Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 10th September 2004, 03:47 AM
Ray Offline

Smile More applications

I have been playin around with Fedora for a couple of days now so I a a new born babe and clueless and I have a couple of stupid questions....

I dl'd all 4 iso's, rescue disk, burned em to cd's, did check sum and installed the system on an older computer (Dell 700 Pentium with a gig and 80 hd, 64 video card) had absolutley no problems....Dl'd ALL the updates and new kernel.....

Everything was recognized, got my scanner, printer, digital camera, e card, network all set up and running. THe computer rocks. I have only Fedora on this machine and no windows. ( 5 other computers in house with the kids. )

What I was wondering is there a way to dl new applications "automatically" like the updates ?

Like I said, I'm new to this and still learning so please excuse my ignorance. I just can't seem to figger this one out....( of course its hard not to play with what i already have installed..<grin>

Thanks in advance

Ray
--
Probably the worst first post ever.
Repeat after me: I will read the posting guidelines-
- Foolish

Last edited by foolish; 11th September 2004 at 12:28 AM.
Old 10th September 2004, 02:35 PM
dishawjp Offline

Ray,

There are several ways to take care of updates. Once you're online, with a default FC2 install you shold have a little blue circle with a checkmark in it that will change to a red circle with a bang in it when there are updates available. This is the RH/FC up2date program. Click on the button and follow the directions and you will be updated.

A better IMHO wat is to point your web browser to:

http://apt.freshrpms.net