Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 12th October 2004, 02:49 AM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Newbie: Help with configuring Wifi Nic Card..I think?

Brand new to linux so I am quite dense with most of this. Installed about a week ago, went through the dual boot woes, Nvidia drivers, Firefox and an HP printer,however.....
I have a Dlink DWL-G520 Wirless Nic installed that I cannot seem to configure through the system-config-network as the Hardware is not there to select from?
I followed the forum "how to's" for Madwifi, however I must have missed something.

AFIK the hardware /driver is installed, as indicated in the Hardware browser, but I cannot select it when I try to configure the network as it is not one of the cards listed.

System Tools> Hardware Browser> Network Devices
AR5212 802.11abg NIC
Manufacturer: Atheros Communications, Inc
Driver: ath_pci
Device: /dev/eth1

The Netgear FA311 ethernet card is /dev/eth0

Included is the following info if that helps.

# /sbin/ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:40:F4:60:2D:70
inet addr:192.168.0.103 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::240:f4ff:fe60:2d70/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:2256 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:1175 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:1225108 (1.1 Mb) TX bytes:279618 (273.0 Kb)
Interrupt:10 Base address:0x2000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:4673 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:4673 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:3518478 (3.3 Mb) TX bytes:3518478 (3.3 Mb)

# /sbin/iwconfig
lo no wireless extensions.

sit0 no wireless extensions.

eth0 no wireless extensions.

# /sbin/lspci -v
02:03.0 Ethernet controller: National Semiconductor Corporation DP83815 (MacPhyter) Ethernet Controller
Subsystem: Netgear FA311 / FA312 (FA311 with WoL HW)
Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 32, IRQ 10
I/O ports at 9000
Memory at e3011000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=4K]
Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 2

02:04.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications, Inc. AR5212 802.11abg NIC (rev 01)
Subsystem: D-Link System Inc DWL-G520 Wireless PCI Adapter
Flags: medium devsel, IRQ 5
Memory at e3000000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable)
Capabilities: [44] Power Management version 2

The contents of my ifcg-ath0

# AR5212 802.11abg NIC
STARTMODE=hotplug
ONBOOT=yes
DEVICE=ath0
BOOTPROTO=dhcp
WIRELES=yes
MODE=Auto
ESSID=Albert
CHANNEL=6
IPADDR=192.168.0.1
GATEWAY=192.168.0.1
KEY=


The Boot Log has the following entry as well:

Oct 11 20:33:48 localhost ifup: done.
Oct 11 20:33:48 localhost ifup: localhost
Oct 11 20:33:48 localhost network: Bringing up interface eth0: succeeded
Oct 11 20:33:48 localhost network: Bringing up interface eth1: succeeded

Fedora 2.6.8-1.521
Gnome Desktop
Dual boot with XP

I appreciate any suggestions or help of any kind.

Thanks

Seve

Last edited by Seve; 12th October 2004 at 03:58 AM. Reason: From Boot Log
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12th October 2004, 03:58 AM
james_in_denver Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,227
What is the module name for your wireless adaptor???..

Did you add an alias in your /etc/modules.conf and /etc/modprobe.conf files????...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12th October 2004, 04:02 AM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Quote:
Originally Posted by james_in_denver
What is the module name for your wireless adaptor???..

Did you add an alias in your /etc/modules.conf and /etc/modprobe.conf files????...
What is the module name for your wireless adaptor???..

I not sure what it is, how do I find out?

Did you add an alias in your /etc/modules.conf and /etc/modprobe.conf files????...


No I did not add an alias. Was I supposed too?

Thanks for your patience

Seve
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12th October 2004, 04:07 AM
superbnerd
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
You siad you followed the madwifi howto, did you use the rpm or source method? Please post your /etc/modprobe.conf and /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12th October 2004, 04:16 AM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Quote:
Originally Posted by superbnerd
You siad you followed the madwifi howto, did you use the rpm or source method? Please post your /etc/modprobe.conf and /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth1
Hi thanks for responding supernerd... I used the source method.

