Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 30th April 2009, 09:16 AM
physwizz Offline

installing a printer

I'm new to linux.

I have a HP Officejet 6310 as a network printer

How do I find the network address of the printer so I can install it?
Old 30th April 2009, 10:45 AM
SomeDamFool Offline

If the printer is on a Linux machine with an active network connection and is set to be shared, then on the other machine go to the main menu/system/administration/printing. Choose new printer, and follow the wizard.

If the printer is on a Windows machine you have to have Samba installed and configured on the Linux machine to share it.
Mike
Old 30th April 2009, 10:56 AM
Ellen Offline

All you need to do is to start the smb daemon
/etc/init.d/smbd start
Then go to /etc/samba
pico smb.conf
and change workgroup as your windows
save and exit

/etc/init.d/smbd restart

If you are running KDE goto print manager and change the default lpngr to cups and go through the steps to find a network printer. Remember to share the printer on the windows box.

Linux Archive

Last edited by Ellen; 16th May 2009 at 01:16 AM.
Old 30th April 2009, 11:11 AM
bbfuller Offline

Hello physwizz

Welcome to the Forum.

Another way to find out is get the printer to print a status page.

Just about all of these network printers will do that and in the information it prints should be the ip address. How to do that should be in the manual.

Some I've come across will allocate themselves a number in the range that Windows uses when not told to be anything else, which can cause problems with firewalls. The documentation should tell you how you can change that to one in the range your network uses.
Old 1st May 2009, 11:58 PM
physwizz Offline

Thanks for the replies but I should explain further.
I have just installed linux fedora 10 onto a fresh hard disk.
the machine is connected to a network switch.
the modem and the printer are also connected to the network switch.