Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 4th September 2009, 10:59 PM
The Mishanator Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Washington (state)
Age: 21
Posts: 184
linuxfedorafirefox
Graphics acceleration

i have an intergrated Intel GMA 3100 gc and i have no idea where to get a driver for 3d or 2d with acceleration.
plz help
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 4th September 2009, 11:11 PM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,294
linuxopera
They're already included with Fedora. Whether or not they're working [correctly] is a different question.

V
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 5th September 2009, 01:35 AM
The Mishanator Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Washington (state)
Age: 21
Posts: 184
linuxfedorafirefox
i know thaaat but i need acceleration
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 5th September 2009, 03:46 AM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,294
linuxopera
Please post:
glxinfo|grep render
sudo lspci|grep VGA


V
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 5th September 2009, 04:05 AM
The Mishanator Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Washington (state)
Age: 21
Posts: 184
linuxfedorafirefox
Code:
[root@mvs-linux Mikhail]# glxinfo|grep render
direct rendering: Yes
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI Intel(R) G33 GEM 20090114 
[root@mvs-linux Mikhail]# sudo lspci|grep VGA
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82G33/G31 Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 02)
[root@mvs-linux Mikhail]#
thank you for looking into this.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 5th September 2009, 04:28 AM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,294
linuxopera
You've already got working 3D DRI/OpenGL graphical acceleration:
Code:
direct rendering: Yes
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI Intel(R) G33 GEM 20090114
2D acceleration is subsumed. Looks perfectly good to me. It doesn't get any better than this. What's the problem ?

Actually, it's a bonus, and a mild surprise, that all is working so well, considering all the goofing around that Fedora, X.Org, and DRI are doing in some apparent attempt to screw it all up....

V

Last edited by Hlingler; 5th September 2009 at 04:31 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 5th September 2009, 05:16 AM
The Mishanator Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Washington (state)
Age: 21
Posts: 184
linuxfedorafirefox
hahaha the thing is that a bunch of my games from vista are popping up with errors (im running them with a nice mixture of wine and crossocer pro) saying that i dont have it. i guess they're lying then.

thanks for the help
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 5th September 2009, 05:25 AM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,294
linuxopera
Ah: WINE. You'll have to attack the issue from that angle, as many M$ Win* executables run in WINE may require "tweaking" of the WINE Config and/or Registry. Especially those requiring graphical acceleration. Check the "Guides and Solutions" and "Gamer's Lounge" sections of forum for WINE-related stuff, and also winehq.org application database for tips.

V

P.S. Moved to "General Support".
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 5th September 2009, 05:27 AM
The Mishanator Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Washington (state)
Age: 21
Posts: 184
linuxfedorafirefox
alright. i will do that. the problem i have with wine is that everytime i do stuff with it, i mess it up so badly that i need to do yum remove wine*
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 5th September 2009, 05:34 AM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,294
linuxopera
Hmm... leadgolem had a WINE how-to: http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=169544

See if that helps. Again: the winehq.org app database may have useful hints (or alert you to apps that you'd best not waste time trying because they simply won't work).

WINE is not my forte. Maybe others will have more useful suggestions. <BUMP>

Good Luck,
V

P.S. Another option is to install M$ Win* inside a virtual machine (e.g.: VirtualBox) and run from there. Avoids re-boots just to play games. Assuming you have lots of spare HDD space and RAM for the VMs.

Last edited by Hlingler; 5th September 2009 at 05:37 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 5th September 2009, 05:35 AM
The Mishanator Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Washington (state)
Age: 21
Posts: 184
linuxfedorafirefox
thank you!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
graphics acceleration, graphics card

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATI graphics acceleration [SOLVED] eman_resu Hardware & Laptops 52 16th April 2011 12:40 AM
Switch off Graphics Hardware acceleration swashplate Using Fedora 0 30th May 2009 06:45 PM
VMWare's 3D graphics acceleration just around the corner? stephanie.steve Linux Chat 0 28th September 2007 02:18 PM
nVidia and ATI graphics acceleration in FC5 smfinley Guides & Solutions (No Questions) 27 5th April 2006 08:13 AM


Current GMT-time: 16:45 (Tuesday, 21-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Burton Travel Photos on Instagram - Purbalingga - Palma Soriano