Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 5th September 2009, 05:17 AM
mbrad Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 187
linuxfedorafirefox
Can't Get VNC to work

Thanks for taking the time to read my question.

I have installed VNC (yum install vnc-server and yum install vnc)

I don't see VNC anywhere in the menus... odd

I have started the VNC service, I have added port 5900 and 10065 to the Firewall config, SELinux is disabled.

When I try to VNC from my XP machine, I get
Quote:
unable to connect to host: A socked operation was attempted to an unreachable host. (10065)
I just upgraded from Fedora 9 to 11 and am in the process of setting everything up again. This is my second time setting things up, and am at a bit of a loss now.

Any ideas on what I need to do to get VNC to work?

Thanks,

Brad
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 5th September 2009, 08:25 AM
glennzo Offline
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,623
linuxfedorafirefox
Have a look under System > Preferences > Remote Desktop. I think that may be what you're looking for.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 5th September 2009, 03:58 PM
mbrad Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 187
linuxfedorafirefox
Thanks for the reply glennzo. I did find that as well. Forgot to post that info.

My settings on that window are

Sharing
Allow other users to view your desktop (checked)
Allow other users to control your desktop (checked)
(a yellow box appears after you open this window, it says "Your desktop is only reachable over the local network. Others can access your computer using the address 192.168.0.5, linux.local")

Security
You must confirm each access to this machine (unchecked)
Require the user to enter this password (unchecked)
Configure network automatically to accept connections (checked)

Notification Area
Never display an icon is selected

Not sure what else to do to get this to work.

Thanks,

EDIT: I can VNC FROM Fedora11 to XP PC, but not XP to Fedora11

Brad

Last edited by mbrad; 5th September 2009 at 06:42 PM. Reason: VNC Fedora 11 to XP possible
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 5th September 2009, 07:10 PM
glennzo Offline
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,623
linuxfedorafirefox
Sometimes with Samba you can't connect to a Fedora box unless there is a Fedora user with the same name as the user on the Windows box. In other words, sometimes Joe (from Windows) can not connect to Fedora because user Joe doesn't exist. This has happened to me. I simply created a user Joe and I was in. I didn't have to log in as Joe, the user just needed to exist. This may not follow all the "rules" of networking. I can only speak from experience. That said, maybe the same theory applies to vnc?

I got a lot of help from this web page, http://bobpeers.com/linux/vnc
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB

Last edited by glennzo; 5th September 2009 at 07:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 6th September 2009, 03:15 AM
mbrad Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 187
linuxfedorafirefox
Thanks for the link.

I'll check it out.

Have a great evening.

Brad
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 6th September 2009, 03:54 AM
mbrad Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 187
linuxfedorafirefox
Ok, I think I've found something. I have been trying to restart the VNCServer in the command line and it fails. It says when trying to start: No Displays Configured. So I'm guessing I need to do something to /etc/sysconfig/vncserver... I just don't know what. I have 2 users on myserver brad and root.

So I added these two lines:

Quote:
# VNCSERVERS="2:brad"
# VNCSERVERARGS[2]="-geometry 800x600"
But then shutting down and starting up the vnc server fails.

I typed /sbin/chkconfig vncserver --list and got

Quote:
vncserver 0:off 1:off 2:on 3:on 4:on 5:on 6:off
So I think I have to do something to that file, but I don't know what.

Thanks,

Brad
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23rd September 2009, 02:46 PM
LaKing Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Budapest
Posts: 320
windows_vistafirefox
If you install something like "remote desktop gnome menu / gui" you get the remote desktop icon under administration. ...

You propably need a good manual for the configuration file. ...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
vnc, work

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
massenger work but firefox and program update didnt work mahmoud200m Servers & Networking 0 27th July 2008 07:27 PM
program does not work the first time it is started, work only after restart powah Using Fedora 2 17th November 2007 02:40 PM
Great work Fedora´s programmers, Fedora8 doesnt work on PS3. akenateb Mac Chat 5 9th November 2007 07:56 PM
cedega 5.1 only 2d menus work in games but 3d doesn't seem to work rantanplan Using Fedora 2 29th May 2006 06:52 PM
My microphone doesn't work, or doesnt work with teamspeak boyd98 Hardware & Laptops 2 12th May 2006 03:00 AM


Current GMT-time: 20:01 (Thursday, 24-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat