Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 19th November 2009, 10:18 PM
valente.ro Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Romania - Europe
Posts: 38
linuxfedorafirefox
Thumbs up Fedora 12, Huawei E220 problems

There are some problems with the 3G modem from Huawei (mine is an E220 modem) on Fedora 12 with 2.6.31.5-127 kernel.
First the modem is not mounted, I've got:

Error mounting: mount: /dev/sr1 is not a valid block device

...or errors like this one.
I've done some research on the web and I found the solution, which works :

sudo rmmod usb-storage
sudo modprobe usbserial vendor=0x12d1 product=0x1003


where "0x12d1" = Huawei; and "0x1003" is my E220. You can get these from dmesg, look for lines like:

usb 4-2: new full speed USB device using uhci_hcd and address 5
usb 4-2: New USB device found, idVendor=12d1, idProduct=1003
usb 4-2: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=0
usb 4-2: Product: HUAWEI Mobile
usb 4-2: Manufacturer: HUAWEI Technologies


Now, try reconnecting, if it still does not work then you might not have the DNS configured, so do this:

sudo echo "usepeerdns" >> /etc/ppp/options

(meaning that you have to add "usepeerdns" in the "/etc/ppp/options", this might be skipped).
and reconnect, again.

Cheers to all FEDORA users !
__________________
Fedora, the Linux I like ;)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19th November 2009, 10:36 PM
ozjd Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Age: 59
Posts: 2,387
linuxfedorafirefox
I'm surprised you need to do this as my E169 just works. It has for a number of versions now. I plug it in and NetworkManager recognises it and I can connect.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19th November 2009, 10:39 PM
valente.ro Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Romania - Europe
Posts: 38
linuxfedorafirefox
Your device differs from mine in the way that the kernel detects it as a different type of SCSI and the emulation is done....somehow different.

Edit: read with more patience: ".....on Fedora 12 with 2.6.31.5-127 kernel......"

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozjd View Post
I'm surprised you need to do this as my E169 just works. It has for a number of versions now. I plug it in and NetworkManager recognises it and I can connect.
__________________
Fedora, the Linux I like ;)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23rd November 2009, 11:19 PM
robledo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Madrid, Spain
Age: 46
Posts: 16
linuxfedorafirefox
Hello Valente.ro

have a look at my recent post, where i describe my connection with my own huawei e220 with f12, 32-bit - I assume its the same kernel version as the one you are using.

http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...10#post1295210

I should mention that the firmware on my e220 was upgraded using the latest version, and a win xp machine to do it. the firmware version was necessary in order to make it work with Vista and Win 7.

You can download the latest firmware from:

http://www.movistar.es/media/descarg...huaweie220.rar
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24th November 2009, 10:45 AM
valente.ro Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Romania - Europe
Posts: 38
linuxfedorafirefox
Hi and thank you, but you got the issue wrong: is not a configuration problem but a kernel thing!
The problem is due to a bug in the kernel version I've mentioned, I know very well how to configure this 3G modem both on any Linux machine and on Windows.
By the way on my Windows Vista / 7 / XP I did not have any issues ever ! Strange that you had.
__________________
Fedora, the Linux I like ;)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24th November 2009, 10:55 AM
robledo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Madrid, Spain
Age: 46
Posts: 16
windows_7ie
Hi there, my Huawei e220 is about 2-3 years old (first batch sold retail), so the firmware had to be updated to work with vista and 7.

The problem in F12 with the Huawei E220, of being unable to reconnect without unplugging and re-plugging the usb-modem, has been replicated on my machine with F12 with the ZTE MF626 modem as well. I saw in another one of your posts that this fix should be expected, at some point, in the updates - correct?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24th November 2009, 10:59 AM
valente.ro Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Romania - Europe
Posts: 38
linuxfedorafirefox
read my previous comment !!!!
__________________
Fedora, the Linux I like ;)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24th November 2009, 11:21 AM
robledo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Madrid, Spain
Age: 46
Posts: 16
windows_7ie
Hi valente.ro

I will, thanks. I'm not sure if my lack of expertise in F12 is upsetting you by stating obviously idiotic remarks. This thread started with your problems in F12 and the modem - problems which I didn't have with my own e220, so I suggest the firmware update. You also indicate to ozjd that the e220 and e169 are different somehow, since he doesn't have problems, so I indicate that there appears to be a re-connection problem in F12 with the mobile connections with TWO usb-modems, ZTE MF626 and the e220 - a problem which you have identified in the kernel itself. So, I assume we are all the happier for all this information. I find it useful. Thanks for your feedback.