Contents of:
/etc/modprobe.conf

alias snd-card-0 snd-intel8x0
install snd-intel8x0 /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd-intel8x0 && /usr/sbin/alsactl restore >/dev/null 2>&1 || :
remove snd-intel8x0 { /usr/sbin/alsactl store >/dev/null 2>&1 || : ; }; /sbin/modprobe -r --ignore-remove snd-intel8x0
alias usb-controller ehci-hcd
alias usb-controller1 ohci-hcd
alias usb-controller2 uhci-hcd
alias char-major-195* nvidia
alias char-major-195* nvidia
alias char-major-195* nvidia
alias char-major-195* nvidia
alias char-major-195* nvidia
alias char-major-195* nvidia
alias char-major-195* nvidia
alias char-major-195* nvidia
alias char-major-195* nvidia
alias char-major-195* nvidia
alias char-major-195* nvidia
alias eth0 natsemi
alias char-major-195* nvidia
alias char-major-195* nvidia
alias char-major-195* nvidia
options nvidia NVreg_EnableAGPSBA=1 NVreg_EnableAGPFW=1
alias char-major-195* nvidia
Contents of:
/etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth1

# AR5212 802.11abg NIC
STARTMODE=hotplug
ONBOOT=yes
DEVICE=ath0
BOOTPROTO=dhcp
WIRELES=yes
MODE=Auto
ESSID=Albert
CHANNEL=6
IPADDR=192.168.0.1
GATEWAY=192.168.0.1
KEY


Seve
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12th October 2004, 04:31 AM
superbnerd
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
First off, the device is not eth1, but ath0. In your modprobe.conf, add this line
Code:
alias ath0 ath_pci
and make a new file called ifcfg-ath0 in the same directory as your ifcfg-eth1 with the following content
Code:
STARTMODE=hotplug
DEVICE=ath0
BOOTPROTO=dhcp
HWADDR=
ONBOOT=yes
TYPE=Wireless
NETMASK=255.255.255.0
DHCP_HOSTNAME=
#IPADDR=192.168.0.1
DOMAIN=
USERCTL=yes
PEERDNS=yes
GATEWAY=192.168.0.1
IPV6INIT=no
ESSID=Albert
CHANNEL=6
MODE=Managed
RATE=Auto
Then do a
Code:
/sbin/ifup ath0
and check if it is functioning
Code:
/sbin/iwconfig
In any case, once you have the modprobe.conf and ifcfg-ath0 setup you should be able to use the gui, system-config-network (Main Menu > System Settings > Network) to configure it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12th October 2004, 04:51 AM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Quote:
Originally Posted by superbnerd
First off, the device is not eth1, but ath0. In your modprobe.conf, add this line
Code:
alias ath0 ath_pci
and make a new file called ifcfg-ath0 in the same directory as your ifcfg-eth1 with the following content
Code:
STARTMODE=hotplug
DEVICE=ath0
BOOTPROTO=dhcp
HWADDR=
ONBOOT=yes
TYPE=Wireless
NETMASK=255.255.255.0
DHCP_HOSTNAME=
#IPADDR=192.168.0.1
DOMAIN=
USERCTL=yes
PEERDNS=yes
GATEWAY=192.168.0.1
IPV6INIT=no
ESSID=Albert
CHANNEL=6
MODE=Managed
RATE=Auto
Then do a
Code:
/sbin/ifup ath0
and check if it is functioning
Code:
/sbin/iwconfig
In any case, once you have the modprobe.conf and ifcfg-ath0 setup you should be able to use the gui, system-config-network (Main Menu > System Settings > Network) to configure it.
Thanks very much for your help superbnerd, as I mentioned at the outset I was dense.

I did all the steps you instructed and here is the output from /sbin/iwconfig

lo no wireless extensions.

sit0 no wireless extensions.

eth0 no wireless extensions.

ath0 IEEE 802.11g ESSID:"Albert" Nickname:"localhost"
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.437GHz Access Point: 00:0F:3D:3F:14:20
Bit Rate:36Mb/s Tx-Power:50 dBm Sensitivity=0/3
Retry:off RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:off
Power Management:off
Link Quality:52/94 Signal level:-43 dBm Noise level:-95 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

I feel like a complete person again...well almost.

You folks are the greatest. I want to thank you for your help it is really appreciated.

Seve
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 14th October 2004, 05:38 AM
leaded Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 373
I just got my same card working using MadWifi.

For those getting stumped, or want some help, check out
http://madwifiwiki.thewebhost.de/wik...ndDLinkDWLG520

It's tailored for Mandrake, but with some replacement of commands (yum instead of uprmi) it can be of some help.

Last edited by leaded; 14th October 2004 at 09:00 PM. Reason: Added link
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 16th October 2004, 04:17 AM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Yes its nice to have it finally working as well. I am learning as I go, which is slow and painful at times but its's runnin.

Good link BTW

Seve
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cardi, configuring, newbie, nic, wifi

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
newbie:configuring nic chintanraoh Servers & Networking 16 23rd August 2007 03:04 PM
Cannot get PCMCIA (atheros) wifi card to work - Another Newbie thievesbane Hardware & Laptops 1 24th August 2006 01:20 PM
Newbie help with configuring TruBlueEQ Hardware & Laptops 2 24th September 2005 03:09 AM


Current GMT-time: 04:02 (Wednesday, 01-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat