Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 1st August 2009, 11:12 PM
bianchi77 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 16
windows_xp_2003firefox
Fedora 11 suddenly freeze

Dear Friends,

Why does Fedora 11 freeze suddenly when I use it?
Driver related ?

Thanks
__________________
Visit my website here...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2nd August 2009, 01:02 AM
rick_retterer Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Missouri City Texas
Posts: 5
linuxfedorafirefox
Possibly... Are you using the Intel video driver and does it freeze everytime you attempt to use something that requires OpenGL like trying to watch a movie or a *.avi, mp4, etc.. file?

I have my system freeze on me when I attempt to use GLX-dock (cairo-dock with opengl).
__________________
-Stone
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2nd August 2009, 07:48 AM
bianchi77 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 16
windows_xp_2003firefox
I'm using on board VGA ATI Radeon 2100 and I'm not using OpenGL,
Just using Mozilla and File Manager, it suddenly frezeed
Do you have any idea why ? and how to fix it?
__________________
Visit my website here...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2nd August 2009, 08:45 AM
rpcarnell Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 10
linuxfedorafirefox
I am having a similar problem with Fedora 11.

For starters, when I log in, after starting the system, it is really slow (GNOME), so I do this:

(1) I log out of Gnome
(2) Ctrl-Alt-F2, I started a console, where I log in with my user name. Then I type startx -- :1
(3) Gnome is now really fast
(4) But from time to time, it freezes, and I have to press ctrl-alt-f2 to go back to the console again, but there's no message telling me why it is freezing.

I have an old Savage DDR video card.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2nd August 2009, 10:12 AM
rpcarnell Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 10
linuxfedorafirefox
Okay, if I type something inside the Gnome console, and I get a message like this:

Gdk-CRITICAL **: gdk_x11_atom_to_xatom_for_display: assertion `atom != GDK_NONE' failed

then, the computer keeps functioning. Nothing happens.

But the message does not appear in the main console (ctrl+alt+f2). It is not there.

But when a message like it, does show up, it is because Gnome froze up completely.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2nd August 2009, 10:20 AM
rpcarnell Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 10
linuxfedorafirefox
Quote:
Originally Posted by rpcarnell View Post
Okay, if I type something inside the Gnome console, and I get a message like this:

Gdk-CRITICAL **: gdk_x11_atom_to_xatom_for_display: assertion `atom != GDK_NONE' failed

then, the computer keeps functioning. Nothing happens.

But the message does not appear in the main console (ctrl+alt+f2). It is not there.

But when a message like it, does show up, it is because Gnome froze up completely.
I was wrong. That's not it either. Sorry if I confused anyone.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 3rd August 2009, 02:49 AM
bianchi77 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 16
windows_xp_2003firefox
What should I do for repairing this problem ?
is FC 11 not stable yet ??
__________________
Visit my website here...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 3rd August 2009, 01:34 PM
rpcarnell Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 10
linuxfedorafirefox
Maybe it is Xorg-related:

(1) yum update --enablerepo=updates-testing

Update as many packages as you can.

(2) When you start your computer, press E to edit Grub before booting.

You may see a line like this one:

kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.29.6-217.2.3.fc11.i686.PAE ro root=UUID=b031b03c-8a0a-4b94-84af-94a5006ffe9e rhgb quiet

Get rid of rhgb quit, and replace it with a 3, so you start a runlevel 3 (console). Type b and Linux will boot up.

Then, once Linux has booted up, log in and type startx

You can shift between the console and gnome (or kde) with ctrl-alt-f1 and ctrl-alt-f7. If it suddenly freezes, you may get back to the console by pressing those keys and you might see a message telling you what's wrong, if you are lucky. In my case, the messages are usually GTK related.

(3) You can get Linux to choose a resolution for you:

kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.29.6-217.2.3.fc11.i686.PAE ro root=UUID=b031b03c-8a0a-4b94-84af-94a5006ffe9e rhgb quiet

Replace rhgb quiet with vga=ask and then boot Linux

Keep looking at the messages in the console while running Gnome or KDE. You might be able to see the problem.

Last edited by rpcarnell; 3rd August 2009 at 01:37 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 3rd August 2009, 04:56 PM
bianchi77 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 16
windows_xp_2003firefox
thanks for the info i will try..
__________________
Visit my website here...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 4th August 2009, 06:38 AM
sonoran Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 2,423
linuxmozilla
Quote:
Originally Posted by rpcarnell View Post
Maybe it is Xorg-related:

(1) yum update --enablerepo=updates-testing

Update as many packages as you can.
The testing repo means just what it says: TESTING
Enabling it will bring in unstable, untested packages.
It is decidedly not a way to fix things.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 4th August 2009, 05:03 PM
Sligo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 79
windows_xp_2003firefox
Test updates can be useful, if you are desperate enough, but agreed they can be very dangerous.

Myself, I was having an identical problem with Fedora 11 just randomly freezing up, even at the graphical login screen. After trying everything I knew, and at the verge of doing something unthinkable like installing Ubuntu on the system, I gave the test update for the Xorg server a try, mainly because the description claimed it fixed a crash due to uninitialized VModMap fields. It didn't work.

However, after changing several BIOS settings and getting rid of the xorg.conf file I had written, it stooped randomly freezing. Unfortunately I'm not sure which one did it.

I have a Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-UD4H motherboard, with an integrated ATI Radeon HD3300, an AMD Phenom II X4 CPU, and a Netgear WG311T PCI wireless adapter. In BIOS all I did was disable USB Wake Up, set the CPU voltage to auto, and DDRII Timing to auto. Then I got rid of the xorg.conf file I had written to get 1280x1024 resolution. Not sure which if any of these worked, or maybe it just stopped freezing by itself, but it is not doing it now, and hopefully it doesn't start again.

It would seem, my problem anyway, was either the radeon driver not liking my custom xorg.conf file, or Fedora 11 not liking the static values for voltage and timing. I'm not sure if any of this information is helpful, but it might give someone better than me an idea.
__________________
Linux Registered User #462282
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 4th August 2009, 10:31 PM
Magickman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 326
linuxfedorafirefox
I had this problem too, and I think it's a memory allocation problem. I had frequent lock ups trying to multi task, like browser open with three tabs, Thunderbird open, text editor open at the same time...lock up.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 6th August 2009, 05:09 AM
Trapper Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Sebring, Florida, USA
Posts: 272
linuxubuntufirefox
Fedora is not alone concerning this freeze problem. Ubuntu is plagued with it too. 64 bit even moreso than 32 bit. In the past 6 months every linux flavor I try is very reminiscent of Windows 95. A number of forced reboots daily. It's not the machine. Several machines and all have differing video. I've stopped encouraging anyone to install linux for now too, unless they are interested in an older version. I hate to say it but later versions of Windows run better than linux does right now. I detest Windows though. My solution has been to drop back to an older version of Ubuntu for 64 bit. No freezes anymore. The 32 bit version of U9.04 doesn't seem to give me much trouble. It surprises me now and then but freezes are not a daily issue. But freezes should not be an issue at all.
__________________
Linux User #456254

Fedora 14 desktop on:

BioStar MCP6P-M2 Motherboard * NVIDIA GeForce 6150 / nForce 430 Video * AMD Sempron LE1100 1.9GHZ 256KB CPU * 1GB PC4200 DDR2 RAM * 160GB Serial ATA HD * 320 GB WD IDE HD * SATA2
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 6th August 2009, 06:19 AM
bianchi77 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 16
linuxfedorafirefox
or may be i use i386 version ISO ? since i'm using 64 bit processor...??
but it should be compatible..shouldn't it...
??
__________________
Visit my website here...
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 6th August 2009, 02:07 PM
Trapper Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Sebring, Florida, USA
Posts: 272
linuxubuntufirefox
I use i386 versions with AMD 64 bit processors with good results bianchi77.
__________________
Linux User #456254

Fedora 14 desktop on:

BioStar MCP6P-M2 Motherboard * NVIDIA GeForce 6150 / nForce 430 Video * AMD Sempron LE1100 1.9GHZ 256KB CPU * 1GB PC4200 DDR2 RAM * 160GB Serial ATA HD * 320 GB WD IDE HD * SATA2
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fedora, freeze, suddenly

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora Suddenly Wont Boot Khaos Using Fedora 3 3rd February 2013 09:28 AM
Why my Fedora suddenly is turned off in the middle of night marisdembovskis Using Fedora 10 11th December 2007 10:45 AM
Fedora 7 suddenly not working generollins Using Fedora 8 28th October 2007 10:13 PM
Fedora 7 suddenly switched my desktop from Gnome to KDE? Jak Using Fedora 4 6th October 2007 07:30 AM
Help? My Fedora has suddenly switched from GNOME to KDE... SynniYoungZLTN3 Using Fedora 6 6th October 2007 06:34 AM


Current GMT-time: 00:37 (Friday, 19-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Creek Side - Stockholm-Arlanda Airport (ARN) Travel Photos on Instagram - Marina of Koper Travel Photos - Te Whiti Park Instagram Photos - Texas State Fair Photos on Instagram