Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 18th June 2009, 01:22 AM
flippedremark Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 11
MacBook Pro 5,3 no sound in F11

Update! It appears that there just needed to be new modules written for alsa for the new hardware. over at http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php...7&postcount=42 the solution has been posted. It works for the new 13" and 15" macbook pro's. I would guess it works for the 17", but I haven't heard of anyone doing it.

To summarize, you need to download ftp://ftp.kernel.org/pub/linux/kerne...napshot.tar.gz, extract the file, then change to its directory.
then run
Code:
$ ./configure --enable-dynamic-minors  --without-oss --with-cards="hda-intel"
$ make
$ su -c "make install"
After that, restart, and unmute the volume however you like. I went to the advanced volume control under system>preferences (because I know little about Pulse) and unmuted the "front speaker."
I found no need to delete the old alsa modules as the linked guide says.
The only hitch is that the internal speakers don't mute when headphones are connected.


Old message:

I have one of the newest 15" MacBook Pro's, and I can't get sound to work. The speakers and the headphone jack make no noise. After installing pavucontrol, I was able to get noise in pidgin and mplayer through bluetooth, though not flash in firefox.

Lspci shows my sound card as: Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP79 High Definition Audio (rev b1).

I've tried adding "options snd_hda_intel model=mbp3" and "model=3stack" to a sound.conf file in /etc/modprobe.d

edit: apparently its a problem with other new MacBook Pro's. Watching this thread: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1188849

Last edited by flippedremark; 8th July 2009 at 12:33 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23rd June 2009, 08:44 AM
axishift Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3
What did dmesg|grep snd shows?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23rd June 2009, 06:07 PM
flippedremark Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 11
Nothing. There is no output for that command.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24th June 2009, 01:10 AM
axishift Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by flippedremark View Post
Nothing. There is no output for that command.
Here's mine...

[axishift@sandbox ~]$ dmesg |grep snd
snd-aoa-fabric-layout: found bus with layout 36
snd-aoa-fabric-layout: Using PMF GPIOs
snd-aoa-codec-tas: found 'deq' node
snd-aoa-fabric-layout: can use this codec
snd-aoa-codec-tas: tas found, addr 0x35 on /ht@0,f2000000/pci@3/mac-io@7/i2c@18000/deq@6a
[axishift@sandbox ~]$

Although, sounds is still not working.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
f11, macbook, pro, sound

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
KDE, sound control key, and alumunum macbook Min Using Fedora 0 4th July 2009 09:09 AM
Macbook not Macbook pro - No sound and right click on the trackpad Andrew James Mac Chat 3 8th March 2009 05:33 PM
Macbook not Macbook pro - No sound and right click on the trackpad Andrew James Mac Chat 0 7th March 2009 12:49 AM
no sound - unibody macbook pro 5,1 tenney Mac Chat 9 12th February 2009 08:45 PM
FC9 no sound on MacBook miles Using Fedora 14 3rd June 2008 04:56 AM


Current GMT-time: 07:33 (Monday, 01-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat