Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 19th September 2009, 11:38 AM
jimwrightbe Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Age: 50
Posts: 21
linuxfedorafirefox
How much space does preupgrade require in /boot/upgrade?

Hi all,

I was impressed to be asked on Fedora 10 if I want to upgrade to Fedora 11 but the first time I tried I had this error:

Not enough space in /boot/upgrade to download install.img.

My boot partition is 99MB and AFAIK that is not unusual so I tried tidying up a bit, uninstalling all except 2 kernels, and now have about 80MB for whatever needs to be downloaded in /boot/upgrade. But I get the same error.

I can fix this by using wired instead of wireless networking but I want to know for planning purposes (next time I create a boot partition) how much space is required?

Can anyone help?

BTW:

$ ls -l /boot/upgrade
total 21594
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 18985802 2009-06-03 00:02 initrd.img
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 3035056 2009-06-03 00:02 vmlinuz

Should I delete these? It looks like they might be left over from last time but I assume preupgrade knows what is junk and what isn't.

Jim Wright
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19th September 2009, 12:38 PM
scottro Offline
Retired Community Manager -- Banned from Texas by popular demand.
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 8,142
linuxopera
I think right now it requires 200 MB. I think I made mine 300, figuring it will probably require more each time. That's somewhere in some release notes, but I have no idea where. If I remember correctly, it was relatively easy to find.
__________________
--
http://home.roadrunner.com/~computertaijutsu

Do NOT PM forum members with requests for technical support. Ask your questions on the forum.


"I don't know why there is the constant push to break any semblance of compatibility" --anon
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19th September 2009, 01:08 PM
jimwrightbe Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Age: 50
Posts: 21
linuxfedorafirefox
Thanks for your quick response. Who needs docs? ;-).

BTW I haven't found it yet. I did find this which may need reviewing:
http://docs.fedoraproject.org/instal...mmend-x86.html
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th September 2009, 01:47 PM
scottro Offline
Retired Community Manager -- Banned from Texas by popular demand.
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 8,142
linuxopera
True, it does. (need reviewing). Let's blame Rahul, which will be incredibly ungracious of us, as much as he does for the user community.



All kidding aside, he's usually really quick on those things, (and he does it almost single-handedly).
__________________
--
http://home.roadrunner.com/~computertaijutsu

Do NOT PM forum members with requests for technical support. Ask your questions on the forum.


"I don't know why there is the constant push to break any semblance of compatibility" --anon
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19th September 2009, 09:52 PM
RahulSundaram Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,742
linuxfedorafirefox
Hi,

Reported at

https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=524402

PS: Documentation team isn't certainly just me. There are quite a few active contributors. I mostly work on just the release notes
__________________
Rahul
http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/RahulSundaram
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19th September 2009, 11:50 PM
scottro Offline
Retired Community Manager -- Banned from Texas by popular demand.
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 8,142
linuxopera
Wow, 500 MBs.

I see I was off by a few hundred.

Thank you for reporting the bug.
__________________
--
http://home.roadrunner.com/~computertaijutsu

Do NOT PM forum members with requests for technical support. Ask your questions on the forum.


"I don't know why there is the constant push to break any semblance of compatibility" --anon
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20th September 2009, 12:06 AM
wneumann Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 512
linuxfedorafirefox
For how many upgrades will the "highly recommended 500M" for fc12 last? It is certainly overkill for fc11.

I successfully used preupgrade to upgrade several machines to FC11. Every one of them had a /boot of 190M (the size automatically chosen by a previous fresh install of Fedora -- I think version 9).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
or boot or upgrade, preupgrade, require, space

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FC8 upgrade with preupgrade-cli? gab10 Servers & Networking 1 4th August 2009 06:31 PM
upgrade to Fedora 11 on my PS3 via preupgrade Dr.Death Mac Chat 0 18th June 2009 05:03 PM
Upgrade via DVD or Preupgrade fail to see /dev/md0 npd Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 10th June 2009 04:13 PM
Upgrade using preupgrade Jamwa Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 31st March 2009 05:14 AM
preupgrade will increase space needs in /boot? marko Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 20th April 2008 06:21 AM


Current GMT-time: 10:19 (Friday, 24-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Kiryas Joel Travel Photos on Instagram - Chelghoum el Aid Photos - Rath Photos