Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 6th April 2009, 02:31 PM
luvemil Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Compiz and no titlebar

I'm currently using FC 10 x86_64, with an ATI 4850 Graphic Card (latest drivers installed), and I'm having a little trouble with compiz.

When I start using compiz windows manager, all the windows lose the titlebar, so I cannot do anything. The only way I have is to select metacity windows manager from the compiz icon, but that way I can't use the effects of compiz.

Any idea or suggestion? (maybe a guide to follow , even though I already followed two without solving the problem)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 6th April 2009, 02:35 PM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,294
This happens sometimes. Try using fusion-icon to "Restart Window Manager" (the Compiz window manager). See if that helps....

V
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 6th April 2009, 02:55 PM
luvemil Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hlingler View Post
This happens sometimes. Try using fusion-icon to "Restart Window Manager" (the Compiz window manager). See if that helps....

V
Already tried, it doesn't work. Right now I'm gonna reinstall compiz from the very beginning and see what happens.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 6th April 2009, 02:59 PM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,294
Well, if you're going to do that, then get the latest C-F stuff from the Fusion Repo - see the thread in "Guides and How-Tos" section.

V
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 6th April 2009, 03:30 PM
luvemil Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Reinstalled everything, now it works perfectly. I used the following guides:
1st step - http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...compiz+install
2nd step - http://ranjith.itpublic.in/install-c...-in-fedora-10/

Actually I don't now why it didn't work before, probably it's because I used kmod instead of akmod while installing the drivers for the first time, however, now it is perfect.
Thank you for helping. If anyone has the same problem just ask.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 6th April 2009, 04:23 PM
shess01 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: On the road. What day is it again?
Posts: 253
I ran into the same problem -no title bar, no windows border, no way to move or minimize a window. As far as I could tell, the trouble stemmed from "Compiz Window Manager" trying to use "KDE4 Window Decorator" at X startup. I could get it to work after bumping it with the fusion-icon. I got it fixed, for me anyway, by creating the fusion-icon.desktop file in the kde Autostart directory and having fusion-icon start automagically at login. Details below.

Quote:
[stephen@macbeth Autostart]$ pwd
/home/stephen/.kde/Autostart
Quote:
[stephen@macbeth Autostart]$ ls -ltr
total 16
-rw-rw-r-- 1 stephen stephen 170 2009-01-23 22:25 Screenlets Daemon.desktop
-rw-rw-r-- 1 stephen stephen 176 2009-01-23 22:26 OutputScreenlet.desktop
-rw-rw-r-- 1 stephen stephen 179 2009-01-23 22:26 AppMenuScreenlet.desktop
-rw-rw-r-- 1 stephen stephen 134 2009-03-26 03:40 fusion-icon.desktop
Quote:
[stephen@macbeth Autostart]$ cat fusion-icon.desktop
[Desktop Entry]
Name=fusion-icon
Encoding=UTF-8
Version=1.0
Type=Application
Exec=/usr/bin/fusion-icon
X-GNOME-Autostart-enabled=true
My Compiz packages, just for kicks.

Quote:
[root@macbeth Autostart]# rpm -qa | grep compiz
compiz-plugins-main-0.8.3-2.fc10.i386
compiz-fusion-release-1-6.noarch
compizconfig-backend-gconf-0.8.3-1.fc10.i386
compiz-gnome-0.8.3-2.fc10.i386
compizconfig-python-0.8.3-1.fc10.i386
compiz-0.8.3-2.fc10.i386
compiz-plugin-peek-0.8.3-1.fc10.i386
compiz-kde-0.8.3-2.fc10.i386
compiz-plugin-screensaver-0.8.3-1.fc10.i386
compiz-bcop-0.7.8-1.fc10.noarch
compiz-manager-0.6.0-10.fc10.noarch
compiz-plugins-unsupported-0.8.3-1.fc10.i386
compizconfig-backend-kconfig-0.8.3-1.fc10.i386
compiz-plugins-extra-0.8.3-1.fc10.i386
libcompizconfig-0.8.3-1.fc10.i386
__________________
...What if there were no hypothetical questions?

Last edited by shess01; 6th April 2009 at 04:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
compiz, titlebar

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Compiz Titlebar sometimes missing marcelkraan Using Fedora 11 11th March 2008 06:43 PM
titlebar hidden yonnieboy Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 5th December 2007 09:32 PM
my titlebar just disappeared pranny Using Fedora 12 18th June 2007 08:48 AM
aiglx/fc6 no titlebar flea Using Fedora 12 25th December 2006 04:03 AM


Current GMT-time: 22:49 (Monday, 20-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
South Holland Photos on Instagram - Fernando de la Mora Photos - Sanming Travel Photos