Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 23rd June 2009, 12:11 PM
sixfootmidget Offline

2 minor glitches

Hi all, I am new to Linux but wish I made the switch years ago. I recently installed Fedora 11 and have managed to get everything working without too much hassle. As far as I can tell there are only 2 somewhat minor glitches that I haven't been able to correct

Glitch 1:. My internal mic (nor the ext. mic jack) will not work.

Glitch 2: My webcam works fine with cheese and other programs, but when I post it to a certain flash site that I frequent it is very pixelated. Before the Linux switch my cam was clear as a bell on the same website. I have obviously downloaded the adobe plugin for Firefox, but it is still pixelated.

I have an Acer Aspire 5315, the cam is Crystal Eye. The advanced volume control is HDA Intel (ALSA mixer).

If anyone could point me in the right direction that would be great.
Old 23rd June 2009, 04:54 PM
sideways Offline
Retired User

For the mic, open System ->Preferences -> Advanced Volume Control. Select preferences and scroll down until you see Digital Input Source, check that, a new entry should appear under Options tab, select Digital Mic 1 for Digital Input Source. To test, run Applications -> Sound & Video -> Sound Recorder, and record yourself, the record level should start operating once the mic is enabled.

For the webcam have you tried reducing the resolution in Cheese preferences to 640x480?
Old 24th June 2009, 09:41 PM
sixfootmidget Offline

Quote:
Originally Posted by sideways View Post
For the mic, open System ->Preferences -> Advanced Volume Control. Select preferences and scroll down until you see Digital Input Source, check that, a new entry should appear under Options tab, select Digital Mic 1 for Digital Input Source. To test, run Applications -> Sound & Video -> Sound Recorder, and record yourself, the record level should start operating once the mic is enabled.