Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 14th August 2009, 09:55 AM
datatek Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 21
windows_xp_2003firefox
trying to get to console :0 with vino

My vino listens on port 5900, but when I connect I still get a new session and not my existing one. Help :-(


P.S. Is there any other way to get to :0 ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14th August 2009, 11:39 AM
vsaua Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ukraine, Kiev
Age: 32
Posts: 55
linuxfedorafirefox
what command did you type
see this link
http://www.techotopia.com/index.php/..._Linux_Desktop
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14th August 2009, 11:46 AM
datatek Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 21
windows_xp_2003firefox
I connect with tightvnc from windows and from linux. There I connect to port 5900.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14th August 2009, 11:59 AM
vsaua Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ukraine, Kiev
Age: 32
Posts: 55
linuxfedorafirefox
first, try to connect using vinagre on the localhost.
$ vinagre localhost

Will it connect to your current desktop?

Also, using vncviewer you need to specify the port using double-double dots:
$ vncviewer hostname::5900
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14th August 2009, 12:50 PM
datatek Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 21
windows_xp_2003firefox
Quote:
Originally Posted by vsaua View Post
first, try to connect using vinagre on the localhost.
$ vinagre localhost

Will it connect to your current desktop?
I am trying from a CentOS box right now. Having trouble finding/installing vinagre.
Quote:
Originally Posted by vsaua View Post
Also, using vncviewer you need to specify the port using double-double dots:
$ vncviewer hostname::5900
I get the new desktop, not my current one :-(
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14th August 2009, 03:56 PM
vsaua Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ukraine, Kiev
Age: 32
Posts: 55
linuxfedorafirefox
ok. connect again and show the output of "netstat -tn" We'll see if there is a real connection to 5900 port.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
5900, console, session, vino, vnc

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F11 + vino ... slow sejoel Using Fedora 0 14th July 2009 11:36 PM
F11 TigerVNC + Vino DNvCross Using Fedora 0 23rd June 2009 04:10 AM
Vino in VNC session prdufresne Using Fedora 0 12th February 2009 08:17 PM
VNC & Vino DaveVentresca Servers & Networking 6 19th January 2009 02:11 AM
vino-server cdlaforc Using Fedora 4 19th March 2007 06:09 AM


Current GMT-time: 03:32 (Saturday, 23-08-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat