Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 21st May 2004, 06:46 PM
m_ochse Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Age: 37
Posts: 3
Unhappy FC2: Installation not working

Hi,

got no problems installing FC1 so far, but when it comes to FC2, right after entering "linux text" the installation media wants to boot into the kernel image, but then the system reboots.

Does anyone have a similar problem?

Here my specs:

P4, 2,8GHz, 1GB RAM
IDE=80 GIG
SATA=160 GIG

I even tried the following: "linux ide=nodma acpi=off apm=off text noprobe" but still the system reboots.

Thanks for your help in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21st May 2004, 07:06 PM
LordMorgul Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sourthern California, USA
Posts: 503
Those hardware specs mean you've got a recent, powerful mobo... if it is an asus p4p800 you'll be interested in this bug:
http://bugzilla.redhat.com/bugzilla/....cgi?id=121819

If it is another board, search bugzilla for mention of your mobo model and post the issue if it is not there.
__________________
- Andrew <lordmorgul@gmail.com>

No one now has, and no one will ever again get, the big picture. - Daniel Geer
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st May 2004, 07:16 PM
m_ochse Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Age: 37
Posts: 3
Thanks for your information!

You were right, it is a p4p800. Read the whole bug @ RedHat, but it is kind a really weird

Will see if I can get work around that one

Marco.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st May 2004, 09:58 PM
m_ochse Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Age: 37
Posts: 3
Well I tried all suggestions mentioned in the RedHat Bugzilla, but unfortunately without any luck.

Does anyone know so far, if the Core Team is working on this issue!?

Actually I can't really believe that the Fedora Team leaked such a great bug into the Final Release

Maybe it's time for a distro change

What y'all think!?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22nd May 2004, 11:51 AM
chamberl Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 2
Here's what I did based on comments from the bugzilla entry. Because I don't have a USB key, I used the DVD iso, but I would imagine the CD1 image would work just as well.

I did this in FC1.

1. Download the diskboot.img.bz2 from comment #64 and bunzip.
2. mkdir /tmp/diskimg.dir
3. (as root) mount diskboot.img /tmp/diskimg.dir -o loop
4. mkdir /tmp/dvdimg.dir
5. (as root) mount FC2-i386-DVD.iso /tmp/dvdimg.dir -o loop
6. mkdir /tmp/dvdimg_new.dir
7. cp -rp /tmp/dvdimg.dir /tmp/dvdimg_new.dir
8. cp /tmp/diskimg.dir/isolinux/initrd.img /tmp/dvdimg_new.dir/isolinux
9. cp /tmp/diskimg.dir/isolinux/vmlinuz /tmp/dvdimg_new.dir/isolinux
10. mkisofs -J -R -v -T -o FC2-DVD-new.iso -b isolinux/isolinux.bin -c isolinux/boot.cat -no-emul-boot -boot-load-size 4 -boot-info-table /tmp/dvdimg_new.dir
11. Burn resulting image and boot.

I ended up doing a clean install because I borked up my FC1 trying a yum upgrade, so I can't help with any upgrade issues.

HTH
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23rd May 2004, 12:05 AM
LordMorgul Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sourthern California, USA
Posts: 503
Quote:
Originally posted by m_ochse
Does anyone know so far, if the Core Team is working on this issue!?
Yes.. but the more accurate information and failed attempts at working around the problem are reported to them.. the more info they have to work with... this is a non-trivial bug, it isn't like fixing a typo in a python script.
__________________
- Andrew <lordmorgul@gmail.com>

No one now has, and no one will ever again get, the big picture. - Daniel Geer
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29th May 2004, 01:34 PM
dkinard Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1
Unhappy

FC2 release version - install loop. M571 motherboard, CYRIX M-II 300 MHZ processor, 128 MB motherboard. Currently has dual boot windows 98 SE, and Rh linux 7.3. Various linux boot options tried (skipddc, noprobe, resolution, acpi, single, mem, apm, vdso, nofb).
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29th May 2004, 08:58 PM
LordMorgul Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sourthern California, USA
Posts: 503
Make sure to report to bugzilla, the developers essentially do not know about it.. if its not there. Add your system specs and experience (what happened) to a bug or create a new one if you cannot find anything relevant to your system.
__________________
- Andrew <lordmorgul@gmail.com>

No one now has, and no one will ever again get, the big picture. - Daniel Geer
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fc2, installation, working

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Is Is installation not working Nnylad Using Fedora 1 28th October 2008 04:38 AM
KDE not working after new installation sizzzzlerz Using Fedora 2 4th August 2008 09:16 AM
A working FC5 installation for i86? pierrel EOL (End Of Life) Versions 15 27th April 2006 11:48 PM
Installation not working Oesibius Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 6th January 2006 10:02 PM
Installation not working Hyarion Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 5 24th November 2004 05:10 PM


Current GMT-time: 07:04 (Friday, 31-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Hawthorne Photos - Lino Lakes Photos - Tsqaltubo Instagram Photos