Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 3rd November 2009, 12:55 AM
s3cur17y Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Springfield, Oh
Age: 32
Posts: 66
windows_xp_2003firefox
Home HTTP server...

Hey,

I have a few question(s), I am going to be making a website for a small community of people. It is just basicly going to let everyone know about meetings and contact info. But I also would like to use it as a HTPC for my TV. The questions follow..

1. Would a Shuttle case and a MicroATX MB be suitable
2. Is it simple to setup apche
3. Would having the combination FTP, HTTP, and HTPC be a good combo over Wireless-N


The system will end up with at least 1TB and 2GB of ram. Running F11...
__________________
HP DV6000 Dual boo Windows 7 Ultimate, and F13
EeePc 900a 16GB SSD, 1GB Ram, F13 Quasar8000 Custom EeePc Kernel
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 3rd November 2009, 01:46 AM
forkbomb Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: U.S.
Posts: 4,851
windows_7firefox
Quote:
Originally Posted by s3cur17y View Post
Home HTTP server...
Read your EULA and contact your ISP to see if this is even allowed under your TOS and possible given their security configurations. Some ISPs disallow hosting services via EULA and/or access lists on their routers.

Quote:
Originally Posted by s3cur17y View Post
1. Would a Shuttle case and a MicroATX MB be suitable
Well, heck, man... on the right distro you can run Apache on a system with a Pentium III processor and 128MB of slow DDR memory. (I know cause I've done it. )

It really is a matter of how many people will be on it at any given time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by s3cur17y View Post
2. Is it simple to setup apche
Sure. Just read documentation/howtos/etc, and post with any questions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by s3cur17y View Post
3. Would having the combination FTP, HTTP, and HTPC be a good combo over Wireless-N
Can't see any reason why not.

Quote:
Originally Posted by s3cur17y View Post
The system will end up with at least 1TB and 2GB of ram. Running F11...
Makes it tricky. The HTPC part would probably be better on Fedora, but I'm not personally a fan of running 24/7 services on Fedora (prefer CentOS for that). YMMV.
__________________
- Tom
"What is freedom? To have the will to be responsible for one's self." - Stirner
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 3rd November 2009, 02:50 AM
s3cur17y Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Springfield, Oh
Age: 32
Posts: 66
linuxfedorafirefox
Well I am not going to be providing video's or audio with this website, just basiclly times and dates, and maybe a forum. I is going to be for my father refereeing stuff.

Also isn't CentOS a spin off of Fedora?
__________________
HP DV6000 Dual boo Windows 7 Ultimate, and F13
EeePc 900a 16GB SSD, 1GB Ram, F13 Quasar8000 Custom EeePc Kernel
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3rd November 2009, 03:03 AM
forkbomb Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: U.S.
Posts: 4,851
windows_7firefox
Not exactly a spinoff. It's like a more-stable cousin.

Think of CentOS as Redhat without a support line to call. More or less.
__________________
- Tom
"What is freedom? To have the will to be responsible for one's self." - Stirner
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 3rd November 2009, 03:07 AM
s3cur17y Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Springfield, Oh
Age: 32
Posts: 66
linuxfedorafirefox
ok cool, as long it is not like a switch from fedora to ubuntu or something.. I like my yum
__________________
HP DV6000 Dual boo Windows 7 Ultimate, and F13
EeePc 900a 16GB SSD, 1GB Ram, F13 Quasar8000 Custom EeePc Kernel
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 3rd November 2009, 03:09 AM
forkbomb Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: U.S.
Posts: 4,851
windows_7firefox
Well, if you're comfortable with Fedora, just run with that. I don't know much about running HTPCs on CentOS. I figure it's possible.

But you'll be able to run Apache off of Fedora just fine.
__________________
- Tom
"What is freedom? To have the will to be responsible for one's self." - Stirner
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 3rd November 2009, 03:16 AM
s3cur17y Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Springfield, Oh
Age: 32
Posts: 66
windows_xp_2003firefox
ok great thanks for your help...

