Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 17th March 2009, 11:01 AM
Ghjnut Offline

Package Management

I have a general question relating to package managing programs in linux. I'm rather new to linux and have only been religiously using it for around 9 months. Recently, I happened upon an article talking about the benefits of compiling from source (immediate availability of updates, customizability etc.) I am someone who likes having the most recent versions and only installing programs I will have use for. This being said, is it feasible to try to run a personal computer entirely from source packages? I realize there are many dependencies that can be a pain to manage and I'm wondering if the best approach would be to use some sort of package manager for some files while more directly accessed programs with more updates (such as wine or mplayer) would be monitored by myself. Thanks in Advance

-Gnut
Old 17th March 2009, 11:26 AM
JonathanR Offline

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghjnut View Post
I have a general question relating to package managing programs in linux. I'm rather new to linux and have only been religiously using it for around 9 months. Recently, I happened upon an article talking about the benefits of compiling from source (immediate availability of updates, customizability etc.) I am someone who likes having the most recent versions and only installing programs I will have use for. This being said, is it feasible to try to run a personal computer entirely from source packages? I realize there are many dependencies that can be a pain to manage and I'm wondering if the best approach would be to use some sort of package manager for some files while more directly accessed programs with more updates (such as wine or mplayer) would be monitored by myself. Thanks in Advance

-Gnut