Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 15th August 2009, 01:15 AM
troyatlarge Offline

linuxfedorafirefox
Bash 101; “-a” inside test expressions

Been learning a little about the bash shell when I ran into the following problem. I have a directory “A” which has several directory in it, “B, C, and D”. I want to know when there is something in any of the sub directories B, C, or D ( a condition which changes from time to time.) I wrote the following script as a test for these conditions making use of file attribute checking within an “if” statement (as it was what I was learning at the moment):

Code:
 if [ \( -s $(ls ~/A/B/ ) \) ] && [\( -s $(ls ~/A/C/ ) \) ] && [ \( -s $(ls ~/A/D/ ) \) ]; then	

echo "there is nothing in the folders"

else 

echo "there is something in at least one folder"

fi
This appears to work just fine. !(Actually it does not work correctly - just took me awhile to realize it)! However, as I studied on I came to think that I should be able to get rid of the “] && [“ by replacing them with the inner test AND, “-a”, like so:
Code:
if [ \( -s $(ls ~/A/B/ ) \) -a \( -s $(ls ~/A/C/ ) \) -a \( -s $(ls ~/A/D/ ) \) ]; then	

echo "there is nothing in the folders"

else 

echo "there is something in at least one folder"

fi
The problem is, when I run this it does not work. WHY it does not work has me lost ... anyone??

Last edited by troyatlarge; 18th August 2009 at 10:57 PM.
Old 16th August 2009, 01:45 PM
troyatlarge Offline

linuxfedorafirefox
OK - the book I have studied from is not so clear in all sorts of things - like what appears to be true of many write-ups when it comes to bash scripting. Anyway, after lots of searching the following guide seems pretty good covering the syntax for condition statements [ condition ], what you can an can not do inside them - so, if your like me and a little pissed about how this works via not getting it - this should help you out: http://www.linuxtutorialblog.com/pos...-if-statements