Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 3rd April 2009, 03:47 PM
Da_Lurch Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1
Fedora 10 install loses CD-ROM drive on Proliant 3000

Greetings all,

By way of background: I've been using Linux since kernel 0.97.something_or_the_other, but I've been using one of the other distros. This is my first crack at Redhat/Fedora.

I'm trying to install Fedora 10 on an old Compaq Proliant 3000, dual P-II 450, Compaq Smartarray 3200, plenty of drive space, 3C905 based NIC, original Compaq CD drive.

The install will boot from the CD just fine, I get the initial graphic menu to select whether to do an install, upgrade, etc.

I select option 1 to install and I get what looks like an ncurses based screen that asks me to select a language, another screen that asks for a keyboard, then a screen that asks me if I want to install from CD/DVD, NFS, local drive, etc.

If I select the CD install option, the next screen complains that it can't find a drive and asks me to either select a driver from a list of drivers or to insert a driver disk. Doesn't matter what driver I select, it always snaps immediately back to the screen that says it can't find the hardware to match the driver. Every time it does this, it's not spinning the CD to read the driver that I've selected.

IF I go for an NFS install, after it asks me the network parms I wind up at that same driver screen with the same results, no matter what I pick it throws me back to the can't find hardware/pick a driver screen. As far as I can tell, the NIC is never actually trying to wake up.

I know the hardware is functional because if I boot from from CD with my usual distro it identifies and starts all the hardware just fine, CD, NIC, RAID, etc.

I can see where it might work to have the necessary driver module for the CD on a floppy, but where do I get the module? I tried mounting the .iso images for the install set on another machine but I don't see anything obvious that looks like modules that I can cabbage onto.

Any thoughts on which way to go next?

Thanks all,

Lurch
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 5th April 2009, 05:50 AM
JKringen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
I'm having the exact same issue as well. Anyone know how to fix this?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
3000, cdrom, drive, fedora, install, loses, proliant

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fedora 10, monitor loses signal during install dmivor Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 23rd January 2009 04:32 AM
Proliant 3000 Server Help imdaryl Hardware & Laptops 1 28th February 2006 12:08 AM
Proliant 3000 Smartstartcd v4.9 or v4.7? imdaryl Servers & Networking 3 17th January 2006 03:48 PM


Current GMT-time: 13:05 (Thursday, 23-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Rodez Photos on Instagram - Koge Instagram Photos - Bur Safajah Photos on Instagram