Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 25th September 2004, 01:32 AM
zjimward Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 73
FC3, the LVM and CDROM

Okay, all these years if I wanted to mount my cdrom from cli, I typed:

mount cdrom

Now to mount my cd I have to type:

mount /media/dvdrom

How can I configure my system so I can type:

mount dvdrom

Thanks.
  #2  
Old 25th September 2004, 01:56 AM
superbnerd
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Here is a close solution:

Try creating a variable in your ~/.bash_profile
Note: ~ is a variable for your home directory

make it look something like this
Code:
# .bash_profile
                                                                               
# Get the aliases and functions
if [ -f ~/.bashrc ]; then
        . ~/.bashrc
fi
                                                                      
# User specific environment and startup programs

dvdrom= /media/dvdrom
                                                                               
PATH=$PATH:$HOME/bin:/sbin:/usr/sbin:/usr/local/sbin
                                                                               
export PATH dvdrom
unset USERNAME
Then logout and back in and test it. the only thing is you will have to use
Code:
mount $dvdrom
You may be able to use alias command to get rid of having to use the "$"
I hope that's close to what you're looking for.
  #3  
Old 25th September 2004, 04:57 PM
zjimward Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 73
Yes, I considered that or a .bashrc function to handle the same thing. I figured that it would be better to configure 'mount' instead of creating an alias or function. Thanks for the suggestions.
  #4  
Old 26th September 2004, 04:17 AM
superbnerd
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
how does one go about configuring mount to use aliases? please post you results and how you did it.
  #5  
Old 26th September 2004, 03:42 PM
zjimward Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 73
As far as I know you can't make an alias that can be passed to mount like an environment variable. You can do the following with alias:

alias mdvdrom='mount /media/dvdrom'
alias udvdrom='umount /media/dvdrom'

In this way you could type:

mdvdrom

To mount the dvdrom and type:

udvdrom

When you want to dismount the dvdrom. I'm not so sure there's a lot of time savings in typing either of these commands. I don't really use the mount cdrom much and in fact have noticed that it doesn't work under FC2 any more either. It's just old habits die hard some times and I got use to typing it, when I needed. Hope that answers your question. I know that if you type:

eject cdrom

That ejects the cdrom tray and:

eject -t cdrom

Retracts the cdrom tray, so some how it knows the mount point for the drive and mount doesn't.
 

Tags
cdrom, fc3, lvm

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fedora 8 wine 1.1.9 cdrom path not detected as cdrom kyuso Gamers' Lounge 1 3rd January 2009 04:08 AM
switched IDE CDROM for SCSI - /dev/cdrom is gone dann Hardware & Laptops 0 15th January 2008 09:47 PM
Where is my cdrom? linmix Using Fedora 4 16th September 2007 07:37 PM
cdrom device (/dev/cdrom) is not of type generic SCSI. s-strong Using Fedora 2 23rd April 2006 08:24 PM


Current GMT-time: 09:49 (Friday, 22-08-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat