Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 21st April 2009, 01:02 PM
paulj_j Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 81
Making interface persist across reboot

Hi
New to Fedora and running fc10 in a vmware setup
Added /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0:0 to create another interface and all works fine (IPADDR=10.99.56.98).
Would you expect this to be available after a reboot, last reboot I had to run
ifup eth0:0

Regards Paul
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21st April 2009, 04:10 PM
NomadRetsif Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: USA
Age: 39
Posts: 34
In your ifcfg-eth0:0 file do you have the line:

Code:
ONBOOT=yes
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22nd April 2009, 09:38 AM
paulj_j Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 81
Here is the config file

[paulj@HumProxy ~]$ cat /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0:0
# Intel Corporation 82545EM Gigabit Ethernet Controller (Copper)
DEVICE=eth0:0
ONBOOT=yes
#HWADDR=00:0c:29:cf:0e:c3
IPADDR=10.99.56.98
SEARCH="Humanities.Manchester.ac.uk"
BOOTPROTO=none
TYPE=Ethernet
USERCTL=no
PEERDNS=yes
IPV6INIT=no
ONPARENT=yes
NM_CONTROLLED=yes
[paulj@HumProxy ~]$


However I still have to manually start it with an ifup eth0:0
What surprises me is that looking in Network Device Control I see no devices

Many Thanks Paul
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd April 2009, 09:58 AM
paulj_j Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 81
Added to rc.local

[paulj@HumProxy ~]$ cat /etc/rc.local
#!/bin/sh
#
# This script will be executed *after* all the other init scripts.
# You can put your own initialization stuff in here if you don't
# want to do the full Sys V style init stuff.

touch /var/lock/subsys/local
/sbin/ifup eth0:0
/sbin/service httpd start
/sbin/service squid start


That works but seems quite old fashioned :-)
Anyone better suggestions?

Paul
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22nd April 2009, 01:42 PM
NomadRetsif Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: USA
Age: 39
Posts: 34
Your solution is one way to do it. I am curious, the eth0:0 designation is used for IP address aliasing. If you had two NICs in your system (physical or virtual) I would expect to see eth0 and eth1 as the devices. Did you add a second virtual ethernet device in your virtual machine before booting or did you just add the network device within your Linux installation?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22nd April 2009, 01:51 PM
paulj_j Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 81
Thumbs up Hi

To be honest I was just doing it the way I was told to do!
I've been moved into a Linux role previously always having worked with Solaris and before that SunOS and AIX.
Not played with Linux since about 1995 (Slackware) and my boss is very keen on we do everything in a consistent way my predecessor seems to have done things in an idiosyncratic fashion!
Thanks for your help anyway.
Paul
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22nd April 2009, 02:43 PM
demon1981 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Russia Archangelsk
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulj_j View Post
Added /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0:0 to create another interface
You add interface by adding file in /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ and nothing else? Or adding interface require somthing other steps?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 22nd April 2009, 03:02 PM
paulj_j Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 81
Works for me

Yes that's all I did
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
interface, making, persist, reboot

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Virtual Interface fail after reboot OHSRThing Servers & Networking 1 1st July 2009 11:17 PM
Making Graphical Interface Permanent AntonBotha Using Fedora 1 2nd March 2007 02:28 PM


Current GMT-time: 08:12 (Monday, 22-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat