Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 24th October 2009, 12:28 AM
theAdmiral Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 495
windows_vistafirefox
[SOLVED]I have installed F11KDE, now what?

Once I have installed F11KDE (and I have), and I have a wireless adapter/booster, how do I configure my internet connection. My laptop doesn't want to pick up the signal.

Thanks,
__________________
---------------------------------------------------------
Dual-boot
System: HP Pavilion dv6500 Notebook PC Rev. 1
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T7500 @2.2GHz
Number of CPUs: 2 (32-bit)
System Memory: 3072MB
Fedora 16 KDE Verne
Windoze 7, SP1

System: Sony Vaio
Intel (R) Pentium (R) 4 CPU 2.8 GHz
System Memory: 992 MB RAM
Fedora 16

Last edited by theAdmiral; 30th October 2009 at 02:25 PM. Reason: Solved
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24th October 2009, 12:34 AM
kyryder
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
linuxmozilla
Admiral,
More info will be needed before anyone can help you. Info like a usb or pci adapter? Info from

Code:
su-
dmesg
regarding the adapter in question.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th October 2009, 12:52 AM
Nokia Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: /dev/realm/{Abba,Carpenters,...stage}
Posts: 3,286
linuxfedorafirefox
For the adapter in question a simple
Code:
/sbin/lspci
is needed.
__________________
For safer browsing, use OpenDNS nameservers 208.67.222.222 and 208.67.220.220

SELinux User Guide

AutoPager
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24th October 2009, 12:58 AM
kyryder
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
linuxmozilla
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nokia View Post
For the adapter in question a simple
Code:
/sbin/lspci
is needed.
Will that work for a usb adapter?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24th October 2009, 01:01 AM
Nokia Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: /dev/realm/{Abba,Carpenters,...stage}
Posts: 3,286
linuxfedorafirefox
Seemed like we were talking about HP Pavillion...Anyway, here's the other fix
Code:
/sbin/lsusb
__________________
For safer browsing, use OpenDNS nameservers 208.67.222.222 and 208.67.220.220

SELinux User Guide

AutoPager
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24th October 2009, 01:05 AM
kyryder
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
linuxmozilla
ok, It was the "I have a wireless adapter/booster" that threw me.

Good catch Nokia
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24th October 2009, 01:31 AM
theAdmiral Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 495
windows_vistafirefox
Response

Code:
$ lsusb
...
Bus 002 Device 002: ID 0ace:1215 Zydas WLA-54L WiFi
...
Thanks,
__________________
---------------------------------------------------------
Dual-boot
System: HP Pavilion dv6500 Notebook PC Rev. 1
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T7500 @2.2GHz
Number of CPUs: 2 (32-bit)
System Memory: 3072MB
Fedora 16 KDE Verne
Windoze 7, SP1

System: Sony Vaio
Intel (R) Pentium (R) 4 CPU 2.8 GHz
System Memory: 992 MB RAM
Fedora 16
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24th October 2009, 01:59 AM
stoat Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7,550
linuxfedorafirefox
That chipset is known to work with ndiswrapper and its XP driver. It has also been documented to work with the zd1211rw driver that comes with Fedora, but it needs firmware. Either way.
http://fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=231508
http://fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=211098
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 24th October 2009, 02:00 AM
theAdmiral Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 495
windows_vistafirefox
Is that what we are looking for?

Is that what we are looking for?
__________________
---------------------------------------------------------
Dual-boot
System: HP Pavilion dv6500 Notebook PC Rev. 1
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T7500 @2.2GHz
Number of CPUs: 2 (32-bit)
System Memory: 3072MB
Fedora 16 KDE Verne
Windoze 7, SP1

System: Sony Vaio
Intel (R) Pentium (R) 4 CPU 2.8 GHz
System Memory: 992 MB RAM
Fedora 16
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 24th October 2009, 02:35 AM
kyryder
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
linuxmozilla
Quote:
Originally Posted by theAdmiral View Post
Is that what we are looking for?
Yes, follow the instructions in the link/s kindly provided by Stoat in post #8 and that should get you going. If you have a problem post back here.

Best of luck
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
f11kde, installed

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can Fedora 11 be installed with (2) Geforce GTX Cards Installed? ap90033 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 4th August 2009 01:33 AM
Have installed a VIA PCI firewire card, how see if it's installed? mkj4 Using Fedora 2 24th November 2006 01:44 PM
Installed FC5 with Server bit ticked, how do I use Apache and is MySQL installed? JMitchell EOL (End Of Life) Versions 3 5th September 2006 02:33 PM
can't activate wireless. I already have drivers installed, firmware installed. pliu59 Hardware & Laptops 6 28th March 2006 01:50 AM
how do I installed the telnet service after Fedora is installed? prodriguez021 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 8th September 2005 01:00 PM


Current GMT-time: 14:14 (Saturday, 22-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Qingyuan Instagram Photos - Bezirk Kreuzberg Travel Photos - Peer Photos on Instagram