Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 5th May 2009, 10:07 PM
Pheo Offline

Talking Fedora Is Awesome!

My name is Daryl. I'm a student at North Carolina State and am majoring in Math and Physics.
For the last year, almost continually, i've been attempting to get Linux installed on my laptop.

I have an HP dv9000,
Marked underneath as a dv9700 or a dv9910us <where did they come up with their hardware numbering scheme?>

This particular laptop is a rather impressive piece of machinery out of the box, BUT:
It uses the Atheros AR242x wireless network adapter.
This beast has been the bane of my health and sanity for quite a while now...

But now it works.

After trying Ubuntu <got the card to work with ndiswrapper <which is buggy and insercure>> Debian <no luck> Gentoo <!> and Several versions of Fedora <FC10 x86_64 detected the wireless card but Xorg malfunctioned> things now finally work.

Yesterday i installed the Preview for Leonidas.

Everything worked out of the box. Everything. Perfectly.

And i'm ecstatic!

The Open software community stands as a marvel of post-modern good will. Brilliant and hard working individuals world round have developed a cross platform compatible, robust, adaptive, functional, and user-friendly collaboration, and "donated" it to the common well being.

My best regards, and humble thanks, to the masterminds who have allowed me to throw my Vista discs in trash with confidence!

(Thanks)+(Thanks)-(frustration)+(Thanks)^2
-Pheo
Old 5th May 2009, 11:05 PM
Dan Online
Administrator

ROTFLMAO!

Awright, Pheo!

Man, after all the sittin' and stinkin' that usually goes on here ... that was a breath of fresh air!