Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 17th April 2009, 04:51 PM
arnes99 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Cazin, Bosnia & Herzegowina
Posts: 55
Question 800x600 resolution - need 1024x768

Sorry if some of you ppl say that I should search the web or this forum but I did and it's really hard to find a working solution to my problem. I'm not saying that I looked everywhere but I did search for similar problems and some were same like mine, but nothing worked.
I'm a new user to Fedora, new user to Linux in general. Did try before some other distributions like Ubuntu but I had similar problem. Please help because I really want to use Fedora but things like this totally ruin my will.
PROBLEM:
My resolution is at max. 800x600 pixels. Before when I used Windows I had resolution of not just 1024x768 but even around 1200x???
I'm thinking I have to update my GPU drivers. OK! The name of my graphic card is this:
ON THE BOX: ASUS X Series V9400 128MB (it's an old graphic card and pc in general)
But when I had Windows I used nVIDIAs drivers. On the box it says
"Powerful Features:
Powered by NVIDIA MX 4000 GPU
NVIDIA nfiniteFX II Engine
Accuview Antialiasing Subsystem
nView multi-display technology
NVIDIA Lightspeed Memory Architecture (LMA) II
AGP 8X support with bandwidth of 2.1 GB/sec
Full connectivity: DVI / TV-out / VGA"

So, I used nVIDIAs drivers which came with GPU in the box and also downloaded some from nVIDIA soem time later. It all worked fine. But now on Fedora the resolution is 800x600 which is giving me a lot of problems. My old man needs to get a couple of games of chess at chesscube.com and because the resolution is low the table can't be seen good. If you won't help me for my sake, do it for my dad, will you?
I've tried with that yum. As I can see there are some "repositories" which contain those drivers.
But when I type to download(or search?) from those repositories it says that there aren't those files in repositories. kmod and akmod tried. Doesn't work. Please if you know how to fix this tell me.
I heard that the nvidia drivers aren't avaible in Fedora 10. Is this true?
I searched for old drivers for nvidias gpu's.
This is (I think) driver for my gpu:
http://www.nvidia.com/object/linux_d..._96.43.11.html
How do I install it? I lso read somewhere that installing it like this may corrupt something. That I should search in the repositories. HELP!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 17th April 2009, 05:05 PM
carpetfeller Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Owensboro, KY
Age: 36
Posts: 217
Are you familiar with the terminal?
This gets tough for someone with little experience.
I will try to walk you through it the best I can.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17th April 2009, 05:18 PM
arnes99 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Cazin, Bosnia & Herzegowina
Posts: 55
Familiar with terminal? I know "where" is terminal but the commands are the BIG problem!
Lay it on me!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17th April 2009, 05:23 PM
carpetfeller Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Owensboro, KY
Age: 36
Posts: 217
Did you download the driver file that you gave the link to?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17th April 2009, 05:26 PM
arnes99 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Cazin, Bosnia & Herzegowina
Posts: 55
Yes, I have done that.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17th April 2009, 05:36 PM
carpetfeller Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Owensboro, KY
Age: 36
Posts: 217
Disregard this post

Last edited by carpetfeller; 17th April 2009 at 05:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17th April 2009, 05:40 PM
carpetfeller Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Owensboro, KY
Age: 36
Posts: 217
open your terminal and (assuming the file is on your Desktop):
Code:
su - root


yum install kernel-devel


cd /home/yourusername/Desktop


chmod 777 NVIDIA-Linux-x86-96.43.11-pkg1.run


init 3
The last command will close your X server and send you to a text only interface.
Login as root then:
Code:
cd /home/yourusername/Desktop


./NVIDIA-Linux-x86-96.43.11-pkg1.run
Follow the instructions that the installer gives you being sure to say yes when it asks if you want it to adjust your xorg.conf file automatically then:
Code:
init 5
everything is case sensitive and be sure to replace yourusername with your actual username. If the file is not on your desktop then replace the directory with the one that it is located in. Sorry if that seems obvious but you never know.

Last edited by carpetfeller; 17th April 2009 at 06:17 PM. Reason: grammar
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 17th April 2009, 06:12 PM
arnes99 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Cazin, Bosnia & Herzegowina
Posts: 55
Sorry for answering so late. Couldn't use yum, at the time I was downloading some programs and the terminal said that it can't use yum and that he's gonna wait so that other app stops using it.
Here's what I get after I enter this piece of commands:
Code:
cd /home/yourusername/Desktop/NVIDIA-Linux-x86-96.43.11-pkg1.run
"That is not a directory"...or something similar to that.
I tried to do
Code:
exec NVIDIA-Linux-x86-96.43.11-pkg1.run
...but it shows: "File doesn't exists!" or something similar.
Do I need to add that dot (.) to this code:
Code:
cd /home/yourusername/Desktop/NVIDIA-Linux-x86-96.43.11-pkg1.run
so its like this:
Code:
cd /home/yourusername/Desktop./NVIDIA-Linux-x86-96.43.11-pkg1.run
Maybe you just did a typo, or maybe that's the way it should be done?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 17th April 2009, 06:16 PM
carpetfeller Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Owensboro, KY
Age: 36
Posts: 217
After each line in the code section you must push enter. Each line is a separate command. yourusername is not to be typed exactly as you see it, you substitute your actual username.

Last edited by carpetfeller; 17th April 2009 at 06:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 17th April 2009, 06:26 PM
carpetfeller Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Owensboro, KY
Age: 36
Posts: 217
If you can't do the yum command, the driver installation will not work. In order to install this driver, it needs to be built against your current kernel. Without kernel-devel, the installation will fail.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 17th April 2009, 06:26 PM
arnes99 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Cazin, Bosnia & Herzegowina
Posts: 55
I know I have to substitute my "username" and place where the file is. I see what you mean.
Code:
./NVIDIA-Linux-x86...
works. It starts but this is what it says:
"Unable to find system utility 'ld'. Please check that you have installed package 'binutils'."
Now what? How do I get that 'ld' or check for 'binutils'?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 17th April 2009, 06:33 PM
carpetfeller Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Owensboro, KY
Age: 36
Posts: 217
Code:
yum install binutils
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 17th April 2009, 08:15 PM
arnes99 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Cazin, Bosnia & Herzegowina
Posts: 55
Hi, carpetfeller! A lot has happened since the last time I made a comment here.
I did what zou say and installed binutils. Then I started nVIDIA driver again and it passed that section where it before stoped. But then I said something about ftp sites and the need to download something from them. I think soemthing about kernel or some similar thing. It asked me will it search those sites and I said OK. It couldn-t find whatever it searched for. Than it said that it will need to compile a kernel stuff/thingy. Ok I said. But I did not have gcc. So like a professional I typed zum install gcc.
It did install it. I retrz everything and this time it compiled that thing for me. Everzthing was Ok. nVIDIA driver asked me to run xconfig, or was it xconfigure, to autodetect the best resolution and stuff for me. I said OK.
Than, I guess it changed to black (totallz) and it stayed like that...forever. I first panicked --- PANICKED LIKE HELL!!!
Then I tried to reinstall the drivers , cause mazbe second time it will work. This time instead of black screen it showed like those OLD games when zou put diskette incorrectly and the screen is all messed up, manz lines appear on screen. I tried one more time sice I did not know what to do. I can not start Fedora in graphical view!!!!
Only that command view. So from 800x600 instead to 1024x768 I dropped to...NONE!!!!
Can I somehow return my previous (I installed drivers 3 times) drivers???
I don't wanna reinstall fedora again. I just updated my system to 100%. Help!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 17th April 2009, 08:16 PM
arnes99 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Cazin, Bosnia & Herzegowina
Posts: 55
P.S. I'm visiting internet from liveCD Fedora. but it's reallz slooooow. HElp!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 17th April 2009, 09:13 PM
arnes99 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Cazin, Bosnia & Herzegowina
Posts: 55
...and since it's slow, if you answer me I may not be able to quickly answer back. Thanx for everything!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
driver, drivers, nvidia, resolution, yum

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how do I change resolution to 1024x768? zeljko79 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 6 27th March 2009 06:48 PM
How - change screen from 800x600 to 1024x768 oliver_tiger Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 7th December 2007 01:03 AM
1024x768 and 800x600 Dors Using Fedora 5 20th February 2007 06:27 AM
resolution to 1024x768 gamingfreak Hardware & Laptops 6 25th May 2006 01:25 PM
Help changing monitor res from 800x600 to 1024x768 hooked911 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 6 19th October 2005 08:06 PM


Current GMT-time: 13:29 (Sunday, 23-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Culleredo Photos on Instagram - North Highlands Photos on Instagram - Strzegom Instagram Photos