Robledo
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 24th November 2009, 11:51 AM
valente.ro Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Romania - Europe
Posts: 38
linuxfedorafirefox
No you are not upsetting me, and no these are not idiotic remarks...as you've said. Just that this issue is not linked to the auto-reconnect thing. For my modem and others 3 or 4, on Fedora 12 the problem with the reconnection is not happening; that's why I've mentioned here, as a friend of mine find it too on Ubuntu that the problem is in the kernel. It might be also in the NetworkManager but, Ubuntu had the same issue on an older version of this app. So my opinion is that the kernel remains the only place where is could be the bug. Also, for Ubuntu there is an opened bug for this issue + a kernel patch which, both, I'm waiting to have in our wonderful Fedora. I'll not give up on this distro just because an error. Now, don't hurry to judge people, just have the patience to read ...twice or more the thread. Is just a solution that i'm proposing

Edit: -- feel free to ask me about Linux (Fedora specially) any issues that you might get.
__________________
Fedora, the Linux I like ;)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 24th November 2009, 12:01 PM
robledo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Madrid, Spain
Age: 46
Posts: 16
windows_7ie
Hi Valente.ro

The issue experienced on my end is a manual disconnect, and then trying a manual reconnect - not auto-reconnection.

If you can , please have a look at
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=234541

they are having problems with a reconnect in F12 with an ADSL connection, while the problem is not in ubuntu 9.10 with kernel 2.6.31-14

Just a thoght? What if the problem is in the NetworkManager in F12? supposing the kernel is okay - is there a fix for this? what can I try?

Thanks again

Robledo
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 24th November 2009, 12:14 PM
valente.ro Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Romania - Europe
Posts: 38
linuxfedorafirefox
the issue, yes, can be in the NetworkManager since they did many modifications in it. For the moment i don't know for a fix since i'm not getting this issue........yet; and i did not need to look for it.
__________________
Fedora, the Linux I like ;)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 8th December 2009, 10:07 AM
valente.ro Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Romania - Europe
Posts: 38
linuxfedorafirefox
so we have a fix: on this versions of packages
NetworkManager-0.7.997-1.fc12
ModemManager-0.2.997-1.fc12

just update and all should be fine. If not see: https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=541314
__________________
Fedora, the Linux I like ;)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 8th December 2009, 11:01 AM
renowijoyo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
windows_xp_2003firefox
this is probably not a problem with device driver rather how to configure a connection profile.
I'm trying to use huawei e1550 USB modem to connect to my provider's GPRS network. on FC10 I need the usb_modeswitch to recognize the device. no such problem with FC12.

when using wvdial I have to manually add the name servers into /etc/resolv.conf which is very un-elegant, but it works.

my problem is using networkmanager I can connect to network but can only ping by IP address. no name resolution whatsoever. I'm not a linux newbie, but for networking I usually took them for granted so I've very little experience with network configuration scripts. how can I connect to mobiledata using networkmanager? if not how can I do it with wvdial elegantly?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 9th December 2009, 07:44 AM
danfedora Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
linuxfedorafirefox
try using umtsmon. get it from http://download.opensuse.org/reposit...edora_12/i386/.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 9th December 2009, 08:54 PM
mcsilva Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
linuxfedorafirefox
This is very curious.
I have a Huawei E220 and also I'm not able to use it with a fresh Fedora 12 in a Toshiba Satellite A100 (with a NVIDIA graphic card). It doesn't mount, outputs some errors, and is not able to connect to internet. When it does it usually lasts a few seconds before it goes down.
But in another laptop (HP Pavillion zv5490EA, with a ATI graphic card), also with a fresh Fedora 12, it runs flawless. It mounts the disk and connects normally.
I'm confused about it.
The distro is the same, the kernel version the same, the Huawey modem is the same, but it behaves diferently.
Only the hardware is different (USB? Graphic card?)
If it's a kernel bug, as it seems to be, why the bug doesn't occur in HP Pavillion laptop?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
e220, fedora 12, fedora12, huawei, modem 3g

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HUAWEI E220 and Vodafone driver v2.0 marie@dk Hardware & Laptops 26 7th August 2008 05:53 PM
huawei e220 - vodafone npsilva Servers & Networking 1 3rd February 2008 10:45 AM
Huawei e220 & F8 - anyone got it working? billlagr Hardware & Laptops 3 14th January 2008 04:37 PM
problem install Huawei E220 R-X Hardware & Laptops 6 14th January 2008 04:32 PM
Huawei E220 svenkatesan Servers & Networking 5 8th July 2007 04:08 AM


Current GMT-time: 04:27 (Saturday, 20-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
...Creek Side - Stockholm-Arlanda Airport (ARN) Travel Photos on Instagram - Marina of Koper Travel Photos - Te Whiti Park Instagram Photos - Texas State Fair Photos on Instagram