Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 9th September 2009, 07:26 AM
mysteron Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 17
linuxubuntufirefox
Question Trouble with ls -la cmd in 11.

Hi.

Anyone else experiencing trouble with the ls -la command in 11?

This is the scenario :

- log in as a regular user.
- open a terminal window.
- run su -
- enter password
- type ls -la in /root
- the command hangs.

I can list contents of any other folder than /root or any subfolder in root. If trying to list, then cmd hangs.


/mysteron
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 9th September 2009, 07:39 AM
CSchwangler Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,535
linuxfedorafirefox
I tested this in a couple of folders, including /root, but it never hangs. Maybe you need to give more specific information on your system. I am using F11 (with latest updates), 2.6.30 kernel, Gnome, 32-bit.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th September 2009, 07:42 AM
yuhuntero Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Teochew
Posts: 6
linuxsafari
If you type the the command as a login-in regular user, Does it hang ? I used to have a familiar trouble as you have, but it is when I do as a login-in user. I found it have a bug in gvfs-fuse-daemon coming with the GVFS mount point which is at ~/.gvfs . I killed the vfs-fuse-daemon and umount it , then everything is OK
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 9th September 2009, 07:55 AM
mysteron Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 17
linuxubuntufirefox
gvfs

Hi.

Thank you for your replies. I killed all gvfs processes and now I can list the contents of /root.

It seems as I too am experiencing the bug that yuhuntero mentions.

Is it possible to disable the gvfs fuse service somehow?


Thx,
/mysteron
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 9th September 2009, 08:05 AM
yuhuntero Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Teochew
Posts: 6
linuxfedorafirefox
- Backup the file vfs-fuse-daemon as vfs-fuse-daemon.bak
- Make a new blank file vfs-fuse-daemon, and make it executable

Because the vfs-fuse-daemon is call from the code, we could not do any setting to disable it. But we can cheat it as do above. As I know the vfs-fuse-daemon is only need in limitd cases.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11th September 2009, 02:11 PM
soylentman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 8
windows_xp_2003safari
UDAMAN! yuhuntero has it right. Followed instructions and had to hard reboot but all is good now for the moment. Once again Thank-you so much. Been two days trying hard not to re-install to fix it.

ay
__________________
Andy York
FedoraGeeks
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 5th October 2009, 07:19 PM
nadeem Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Livonia, MI
Posts: 12
linuxfedorafirefox
I have the same problem with my F11. Could you pl. tell me the location (dir) of file vfs-fuse-daemon?

thnx.
N.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 5th October 2009, 08:31 PM
parish Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 595
linuxfedorafirefox
Quote:
Originally Posted by nadeem View Post
I have the same problem with my F11. Could you pl. tell me the location (dir) of file vfs-fuse-daemon?
The easiest way to locate files on your system is with the locate command.

First, update the database with the current file info (this only has to be done once each time your files change). This must be done as root or via sudo

root[7]% updatedb

and then use the locate command (executable as user)

daniel[6]% locate vfs-fuse-daemon
/usr/libexec/gvfs-fuse-daemon

Daniel
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 6th October 2009, 03:21 AM
nadeem Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Livonia, MI
Posts: 12
linuxfedorafirefox
Thank you all. It solved the problem. However, I was unable to run updatedb until I fixed the gvfs problem first. (any program trying to access my home folder was hanging for ever).

Last edited by nadeem; 6th October 2009 at 03:24 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cmd, trouble

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
yum trouble jayrobb Using Fedora 9 14th April 2009 08:12 AM
freezing during screensaver and trouble on reboot + gnome panel trouble bwalsh Using Fedora 0 5th July 2005 02:45 AM
yum gpg trouble Willem Jacobuss Using Fedora 5 22nd March 2005 01:29 AM
If you're having trouble with FC3... taylor65 Linux Chat 2 9th March 2005 01:48 AM


Current GMT-time: 22:34 (Saturday, 19-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat