac-devel-1.28-2.fc12.x86_64 : Development libraries of the FAAC AAC encoder
Repo        : installed
Matched from:
Filename    : /usr/lib64/libfaac.so
This did not work:
Code:
yum reinstall mplayer mencoder
Neither did this:
Code:
yum remove mplayer mencoder
yum -y install mplayer mplayer-gui mencoder
Any ideas how to get around this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 17th December 2009, 12:56 AM
PabloTwo Offline
"Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Seville, FL
Posts: 6,054
linuxfedorafirefox
faac is the AAC encoder. Did you also install the AAC decoder? faad2 ? To playback AAC files you need the decoder.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17th December 2009, 12:58 AM
Vector Offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Transgression
Age: 34
Posts: 1,183
linuxfedorafirefox
Yeah, i have faad, faac, faad2, etc all installed, and most all multimedia codecs in general, as i do a lot of transcoding...

Thanx.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17th December 2009, 03:34 AM
SuperNu Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 617
linuxfedorafirefox
In order to get around mplayer not being compiled with faac, you will need to recompile the src.rpm. According to this email (regarding ffmepg but would cover all multimedia software) the faac license is not gpl compliant. Therefore, they cannot compile any software which links to faac without disabling gpl portions.

--SN
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17th December 2009, 03:44 AM
Vector Offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Transgression
Age: 34
Posts: 1,183
linuxfedorafirefox
Wow, that sucks. Well, thanks for the info; i guess i have to get around to doing it. I just wonder what the faac license IS then.........

Thanx
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17th December 2009, 05:07 AM
SuperNu Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 617
linuxfedorafirefox
According to this, the faac license can be found in the README file which should be located in /usr/share/doc/faac-1.28/.

I understand your frustration as well. There are many packages that I use which use faac or lame and I need to constantly recompile from the src.rpm. I guess it gives my cpu something to do instead of idle.

--SN
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 5th January 2010, 05:19 AM
Vector Offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Transgression
Age: 34
Posts: 1,183
linuxfedorafirefox
Ok, now for the million dollar question:

How do i recompile mplayer from src.rpm to include the rpms that i have to faac and faad? I know how to "compile", in general, but i'm sure that this is going to be different since i have faad and faac rpms installed, and i've never compiled from a source rpm before (i don't know what to do with them).
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 5th January 2010, 05:43 AM
SuperNu Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 617
linuxfedorafirefox
First, be sure faac-devel and faad-devel are installed. Next, from the command line, run rpmbuild --rebuild --with faac mplayer-1.0-0.111.20091029svn.fc12.src.rpm (or whatever the .src.rpm is named).

--SN
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 5th January 2010, 05:55 AM
Vector Offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Transgression
Age: 34
Posts: 1,183
linuxfedorafirefox
Great! Thanks for the help; i didn't really want to learn ffmpeg's commands when i already know mencoder so well

---------- Post added at 12:55 AM CST ---------- Previous post was at 12:47 AM CST ----------

Code:
[root@hate ~]# rpmbuild --rebuild --with faac mplayer-1.0-0.111.20091029svn.fc12.src.rpm
error: cannot open mplayer-1.0-0.111.20091029svn.fc12.src.rpm: No such file or directory

[root@hate ~]# yum install  mplayer-1.0-0.111.20091029svn.fc12.src.rpm
No package mplayer-1.0-0.111.20091029svn.fc12.src.rpm available.

[root@hate ~]# yum list  mplayer*.src.rpm --enablerepo=*
Error: No matching Packages to list
[root@hate ~]#
I'm still new, so uhhh, how do i FIND the src.rpm?
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 5th January 2010, 02:18 PM
PabloTwo Offline
"Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Seville, FL
Posts: 6,054
linuxfedorafirefox
Code:
# yum install rpm-build rpmdevtools redhat-rpm-config
Code:
$ yumdownloader --source mplayer
As a regular user, in your regular user home directory, do:
Code:
$ rpmdev-setuptree
$ rpmbuild --rebuild --with faac mplayer-1.0-0.111.20091029svn.fc12.src.rpm
Of course, if the .src.rpm file isn't in the directory that you issue the rpmbuild command from, include the full path to it.

If it builds, you'll find the new mplayer rpm in ~/rpmbuild/RPMS/i686/. Chances are fairly high, however, that you'll still be missing a few *-devel rpm packages that you'll have to install before it will succeed.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 6th January 2010, 02:40 AM
Vector Offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Transgression
Age: 34
Posts: 1,183
linuxfedorafirefox
Thanks man, i got most of the way through this, but i keep getting stuck on an error:
Code:
[Vector@hate Desktop]$ rpmbuild --rebuild --with faac mplayer-1.0-0.111.20091029svn.fc12.src.rpm
....
warning: user mockbuild does not exist - using root
warning: group mockbuild does not exist - using root
error: line 37: Unknown tag:  BuildRequires:  faac-devel
[Vector@hate Desktop]$
But i DO have faac-devel install, as well as faad-devel and faac2-devel....
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 6th January 2010, 03:48 AM
PabloTwo Offline
"Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Seville, FL
Posts: 6,054
linuxfedorafirefox
That should probably be "--with-faac" instead of "--with faac". Try that and see if it flies any better. I just did a copy and paste from SuperNu's post with his command line for the mplayer rebuild and didn't catch that.

---------- Post added at 10:48 PM CST ---------- Previous post was at 10:33 PM CST ----------

Maybe also look at the output of, and maybe post it here, of:
Code:
cat ~/rpmbuild/SPECS/mplayer*spec | grep BuildRequires

Last edited by PabloTwo; 6th January 2010 at 03:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 6th January 2010, 04:22 AM
Vector Offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Transgression
Age: 34
Posts: 1,183
linuxfedorafirefox
Code:
[Vector@hate Desktop]$ rpmbuild --rebuild --with-faac mplayer-1.0-0.111.20091029svn.fc12.src.rpm
--with-faac: unknown option
[Vector@hate Desktop]$ rpmbuild --rebuild --with=faac mplayer-1.0-0.111.20091029svn.fc12.src.rpm
--with=faac: unknown option
[Vector@hate Desktop]$ 
[Vector@hate Desktop]$ cat ~/rpmbuild/SPECS/mplayer*spec | grep BuildRequires
BuildRequires:  SDL-devel
BuildRequires:  a52dec-devel
BuildRequires:  aalib-devel
BuildRequires:  alsa-lib-devel
BuildRequires:  cdparanoia-devel
BuildRequires:  desktop-file-utils
BuildRequires:  em8300-devel
BuildRequires:  enca-devel
%{?_with_faac: BuildRequires:  faac-devel}
BuildRequires:  faad2-devel >= %{faad2min}
BuildRequires:  fontconfig-devel
BuildRequires:  freetype-devel >= 2.0.9
BuildRequires:  fribidi-devel
BuildRequires:  giflib-devel
BuildRequires:  gtk2-devel
BuildRequires:  ladspa-devel
BuildRequires:  lame-devel
BuildRequires:  libGL-devel
BuildRequires:  libXinerama-devel
BuildRequires:  libXScrnSaver-devel
BuildRequires:  libXv-devel
BuildRequires:  libXvMC-devel
BuildRequires:  libXxf86dga-devel
BuildRequires:  libXxf86vm-devel
BuildRequires:  libcaca-devel
BuildRequires:  libdca-devel
BuildRequires:  libdv-devel
BuildRequires:  libdvdnav-devel >= 4.1.3-1
BuildRequires:  libjpeg-devel
BuildRequires:  libmpcdec-devel
BuildRequires:  libtheora-devel
BuildRequires:  libvdpau-devel
BuildRequires:  libvorbis-devel
BuildRequires:  lirc-devel
BuildRequires:  live555-devel
BuildRequires:  lzo-devel >= 2
BuildRequires:  pulseaudio-lib-devel
BuildRequires:  schroedinger-devel
BuildRequires:  speex-devel >= 1.1
BuildRequires:  twolame-devel
BuildRequires:  x264-devel >= 0.0.0-0.26.20091026
BuildRequires:  xvidcore-devel >= 0.9.2
BuildRequires:  yasm
%{?_with_arts:BuildRequires: arts-devel}
%{!?_without_amr:BuildRequires: opencore-amr-devel}
%{?_with_directfb:BuildRequires: directfb-devel}
%{?_with_esound:BuildRequires: esound-devel}
%{?_with_jack:BuildRequires: jack-audio-connection-kit-devel}
%{?_with_libmad:BuildRequires:  libmad-devel}
%{?_with_nemesi:BuildRequires:  libnemesi-devel >= 0.6.3}
%{?_with_openal:BuildRequires: openal-devel}
%{?_with_samba:BuildRequires: libsmbclient-devel}
%{?_with_svgalib:BuildRequires: svgalib-devel}
%{?_with_xmms:BuildRequires: xmms-devel}
BuildRequires:  docbook-dtds
BuildRequires:  docbook-style-xsl
BuildRequires:  libxml2
BuildRequires:  libxslt
[Vector@hate Desktop]$
Ha, i think that i'll just sit down for a day and read ffmpeg's manual again, and drop mencoder. Thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 6th January 2010, 02:29 PM
PabloTwo Offline
"Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Seville, FL
Posts: 6,054
linuxfedorafirefox
Well, it appears that "--with faac" was the correct syntax, as that didn't throw off any error when you used it the first time around. I would have to look over the whole mplayer spec file to understand

%{?_with_faac: BuildRequires: faac-devel}

And even then, I'm not sure I would as that is a bit unfamiliar to me. That line might be inside a 'conditional' statement. I'd suggest having a good read of the mentioned README and/or DOC file. You might get a better explanation of what needs to be done. You could find those files either from your current installed mplayer or in ~/rpmbuild/BUILD/mplayer*/somewhere
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 5th February 2010, 03:45 PM
phil4v7 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1
linuxfedorafirefox
I know this is a little old, but I ran into the same problem rebuilding with faac and I think I found the problem. I wanted to post in case anyone else ran into the same problem. Apparently, whoever made the faac support conditional in the spec file added an extra space which causes the error you listed above. For me, replacing:

%{?_with_faac: BuildRequires: faac-devel}
%{?_with_faac:BuildRequires: faac-devel}

in the spec file got it working again. Of course I don't know how to replace the spec file in the actual source rpm, so I had to edit it in my rpmbuild tree and then rebuild with "rpmbuild -ba --with faac SPECS/mplayer.spec" from there instead. Such a simple thing as a misplaced space to cause me such frustration.

Edit: Apparently, I could have just used -bs with rpmbuild to get the source package. Learn something new every day when you read the man pages...

Last edited by phil4v7; 5th February 2010 at 03:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
compiled, docs, libfaac, mplayer, readme

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Enabling libfaac in ffmpeg djbushido Using Fedora 9 27th November 2009 08:31 PM
unable to yum libfaac samfraser Using Fedora 3 23rd September 2009 02:27 PM
MPlayer was compiled without libmp3lame support -- crap Vector Using Fedora 0 31st August 2009 06:37 AM
Clicking on Home, Docs, Video or Pics folder opens MPlayer BlownCPU Using Fedora 6 9th October 2008 09:28 PM
libfaac? frharris27 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 8th May 2006 04:04 AM


Current GMT-time: 14:15 (Thursday, 24-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat