Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 28th July 2009, 07:52 AM
mathan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: in your heart
Posts: 238
kmod vs akmod

friends i've a one dubt?
which drive is best for nvidia display driver?

kmod-nvidia ? or akmods? please tell me
__________________
ASUS M3N78-EM, AMD Phenom™ X4 Quad-Core 9650+, 6GB DDR2 RAM, 160GB x 2 RAID0 HDD, Nvidia Geforce8300 Hybrid SLI
Run @ Fedora12 x86_64,& Windows7 Ultimate x64

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

(Akmods-nvidia @ rpmfusion)


R.Mathan MCA, MCITP, MCTS
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28th July 2009, 08:04 AM
ozjd Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Age: 58
Posts: 2,322
With akmod you don't have to worry about kernel updates as it recreates the driver for the new kernel on boot. With kmod you have to wait until a matching kmod is available before installing the kernel update.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28th July 2009, 08:16 AM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,291
I'll second the motion: as long as you have plenty of HDD space for the kernel-devel/headers and compilers, there is a big advantage to having akmods to build the kmods for you. Never worry again (until there's a driver meltdown)....

V
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th July 2009, 01:00 PM
mathan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: in your heart
Posts: 238
thanks friend!
now i install kmod! so i can install akmod right
__________________
ASUS M3N78-EM, AMD Phenom™ X4 Quad-Core 9650+, 6GB DDR2 RAM, 160GB x 2 RAID0 HDD, Nvidia Geforce8300 Hybrid SLI
Run @ Fedora12 x86_64,& Windows7 Ultimate x64

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

(Akmods-nvidia @ rpmfusion)


R.Mathan MCA, MCITP, MCTS
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28th July 2009, 06:22 PM
JohnnyLinux Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 460
What if I have installed both?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28th July 2009, 06:37 PM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by mathan View Post
thanks friend!
now i install kmod! so i can install akmod right
Quote:
Originally Posted by timmywear View Post
What if I have installed both?
You may safely install BOTH akmod-* and matching kmod-*.

However, I fail to see why anyone would bother installing kmod-* if they've got a matching akmod-* to build the kmods automatically. Seems rather redundant.

V
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 4th August 2009, 04:56 AM
JohnnyLinux Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 460
linuxfedorafirefox
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hlingler View Post
You may safely install BOTH akmod-* and matching kmod-*.

However, I fail to see why anyone would bother installing kmod-* if they've got a matching akmod-* to build the kmods automatically. Seems rather redundant.

V
So, can and should I remove kmod? Is there a need?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 4th August 2009, 06:44 AM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,291
unknownkonqueror
In my opinion and experience: you can remove the kmod-nvidia-* packages, since you have akmod-nvidia to build the kmods for you, BUT there is certainly no need to do so, therefore IMHO you should not remove the extant kmods - unless and until some problem with 3D rendering becomes apparent that makes doing so desirable (and then purely as an exercise, to try all "tricks").

The above comment was directed at users who had already installed only akmod-* - since there is in that case no need whatsoever for matching kmod-*.

V
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 4th August 2009, 06:47 AM
JohnnyLinux Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 460
linuxfedorafirefox
Hmm... I'm scared.
Well, my 3d graphics don't work. As in, No 3d app can be launched at all. You think it's related?

I have posted a question on Leigh's Nvidia thread. Maybe he can help.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 4th August 2009, 06:54 AM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,291
unknownkonqueror
In that case: yes, you may try to remove the installed kmod-nvidia-* package(s) to see if that helps (I doubt it will, but worth a try). You should be able to remove it/them without dragging out the whole NVidia driver suite. At worst: re-install the NVidia driver suite with only akmod-nvidia-*. A re-boot will be required to assess impact (required to unload and purge loaded kmods).

BTW: what does 'glxinfo|grep render' say?

V

P.S. See my response in the other thread.

Last edited by Hlingler; 4th August 2009 at 06:59 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 4th August 2009, 06:59 AM
JohnnyLinux Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 460
linuxfedorafirefox
Quote:
[timmywear@timmyhost ~]$ glxinfo|grep render
Error: glXCreateContext failed
How would I go about removing only kmod?

This is post I made on Leigh's thread (it has more info as well.)

http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showpo...&postcount=459

btw thanks for helping. I have tried to resolve this issue on my own hopping through forums, but everyone is using Ubuntu and ATI and sometimes it's hard porting over the instructions to Fedora with Nvidia
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 26th January 2014, 10:36 PM
vince_br549 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 15
linuxfirefox
Re: kmod vs akmod

I've had similiar issues. Some incorrect info here.
I had kmod-nvidia-PAE installed then read about how 'wonderful' akmod was.
So on a system with kmod working I did followingA:
yum erase kmod-nvidia*
removed a bunch of stuff.
yum install akmod-nvidia
installed bunch of stuff including some libraries that the erase had just removed
reboot
X fails after some gnashing I find message in /var/log/messages where akmod can't find kernel-PAE-devel.
I think kmod-nvidia-PAE installed kernel-devel a long time ago for me.
yum install kerenel-PAE-devel
reboot, x comes up
i make a test yum update and find that an update for kmod-nvidia-PAE is available
I do yet another yum erase kmod-nvidia*
yum complains that RPMDB was updated outside of yum. !!!
I then do
yum update
a new kernel goes in, no kmod-nvidia-PAE is installed.
reboot all is happy. X11 comes up, my nvidia driver working and yes
kmod-nvidia-PAE is again installed.

bottom line, as I understand it, if kmod-nvidia... blah is not available akmod-nvidia will build it's own version
at boot time, funny messages about fake root....
If kmod-nvidia.... is available at boot time, the akmod-nvidia magic installs it.
----------
Vince
__________________
:eek: vince
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 27th January 2014, 01:05 AM
bob Offline
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 68
Posts: 22,007
linuxfirefox
Re: kmod vs akmod

It's four years later and things have changed. I had followed Dan/Leigh's installation guide when setting up F20 Gnome and used only the akmod-nvidia method, as I've done in the past. This time, x failed and continued to fail until I installed the kmod-nvidia.

Leigh mentioned in another thread that akmod won't work if kmod-nvidia's in place and I'm finding that with F20, akmod won't build and I'm relying on the kmod-nvidia to be ready before using a new kernel. In short, it's okay to have the akmod in place, but it's not doing it's job while the kmod's installed.

Times change.
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 27th January 2014, 03:01 PM
vince_br549 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 15
linuxfirefox
Re: kmod vs akmod

Check your /var/log/messages file I akmod would not build on my system also, and in /var/log/messaqges I found that it grumbled that kernel-devel ( or in my case kernel-PAE -devel ) was missinng.
When I installed that devel the akmod build was successful.
__________________
:eek: vince
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
akmod, kmod

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is the difference between an 'akmod' and a 'kmod'? Dead1nside Using Fedora 21 20th October 2013 05:11 PM
[SOLVED] akmod can not build kmod-nvidia-96xx saqer Using Fedora 5 26th July 2009 09:26 AM
kmod to akmod -question GoinEasy9 Using Fedora 6 26th June 2009 11:23 PM
how difference about kmod & akmod ? tonjaa Using Fedora 0 26th June 2009 11:32 AM
are akmod-nvidia and kmod-nvidia exclusive? marko Using Fedora 2 23rd February 2009 02:26 AM


Current GMT-time: 05:36 (Friday, 25-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat