Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 14th July 2009, 12:59 AM
daytooner Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 210
Rebooting with a bad logical volume

I have had this problem several times.

I have several volume groups, each with its own logical volumes. But if one (or more) of those logical volumes gets corrupted, and I try to reboot, I can't, since the booter sees a bad file system and can't continue. If I log into maintenance mode, I can't do anything useful. Typically, I would just want to disable the logical volume from being mounted, which would allow the boot to continue, and I could fix the problem once the system is up. But the system is read-only, so I can't edit fstab. (BTW, I have had a disk fail on me on boot up, so I couldn't edit fstab before shutting down :-). )

The only way I have found to get around this is to boot up in rescue mode, and comment out the offending mounts from fstab.

I realize that if the primary volume group/logical volume(s) are corrupt, then continuing would be useless. But In my case, it wasn't.

I was just wondering if there is a way to have the booter prompt me to continue or not, rather than just drop to a (somewhat) useless maintenance mode.

Okay, this is a bit of a gripe, but I have been burned by this many times, and am a little frustrated :-(.

ken
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14th July 2009, 03:28 AM
SlowJet Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,048
The corruption is on the ext file system.
When this happens the file systems must be fixed.

Fedora does not have a real recovery system, the rescue mode is only to get the current system booted or to allow looking around. As you have noticed, the root is not unmounted but put into ro.
If you drop into the shell, it can't be umount'd, edited, or fscked.

A real recovery system,
in this case for using LVM,
use SystemRescue LiveCD - the lastest .2 version has F11 LVM tool set.

Show some details of your f/s and LVM to get moe help.
D/L SystemRescueCd from distrowatch.com link. It's about 250MB.
df -l
fidisk -l
vgdisplay
lvdisplay
lvs
cat /etc/fstab
mount


SJ
__________________
Do the Math
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bad, logical, rebooting, volume

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
/tmp cannot be mounted as Logical Volume bogwire Using Fedora 4 12th December 2007 03:25 PM
shrinking a logical volume drobbins Using Fedora 12 15th November 2007 11:26 PM
Logical volume management Louis Mckay Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 11th July 2006 11:52 PM


Current GMT-time: 10:09 (Monday, 22-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat