Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Community Lounge > Reviews, Rants & Things That Make You Scream
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Reviews, Rants & Things That Make You Scream The place for you to submit reviews of all those applications you use with Fedora. The Devs probably aren't listening, but some times you've just GOT to blow off steam or sing its praises.

Old 23rd April 2009, 03:26 PM
mbritojr Offline

Angry RANT: Network Manager and Static IP

I am pretty annoyed and sleep deprived right now so take that into account when reading this, but I just had to get it off my chest:

I am a professional services consultant/engineer working in the virtualization field and use Fedora 10 on my HP/Compaq 6710b as my primary/only operating system. I am so completely happy beyond belief with it that I can't even express it...except for one critically important feature: it's next to impossible to set a static IP in Network Manager.

You all know what I am talking about, it's impossible. If you try it, Network Manager will decide to either ignore your settings, refuse to save your settings, or just start behaving incredibly weird.

As we all know by now, the common solution is to stop using Network Manager and perform a manual config. Well you know what? I don't want to! Network Manager is a great tool with a great GUI - it works so well when using DHCP on eth0, for wireless and for using my broadband wireless card that I don't want to shut it off. I want to be able to set a static IP in Network Manager and it work as well as all the other features. Every time I go to a client site and need to set a static IP I don't want to go through the process of disabling Network Manager and setting a static IP, only to reverse the process when I want to use my broadband card (and no I do not want to manually dial it out - I want ease of use with Network Manager).