Off to find Time Warners EULA and TOS
__________________
HP DV6000 Dual boo Windows 7 Ultimate, and F13
EeePc 900a 16GB SSD, 1GB Ram, F13 Quasar8000 Custom EeePc Kernel
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 3rd November 2009, 03:31 AM
s3cur17y Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Springfield, Oh
Age: 32
Posts: 66
windows_xp_2003firefox
Home Server Question

I have one really quick question, and I wasn't sure where to post this...

Does anyone happen to have a apache server at their home, and use a domain name service like godaddy.com. On a Time Warner connection?


I have been trying to talk to the fools about the EULA and TOS but apperently they have no clue what I am talking about. All I want to know is if it is ok for me to have a web server at home for my website?
__________________
HP DV6000 Dual boo Windows 7 Ultimate, and F13
EeePc 900a 16GB SSD, 1GB Ram, F13 Quasar8000 Custom EeePc Kernel
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 3rd November 2009, 03:38 AM
GallComp Offline
Nuke 'em Alfred! Administrator - Starring in Bill & Steve's Bogus Journey
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Fontana, CA
Age: 38
Posts: 2,375
windows_7ie
Title Changed...

From the forum guidelines:

Quote:
Use Informative Titles
Instead of using a title like "Heellllppp!!!?!!!" or "ARGH Fedora Crashes AGAIN!!!!!", use a title that is specific. Such as "Mouse Glitch/HD Hit Once Per Second" or "No Sound With PulseAudio". A clear title will attract more views to your thread, as it gives a clear indication of the content of the post in a mature manner. Experienced users usually have little time for immature complaints. Ultimately this will allow you to get more help of a better quality. Failure to comply will normally result in your thread being ignored.
__________________

"Since when has the world of computer software design been about what people want? This is a simple question of evolution. The day is quickly coming when every knee will bow down to a silicon fist, and you will all beg your binary gods for mercy. "


BILL GATES...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 3rd November 2009, 03:57 AM
marcrblevins Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Texas
Age: 43
Posts: 4,168
linuxfedorafirefox
Well, I use Apache, www.dyndns.com as my website name holder. I used DigitalPath.Net in California. Now, I'm using Grandecom.com in Texas.
Website been running for ages.

For the web site name holder, I use the ddclient package with the www.dyndns.com service with no issues.

Can anyone mention what package you use with the godaddy.com flavor?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 3rd November 2009, 07:58 AM
glennzo Offline
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Posts: 14,543
linuxfedorafirefox
Morning gents. Threads merged and moved to Servers.

I use dyndns.com and LAMP here at home for a MoinMoin wiki.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 3rd November 2009, 12:44 PM
forkbomb Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: U.S.
Posts: 4,851
windows_7firefox
Found this...
http://help.twcable.com/html/twc_sub_agreement2.html

Namely:
Quote:
(iii) If I receive HSD Service, I agree not to use the HSD Service for operation as an Internet service provider, for the hosting of websites (other than as expressly permitted as part of the HSD Service) or for any enterprise purpose whether or not the enterprise is directed toward making a profit.


I'd say it's probably outside the bounds of the residential subscription agreement (that's actually fairly typical of ISPs). Whether they'd actually notice is a different matter. There's still the question of whether they have service ports blocked.
__________________
- Tom
"What is freedom? To have the will to be responsible for one's self." - Stirner
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
home, http, server

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HTTP Server vze4p6c2 Servers & Networking 9 31st July 2007 01:37 AM
Http service didn't work from home... k41 Servers & Networking 5 14th June 2007 01:45 PM
HowTo: Setup an, FTP, MySQL, HTTP Home Server – FC4 SharedMedia Guides & Solutions (No Questions) 80 29th December 2006 12:37 AM
How to setup a http server(web server) tumelo_lathane Servers & Networking 2 3rd October 2006 01:05 PM
setup http.conf for home server: subdomains bubazoo Servers & Networking 7 12th January 2005 06:39 PM


Current GMT-time: 08:42 (Wednesday, 23-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat