Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 16th September 2004, 08:56 AM
corroded Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7
Question Problems booting FC2 on a NEC Versa E6000(n00b)

Hey guys.....first post here(hooray for me)...........

Having issues getting FC2 to boot on my NEC Versa E6000 (Specs below)

Pentium M 1.7
512 ddr pc2700
60gb IDE
Raedeon 9100 ipg 128(shared)
Audio Controller Analog Device AD1981B Audio CODEC
Audio Codec AC 97 V2.2
1024 x 768 (XGA)
Modem 56K V.92 Data/Fax MDC Modem
LAN On-board 10/100 MBPS FastEthernet
Wireless LAN Atheros 802.11b/g WIreless Module (54mbps)
USB Port 4 x USB2.0
IEEE - 1394 1

Basically install went fine(as with RH9), but it will not boot(as with RH9), it will get to the initial start up screen, the one you get after the reboot following install..........then it hangs, alt+crtl+del does no good, only way to reboot is a hard power off. BTW XP still boots fine.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16th September 2004, 08:58 AM
imdeemvp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Age: 46
Posts: 8,256
did you erase any previous linux partitions and did a fresh install or did your upgrade?
__________________
HELP with JAVA, MP3's, Wireless, Repo's, YUM, Partitions, System Monitors, Nvidia, ATI drivers, LIMEWIRE PRO & MORE!.

Easiest and most friendly desktop ever is PCLinuxOS! Includes all this apps. Just try it.

"The greater the struggle THE greater the achievment."

Do you know HIM?

If you are an idiot click here. NThis will test you linux skills :D
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16th September 2004, 09:05 AM
corroded Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7
Indeed I did, I have previously install Mandrakelinux 10 community on there, but that partion was blown away and made from scratch.........................
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16th September 2004, 09:10 AM
imdeemvp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Age: 46
Posts: 8,256
now how much hd space are you allocating for fc2? you need at least 5-7b if you are doing an INSTALL EVERYTHING
__________________
HELP with JAVA, MP3's, Wireless, Repo's, YUM, Partitions, System Monitors, Nvidia, ATI drivers, LIMEWIRE PRO & MORE!.

Easiest and most friendly desktop ever is PCLinuxOS! Includes all this apps. Just try it.

"The greater the struggle THE greater the achievment."

Do you know HIM?

If you are an idiot click here. NThis will test you linux skills :D
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16th September 2004, 09:16 AM
corroded Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7
~35gb allocated for FC2....should be more than enough me thinks .........strange how it's only done this with RH based distros.......................
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16th September 2004, 09:25 AM
imdeemvp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Age: 46
Posts: 8,256
i never had problems installing rh or fc....as long as the partitions are setup correctly did you create the linux partitions or did you let fc do the automatic partition for you?
__________________
HELP with JAVA, MP3's, Wireless, Repo's, YUM, Partitions, System Monitors, Nvidia, ATI drivers, LIMEWIRE PRO & MORE!.

Easiest and most friendly desktop ever is PCLinuxOS! Includes all this apps. Just try it.

"The greater the struggle THE greater the achievment."

Do you know HIM?

If you are an idiot click here. NThis will test you linux skills :D
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16th September 2004, 09:34 AM
corroded Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7
I let Disk Druid do it's job......mayhap I'll do them manually when I get home from work............I really want to get it up and running......get rid of that evil XP..............
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16th September 2004, 09:36 AM
imdeemvp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Age: 46
Posts: 8,256
Quote:
Originally Posted by corroded
I let Disk Druid do it's job......mayhap I'll do them manually when I get home from work............I really want to get it up and running......get rid of that evil XP..............
or just try to re install and at the partitioning prompt, select erase any linux partitions see if this helps.....
__________________
HELP with JAVA, MP3's, Wireless, Repo's, YUM, Partitions, System Monitors, Nvidia, ATI drivers, LIMEWIRE PRO & MORE!.

Easiest and most friendly desktop ever is PCLinuxOS! Includes all this apps. Just try it.

"The greater the struggle THE greater the achievment."

Do you know HIM?

If you are an idiot click here. NThis will test you linux skills :D
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 16th September 2004, 09:39 AM
corroded Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7
Thanx for the advise.....might try that in my lunch break....if I can get enuff nicotine quickly enuff.....................
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 16th September 2004, 09:40 AM
imdeemvp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Age: 46
Posts: 8,256
ok, good luck
__________________
HELP with JAVA, MP3's, Wireless, Repo's, YUM, Partitions, System Monitors, Nvidia, ATI drivers, LIMEWIRE PRO & MORE!.

Easiest and most friendly desktop ever is PCLinuxOS! Includes all this apps. Just try it.

"The greater the struggle THE greater the achievment."

Do you know HIM?

If you are an idiot click here. NThis will test you linux skills :D
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 16th September 2004, 11:09 AM
corroded Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7
Gave the previous post a shot......still no good.............any more ideas????????/
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 17th September 2004, 12:12 AM
corroded Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7
Question

Well......just did a fresh install and I'm having the same issues...................no idea what could be causing this.......specialy scince mdk10 installed fine.........................but that had other issues that I wasn't happy with...........anymore thoughts?????
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
booting, e6000n00b, fc2, nec, problems, versa

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora n00b -- having problems with yum, commands jbrown96 Alpha - Beta (Fedora 9 Only) 5 1st May 2008 06:38 PM
ssh n00b; login problems garbagedigger Security and Privacy 4 2nd November 2007 03:18 PM
No sound on NEC Versa A2100 masked_marsoe Hardware & Laptops 0 6th August 2006 12:33 PM
FC3 on NEC Versa M300 -- Keyboard and Touchpad Problems gokou Hardware & Laptops 0 1st March 2005 11:51 PM
Please help me with sharing from XP and FC3 (vise versa).. orbknives Servers & Networking 16 22nd February 2005 07:14 AM


Current GMT-time: 10:19 (Saturday, 01-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Cherkasy Travel Photos on Instagram - Tiebo - Sargodha